Skip to Main Content

Online Vegetation and Plant Distribution Maps: States of the U.S., A-M

Lists of online vegetation maps from website titled "Checklist of Online Vegetation and Plant Distribution Maps." These lists of links are no longer being actively maintained and are provided for archival purposes only.

States of the U.S., Alaska - Montana

- Alaska

Alaska Arctic Tundra Vegetation Map : Vegetation Units
Circumpolar Arctic Geobotanical Atlas
Eastern Russia and Alaska Temperate and Boreal Forest and Protected Areas  (Map 1 UNEP-WCMC)
Kotzebue Sound Subregion Vegetation
Vegetation Norton Sound Subregion
Vegetation Map of Tok, Alaska

- Arizona

Arizona GAP Products

 

Northern Arizona Flora

- Arizona -- Tuzigoot National Monument

Tuzigoot National Monument  (USGS-NPS Vegetation Mapping Program)

- Arkansas

Arkansas Biodiversity - Vascular Plants  (Distribution maps for the Arkansas Flora)
Arkansas GAP Products
National Gap Analysis Program

- California

Bolsa Chica wetlands restoration plan (rejected alternative)
Calflora  (Includes county-level distribution maps)
California Gap Analysis Project
California GAP Products 
California Hardwoods
California Hardwoods Rangeland Monitoring Project
California Vascular Plants: Checklist (with Distribution Maps) from the Jepson Manual
Climate Change and the Future of California's Endemic Flora : California Floristic Province; Study Area and Maxent Diversity Projections of the Best known 591 Species; Projected Present Diversity; Projected Diversity 80 Years from Now Modeled with Increasing Amounts of Future Climate Change
Consortium of California Herbaria: Maps of Specimen Distributions Using BerkeleyMapper
CNRA Atlas/Map Server  (California Natural Resources Agency)
County-level Specimen-vouchered Distribution Maps
Distribution Maps and Species Lists of All Plants Covered by the Jepson Manual  (Includes bioregion distribution maps)
Generalized Types and Age Classes of Timber Stands : Redwood--Douglas-fir Subregion, California
Identification of Vegetation State-and-transition Domains in California's Hardwood Rangelands
Jepson Online Interchange : Specimen-vouchered County Maps; Maps and Treatments from The Jepson Manual
Keys to Juncus and Lazula of California by Barbara Ertter
Land Classification of Eastern California, 1877  (Shows timber areas; Geographical Surveys West of the 100th Meridian (U.S.) Atlas sheet 65(D). Covers W 117�52’30”--W 116�30’/N 36�30’--N 35�40’)
Land Classification Map of Parts of Eastern Cal. and Western Nev., 1877  (Shows timber areas; Geographical Surveys West of the 100th Meridian (U.S.) Atlas sheets 47(B) & 47(D). Covers W 120�37’30”--W 119�15’/N 40�40’--N 38�55’)
Monitoring Sudden Oak Death in California  (Includes distribution and county SOD maps)
National Gap Analysis Program  (Biodiversity status of vegetation communities and vertebrates, land cover/land use)
Oak Mapper
Pinyon Species, Juniper Species, Mountain Mahogany Species
Point Distribution Mapping (Berkeley Natural History Museum) Datasets
Potential Riparian Plant Species Richness
Present Diversity from Range Maps for All California Floristic Province Endemic Species; Projected Present Diversity from the Multi-level Generalized Linear Model for All Special with >2 Specimens (2068); Movement of Species Geographic Centroids Based on HadCM3 Simulations Using A1F1 Emission Scenario 80 Years in the Future and Assuming Species Can Move; Future Patterns of Range Size Changes across Increasing Levels of Climate Change in Which Species Can Move
Riparian Zone Hardwoods
Statewide & County Maps of Vegetation Change with Cause for the First Statewide Cycle  (California Land Cover Mapping & Monitoring Program (LCMMP))
Statewide Map of 13 Land Cover Classes, Aggregated from CWHR classes  (Derived from FRAP multi-source data, CDF)
Statewide Weed Maps   (County-level distribution maps, California Invasive Plant Council)
Vegetation in the Northwest Ecoregion
The Wieslander Vegetation Type Map (VTM)

- California -- Kern County

Land Classification Map of Part of Southern California, 1879  (Shows timber areas; Geographical Surveys West of the 100th Meridian (U.S.) Atlas sheet 73(A). Covers W 119�15’--W 117�52’30”/N 35�40’--N 34�50’)

