It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Update: Moffitt Library is closed for seismic work, but most other libraries are open. Learn more.
Collection includes recordings from the world's greatest labels. Coverage includes music written from the earliest times (e.g. Gregorian Chant) to the present, including many contemporary composers. Repertoire ranges from vocal and choral music, to chamber, orchestral, solo instrumental, and opera.
"A database of classical music recordings containing more than 50,000 tracks cross-referenced to a database of supplementary reference information. Over 32 labels are represented. Recordings include early written music (e.g. Gregorian Chant) to contemporary composers. All genres are represented including vocal and choral music, chamber, orchestral, solo instrumental and opera. The database provides multiple recordings of major works.
Audio files of compositions of classical music, folk music, opera, jazz, country music, early rhythm and blues, musical theater, experimental music, electronic music, early rock and Native American music from the United States. Complete original liner notes and essays from independent record labels and sound archives.
Contains audio files of over 1200 CDs, featuring 7500 compositions of classical music, folk music, opera, jazz, country music, early rhythm and blues, musical theater, experimental music, electronic music, early rock and Native American music from the United States. This broad spectrum of American music is derived from recordings available on the New World Records label, and works of contemporary classical American music from labels such as CRI, Albany, innova, Cedille, XI, Pogus, Deep Listening, and Mutable. QuickTime 6.5.2 or later required.
Hear and feel the music from America's past. The database includes songs by and about Native Americans, miners, immigrants, enslaved people, children, pioneers, and cowboys. Included in the database are the songs of Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, and anti-war protests.
Formerly known as African American Song, or American Song. Part of Alexander Street Press's Music Online.
Collection of Western classical music including classical music, jazz, world, folk and Chinese music. Includes notes and biographical information on composers and artists.
A collection of Western classical music including the complete Naxos and Marco Polo catalogs of over 170,000 tracks. Includes classical music, jazz, world, folk and Chinese music. Includes notes and biographical information on composers and artists.
Provides an expanding, mixed selection of streamed recordings by artists from jazz legends to contemporary jazz on hundreds of labels, including Blue Note Records, Warner, EMI, and Fantasy. (Naxos Fantasy Jazz)
Offers close to 20,000 tracks of jazz from 1,900 albums. Over 500 jazz artist are represented.
Calisphere is your gateway to California’s remarkable digital collections, with access to unique and historically important artifacts–nearly two million digital primary resource items–from over 300 cultural heritage organizations, including public libraries, archives, museums, historical societies, and many more throughout the state. Watch a brief introductory video.
Streaming video of 1,600 performances of classical music repertoire, including over 200 operas, 75 dance works, and 250 documentaries. Synchronized transcripts—such as translations of opera texts—run alongside most titles.
Classical Performance in Video contains 2,000 full length titles from music publishers and performing houses like C Major Entertainment, EuroArts, Opus Arte, Arthaus Musik, CLC Productions, and the BBC. Content includes over 1,600 performances in video, including 200 full operas and 75 dance titles; over 60 master classes; over 250 full-length documentaries; over 50 full length interviews; and musical scores to accompany over 100 of the most studied works. More than 250 new titles are added to Classical Performance in Video per year.
Contains dance productions and documentaries by influential performers and companies covering ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance.
Dance Online: Dance in Video, Volume I lays the foundation for the study of dance in all its forms with content in modern dance, ballet, tap, jazz, experimental dance, and more. Films feature many of the greatest dance companies as well as an array of rare and hard-to-find archival and historical material. Volume II showcases a new catalogue of dancers and partners including the Joffrey Ballet, John Jasperse Company, and Cloud Gate Dance Theatre, as well as instructional materials, interviews, and documentaries
featuring key performers and choreographers.
Docuseek2 is a streaming video service featuring social issue and documentary films from independent distributors, including Bullfrog Films, Icarus Films, National Film Board of Canada, and Fanlight. Note: When browsing the platform, you will see film icons next to each title. Grayed out icons indicate Berkeley does not have access to these titles. To view a list limited to titles owned by Berkeley, click the "My Movies" link at the top of the page.
A circulating collection of newly published popular fiction and non-fiction, as well as audiobooks, travel books, newly published poetry books, and subscriptions to several popular magazines and a few daily newspapers.
Partnership between public libraries and cultural attractions that provide California public library cardholders free or discounted tickets to local attractions (e.g., California Academy of Sciences, Exploratorium, de Young Museum, Oakland Zoo).
The Museum contains an estimated 3.8 million objects from California and around the world, as well as extensive documents, photographs and film recordings. You can also explore material in the collection through the Hearst Museum Portal