It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Update: Moffitt Library is closed for seismic work, but most other libraries are open. Learn more.
Lots of tips & tools on planning an evaluation, deciding which method to use, etc, including an interactive guide for managing an evaluation. Website includes sections on engaging stakeholders, securing resources, ethics, and much more.
Short presentations on evaluation basics and hot topics designed to help you obtain an understanding of evaluation, from how to write an evaluation plan, to deciding which evaluation technique to use, to developing a logic model, and much more.
Publicly available, curated repository of data collection tools and resources including research protocols, survey instruments, guidance manuals, data dictionaries, common data elements, and other supporting materials.
Effective program evaluation is a systematic way to improve and account for public health actions. Evaluation involves procedures that are useful, feasible, ethical, and accurate. A practical, non-prescriptive tool, the evaluation framework summarizes and organizes the steps and standards for effective program evaluation.
The purpose of this learning module is to build knowledge and skill in the area of evaluation of health and health research initiatives. The five sections are:
-Evaluation: A Brief Overview
-Designing an Evaluation
-Special Issues in Evaluation
This guide helps organizations evaluate policy-influence work, which supports the uptake and spread of evidence-informed population health interventions. It includes case studies to demonstrate how resources have been used to develop policy-influence evaluation plans.
Navigate impact measurement and management (IMM) tools. The Impact Toolkit allows for investors to tailor a list of fit-for-purpose resources. It consolidates IMM systems, methods, indicators, and data into one searchable database. Browse by theme (water, housing, etc.); geography (urban, rural, etc.); beneficiary (environment or people); and type (data, indicators, methods, systems).
Within an evaluation, the process of information exchange, interpretation and application of knowledge are significantly influenced by the cultures of the participants, including the evaluator. This report provides practical information and insights to design and conduct a culturally competent evaluation; helping guide the complex dynamics between evaluators, funders and stakeholders of different cultures.
This tool guides users through the steps needed to develop, implement and evaluate a knowledge translation plan. Specific examples of applying a KT plan include implementing a method of shared/participatory decision making and reorganizing care delivery to be more collaborative. The guide also provides examples for each of the RE-AIM steps, such as adoption and implementation.
A microsite of resources and tools to help you measure and describe your programs’ impact on families and communities and on factors related to health. MeasureUp provides examples, tools, and resources to help you make your case.
The purpose of the OERL is to collect and make available evaluation plans, instruments, and reports for NSF projects that can be used as examples by Principal Investigators, project evaluators, and others outside the NSF community as they design proposals and projects. OERL also includes professional development modules and user scenarios that can be used to better understand and utilize the materials made available.
The Program evaluation toolkit, developed by the Ontario Centre of Excellence for Child and Youth Mental Health, outlines a three-phase process to apply to program evaluation. It contains useful lists, steps and templates for developing a logic model and final report. This toolkit can be used by anyone involved in planning and conducting program evaluation, accessing data sources and analyzing data on an ongoing basis.
Will help you conduct an implementation research project through a standard process so that you have high quality results that are reliable. Can download entire site for offline use. From the Special Programme for Research and Training in Tropical Diseases (UNICEF, etc.)
Information regarding evidence-based practices relevant to child welfare. Evidence-based practices are those that have empirical research supporting their efficacy. This information is provided in simple straightforward formats reducing the user's need to conduct literature searches, review extensive literature, or understand and critique research methodology.
CBBP is a compendium of community interventions related to chronic disease prevention and health promotion that have been evaluated, shown to be successful, and have the potential to be adapted and replicated by other health practitioners working in similar fields.
Search for either Interventions/Best Practices, Resources, or by Topic or Policy Issues.
A collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. [date varies]
Indexes journal articles, reviews, and bibliographies which provide evidence-based effects of health care, as well as a register of published economic evaluations of health care interventions and information on healthcare technology assessment from seven databases such as The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Cochrane Controlled Trials Register, and the Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness.
Evidence Exchange Network from Ontario, Canada makes mental health treatment and prevention evidence accessible through research summaries, evidence briefs, rapid reviews, infographics, videos, and more.
