Library Guides: Vision Science: Articles

Find the PDF Copy of an Article

In the database search results, click the button to check for an online copy of the article.

Or, search by article title in UC Library Search; if it is available online, there will be a link to access it.

Search for Articles by Topic

BIOMEDICAL DATABASES

PubMed This link opens in a new window Citations and abstracts in the fields of biomedicine and health, as well as portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering.
PubMed includes MEDLINE, PubMed Central (PMC), other biomedical and life science journals, and the NCBI Bookshelf. PubMed also provides links to other NCBI molecular biology resources, including nucleotide sequences, protein sequences, 3-D protein structure data, population study data sets, and assemblies of complete genomes in an integrated system.
Note: The link above goes to a specially configured version of PubMed for UC Berkeley users that will display the Get It at UC button for full text article access. To use the free public version, please click here.
Embase This link opens in a new window Search for biomedical literature citations. Embase is a key resource for conducting systematic reviews and researching evidence-based medicine. [dates vary]
Indexes journals, including many not in Medline, from over 90 countries, and indexes conference abstracts from many conferences. Broad biomedical scope with strong coverage in drug, pharmaceutical, and toxicological research including economic evaluation.

GENERAL SCIENCE

Scopus This link opens in a new window Indexes journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, and book series in the sciences and more.
Contains over 50 million records with more than half the content originating from outside North America. Indexes over 21,000 journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, and book series in the sciences, technology, medicine, arts, and humanities.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window Indexes leading journals in the arts, humanities, sciences and social sciences. Allows cited reference searching. (ISI Web of Knowledge) [1900 - present]
Includes the Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index (1990-present), Book Citation Index (2005-present), and Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present).
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window Search across many disciplines and sources including articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
Lists journal articles, books, preprints, and technical reports in many subject areas (though more specialized article databases may cover any given field more completely). Can be used with "Get it at UC" to access the full text of many articles.

ENGINEERING AND COMPUTER SCIENCE

INSPEC This link opens in a new window Access to this resource will be discontinued effective 12/31/24 due to library budget cuts. Please use Scopus as an alternative resource. Search citations for research literature in the fields of electronics, computer science, physics, and electrical, control, production, and mechanical engineering. [1898 - present].
Indexes scholarly journals, conference proceedings, books, reports, and dissertations in physics, electrical engineering and electronics, computers and control, and information technology.
ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window Full text of every article ever published by the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) and bibliographic citations from major publishers in computing. [1954 - present]
Provides full-text access to journals, magazines, transactions, conference proceedings and newsletters published by the ACM (Association of Computing Machinery). Includes most historical and all current publications.
Compendex This link opens in a new window Access to this resource will be discontinued effective 12/31/23 due to library budget cuts. Please use Scopus as an alternative resource. Indexes journals, conferences, technical reports and other materials related to the engineering and technical literature. (Ei Compendex Plus) [1884 - present]
Encompasses civil, structural, and mechanical engineering disciplines, as well as related fields in science and management.

BIOLOGY AND NEUROSCIENCE

BIOSIS Previews This link opens in a new window Citations for journal articles, conference papers, and books on a wide variety of biological and biomedical topics. [1926 - present]
Indexes journals, books, and conference proceedings are indexed on a wide variety of biological and biomedical topics. An electronic version to the print counterparts, Biological Abstracts and Biological Abstracts/RRM.

PSYCHOLOGY AND COGNITIVE SCIENCE

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window Citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, and technical reports. (Psychological Abstracts, Psychinfo) [1806 - current]
Indexes journals, conference proceedings, books, reports, and dissertations in psychology and enriched with literature from psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work.

MORE DATABASES

Conditions of Use for Electronic Resources

Conditions of Use and Licensing Restrictions for Electronic Resources

Searching for Citing References

It can be helpful to identify articles that cite your key references. There are a number of databases that can help with this. Start with Scopus, Web of Science, or Google Scholar. The more specialized databases may provide additional citing references.

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Indexes leading journals in the arts, humanities, sciences and social sciences. Allows cited reference searching. (ISI Web of Knowledge) [1900 - present]
Includes the Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index (1990-present), Book Citation Index (2005-present), and Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present).
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Indexes journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, and book series in the sciences and more.
Contains over 50 million records with more than half the content originating from outside North America. Indexes over 21,000 journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, and book series in the sciences, technology, medicine, arts, and humanities.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Search across many disciplines and sources including articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
Lists journal articles, books, preprints, and technical reports in many subject areas (though more specialized article databases may cover any given field more completely). Can be used with "Get it at UC" to access the full text of many articles.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts in the fields of biomedicine and health, as well as portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering.

PubMed includes MEDLINE, PubMed Central (PMC), other biomedical and life science journals, and the NCBI Bookshelf. PubMed also provides links to other NCBI molecular biology resources, including nucleotide sequences, protein sequences, 3-D protein structure data, population study data sets, and assemblies of complete genomes in an integrated system.
Note: The link above goes to a specially configured version of PubMed for UC Berkeley users that will display the Get It at UC button for full text article access. To use the free public version, please click here.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, and technical reports. (Psychological Abstracts, Psychinfo) [1806 - current]
Indexes journals, conference proceedings, books, reports, and dissertations in psychology and enriched with literature from psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work.

PICO Framework for Optometry Research Questions

Population / problem examples: astigmatism, myopia, cataracts, eye tracking, children, adults, aged

Intervention examples: corrective lens, surgery

Comparison interventions are optional

Outcome examples: improved vision

Embase database has a handy PICO search form.

Search Operators and Tips

Search Tips

Preprints

Preprints are versions of scholarly or scientific papers that have not undergone peer review or been published in a journal. By posting preprint papers, authors can immediately share their findings with the scholarly community.

arXiv (e-Print Archive) This link opens in a new window
Preprints for physics, mathematics, nonlinear sciences, computer science and quantitative biology.
An e-print service in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, and statistics. (x archive - xxx.lanl.gov - Los Alamos ePrint Server)
bioRxiv This link opens in a new window
bioRxiv is a free open access archive for unpublished preprints in the life sciences.
bioRxiv (pronounced "bio-archive") is a free online archive and distribution service for unpublished preprints in the life sciences. It is operated by Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory, a not-for-profit research and educational institution. By posting preprints on bioRxiv, authors are able to make their findings immediately available to the scientific community and receive feedback on draft manuscripts before they are submitted to journals.
medRxiv This link opens in a new window
medRxiv is a preprint service for medical, clinical, and health sciences. Preprints "should not be relied on to guide clinical practice or health-related behavior and should not be reported in news media as established information."
"Preprints are preliminary reports of work that have not been certified by peer review."
PsyArXiv This link opens in a new window
Preprint service for the psychological sciences. Allows scholars to post working papers, unpublished work, and articles under review. Maintained by the Society for the Improvement of Psychological Sciences (SIPS). [2016 - present]

Boolean Operators

Use "OR" when combining terms within the same PICO frame.

Use "AND" when combining terms from different PICO frames.

The "NOT" operator is a very blunt instrument; avoid it most of the time.

Secondary menu

Vision Science: Articles