Contains model practices in public health as practiced by city and county health officials nationally. Searchable database of successful programs in various areas, such as chronic disease, animal control, cultural competence, emergency preparedness, environmental health, informatics, organizational practices, water quality, and more.
RTIPs is a searchable database of evidence-based cancer control interventions and program materials and is designed to provide program planners and public health practitioners easy and immediate access to research-tested materials on cancer prevention and more.
This database was created to assist policymakers at all levels of government in identifying evidence-based programs and making data-driven budget decisions. This one-stop online resource provides policymakers with an easy way to find information on the effectiveness of various interventions as rated by eight national research clearinghouses. Search by Policy Area (child welfare, health, etc.); Intervention Type; rating; and Source.
Examples of programs and policies that have been shown to be effective in addressing specific health factors and focus areas.
Focus areas include health behaviors, clinical care, social and economic factors, and physical environment. Can also search by Decision Makers, eg government officials, employers, community leaders, educators, etc. Each intervention includes citations of evidence and implementation, as well as impact on health disparities.
Health Services Evaluation by Boris Sobolev; Adrian Levy; Sarah Goring; et al. (Editors)The Handbook of Health Services Research is a reference for all aspects of the field of health services and outcomes research. It addresses the increasing need for comprehensive, yet balanced, information in a field that welcomes various disciplines: medicine, public health, statistics, economics, management, policy, and information technology. This well-organized reference is an indispensable source of information for everyone who seeks to develop understanding of health systems and to learn about historical, political, and socioeconomic factors that influence health policies at the global, national, regional and local level. Specifically, the Handbook helps readers: Recognize core concepts of health services and outcomes research, such as, need, access, equity, quality and safety; Become familiar with social, political, organizational, behavioral and economic theories that have influenced health systems designs; Learn about frameworks developed for evaluating the organization, financing, delivery, utilization and outcomes of health services; Get an introduction to methods of comparative effectiveness research, program evaluation, health technology assessment and health economics; Identify types and sources of data appropriate for generating valid and reliable information about the delivery of health services; Learn about strengths and weaknesses of various research designs used to study health services and policy issues. The online version of the Handbook of Health Services Research is in the format of a dynamically updated knowledge base, offering search tools, cross-referencing across chapters and linking to supplement data, other major reference works and external articles. The Handbook of Health Services Research is accessible at the level of graduate students even if it is not their focus area. This includes students with various backgrounds: medicine, public health, statistics, economics, management or information technology.
Publication Date: 2019
Analyzing Health Equity Using Household Survey Data by O'Donnell, et al.Have gaps in health outcomes between the poor and better off grown? Are they larger in one country than another? Are health sector subsidies more equally distributed in some countries than others? Are health care payments more progressive in one health care financing system than another? What are catastrophic payments and how can they be measured? How far do health care payments impoverish households? Answering questions such as these requires quantitative analysis. This in turn depends on a clear understanding of how to measure key variables in the analysis, such as health outcomes, health expenditures, need, and living standards. It also requires set quantitative methods for measuring inequality and inequity, progressivity, catastrophic expenditures, poverty impact, and so on.This book provides an overview of the key issues that arise in the measurement of health variables and living standards, outlines and explains essential tools and methods for distributional analysis, and, using worked examples, shows how these tools and methods can be applied in the health sector. The book seeks to provide the reader with both a solid grasp of the principles underpinning distributional analysis, while at the same time offering hands-on guidance on how to move from principles to practice.
Publication Date: 2007
Evaluating Health Promotion by Thorogood and Coombes (Editors)Health Promotion is a relatively new discipline and there is little in the way of practical help for students and practitioners in choosing and implementing appropriate evaluation methods. As the demands for rigorous evaluation and evidence-based decision-making increase, health promotion cannot ignore the need for accurate, reliable and valid methods to carry out evaluation. This book provides clear descriptions (with plentiful practical examples) of such methods, and the problems that can arise from their implementation. Both qualitative and quantitative methods that are commonly used are described and the problems and benefits that arise with their use are explained. Experiences in the practical implementation of evaluation are explained, with examples from a variety of different social, economic and cultural contexts. The third edition of this highly successful book has been fully revised and updated to reflect the ongoing developments in the field of health promotion. It will appeal to students and practitioners in health promotion and public health (including programme managers in both the government and the voluntary sector), and donors and funding agencies who commission health promotion interventions and evaluations.
Publication Date: 2010
Evaluating Investments in Health Care Systems: health technology assessment by ScalettiThis book focuses on the innovative and more critical management approach adopted in the PA (Public Administration) in order to identify and describe the main models and instruments to economically evaluate the decision making process in accordance to the specific conditions such as efficiency, effectiveness, cost and equity. The manuscript pays special attention to this sector by identifying, investigating and applying the main evaluation models (logic and methods) of the decision making process, in particular in terms of investment decisions. In the recent decades, with reference to PA, several managerial approaches have been developed from a business management perspective. These managerial approaches differ in terms of variables analyzed, such as the role of governance or the specific logics and mechanisms applied, but all of them have a common goal, which is the improvement of efficiency, effectiveness, economic and equitable decision making and operations in the PA. This book investigates the different mentioned frameworks adopting a wider and integrated analysis perspective on the evaluation of investments in the health care system.
Publication Date: 2014
Evaluation of Health Promotion and Disease Prevention Programs: improving population health through evidenced-based practice by WindsorEvaluation of Health Promotion and Disease Prevention Programs offers conceptual and methodological frameworks for the six phases of health program evaluation:* introduction to evaluation* models of evaluation planning* efficacy and effectiveness evaluation* measurement and analysis evaluation* process and qualitative evaluation* cost analysis and basic economic evaluationBy presenting these concepts through case studies, this text offers an innovative and didactic model for measuring health impact and health outcomes, then extending these measurements to establish an evidence base for future practice. This central competency in health promotion will be of use tograduate and post-graduate students in public and population health programs, plus health program practitioners working at the intervention forefront.
Publication Date: 2015
Evidence and Evaluation in Social Policy by Greener and Greeve (Editors)By examining the role of evidence in social policymaking and the extent of its influence, Evidence and Evaluation in Social Policy delves deeply into one of the central questions of the field for the last 20 years. Chronicles the trend towards evidence-based policy over the last decade Assesses the ways in which scarce resources can best be used for the best care, particularly in times of austerity Describes methodological innovation, the ways in which researchers and politicians are working together effectively, and suggestions for future improvement Covers topics such as the role of randomized controlled trials in shaping public policy; the pitfalls of evidence-based policy as a prescriptive ideal; the challenges of measuring public support for policy interventions; and the benefits of engaging local government decision-makers with evaluation research
Publication Date: 2013
Mixed Methods and Credibility of Evidence in Evaluation by Mertens and Hesse-Biber (Editors)Mixed methods in evaluation have the potential to enhance the credibility of evaluation and the outcomes of evaluation. This issue explores advances in understanding mixed methods in philosophical, theoretical, and methodological terms and presents specific illustrations of the application of these concepts in evaluation practice. Leading thinkers in the mixed methods evaluation community provide frameworks and strategies that are associated with improving the probability of reaching the goals of enhanced credibility for evaluations, the evidence they produce, and the actions taken as a result of the evaluation findings. This is the 138th volume of the Jossey-Bass quarterly report series New Directions for Evaluation, an official publication of the American Evaluation Association.
Publication Date: 2013
Small-Scale Evaluation in Health by Griffiths; Snooks; Brophy Setting out the basics of designing, conducting and analysing an evaluation study in healthcare, the authors take a practical approach, assuming no previous knowledge or experience of evaluation. All the basics are covered, including: - How to plan an evaluation - Research governance and ethics - Understanding data - Interpreting findings - Writing a report Cases included throughout to demonstrate evaluation in action, and self learning courses give the reader an opportunity to develop their skills further in the methods and analysis involved in evaluation.
Publication Date: 2009
Public Health Librarian; Interim Optometry & Vision Science Liaison