- California -- Lake County

UCD McLaughlin Reserve : Vegetation Map

- California -- Mojave Desert

Holland Natural Communities Map of the Mojave Desert, California

- California -- Monterey County

UCSC Landels-Hill Big Creek Reserve : Habitat Schematic
UCSC Landels-Hill Big Creek Reserve : Vegetation Map

- California -- Napa County

Local Vegetation, Mt. George Preserve
UCD McLaughlin Reserve : Vegetation Map
UCD Quail Ridge Reserve : Vegetation Map

- California, Northern

Land Classification Map of Part of North Central California, 1881  (Shows timber areas; Geographical Surveys West of the 100th Meridian (U.S.) Atlas sheet 47(A). Covers W 122�--W 120�37’30”/N 40�40’--N 39�50’)
Land Classification Map of Parts of N.E. California & N.W. Nevada, 1880  (Shows timber areas; Geographical Surveys West of the 100th Meridian (U.S.) Atlas sheet 38(D). Covers W 120�37’30”--W 119�15’/N 41�30’--N 40�40’)
Timbered Area State of California, Northern Half

- California -- Orange County

- California -- Point Reyes National Seashore

Point Reyes National Seashore Vegetation
UCI San Joaquin Fresh Water Marsh Reserve : Habitat Map

- California -- Russian River Watershed

Russian River Watershed GIS  (NOAA Fisheries & Circuit Rider Productions, Inc. "Map gallery" includes: 1942 Middle Reach riparian habitat & landuse; Middle reach 1992 riparian habitat, succession status & land use; Middle Reach riparian habitat loss 1940-1992)
Russian River Watershed: [vegetation and ecology] 2004 the USDA Forest Service

- California -- San Francisco Bay Area

San Francisco Estuary Invasive Spartina Project

- California -- San Mateo County

Jasper Ridge Biological Preserve Online GIS System

- California -- Sierra Nevada

Sierra Nevada Vegetation

- California, Southern

Land Classification Map of Part of S.W. California, 1881  (Shows timber areas, Los Angeles, Kern and Ventura counties; Geographical Surveys West of the 100th Meridian (U.S.) Atlas sheet 73(C))

- California -- Tulare County

South Fork of the Kern River and Surrounding Meadow Plant Communities from 1995 Aerial Photographs
South Fork of the Kern River at Monache Meadow, Sierra Nevada : Effects of Wet Meadow Riparian Vegetation on Streambank Erosion

- California -- Yolo County

UCD McLaughlin Reserve : Vegetation Map

- California -- Yosemite National Park

Vegetation Map
Yosemite National Park (USGS-NPS Vegetation Mapping Program)  (Classifies, describes and maps vegetation in National Parks. Includes air photos for some parks)

- Colorado

Changes in Forest Cover : [Colorado]
Colorado land cover maps
Ecoregions of Colorado
Economical Features of Central Colorado, 1876  (Shows timber areas; Geographical Surveys West of the 100th Meridian (U.S.) Atlas sheet 61(B). Covers W 106�52'30"--W 105�30'/N 39�--N 38�10’)
Economic Features of Parts of Southern Colorado and Northern New Mexico, 1877  (Shows timber areas; Geographical Surveys West of the 100th Meridian (U.S.) Atlas sheet 70(A). Covers W 105�30'--W 104�07'30"/N 37�20'--N 36�30’)
Economic Features of Parts of South'n. Colorado and North'n. New Mexico, 1878  (Shows timber areas; Geographical Surveys West of the 100th Meridian (U.S.) Atlas sheet 69(B). Covers W 106�52'30"--W 105�30'/N 37�20'--N 36�30’)
Economic Features of S.W. Colorado, San Juan Mining Region, 1877  (Shows timber areas; Geographical Surveys West of the 100th Meridian (U.S.) Atlas sheet 61(C). Covers W 107�57'--W 107�15'/N 38�07'--N 37�42’)
Economic map of Colorado / F.V. Hayden, 1881  (Geological and geographical atlas of Colorado and portions of adjacent territory, sheet III)
Land Classification Map of Part of Central Colorado, 1878  (Shows timber areas; Geographical Surveys West of the 100th Meridian (U.S.) Atlas sheet 62(A). Covers W 105�30'--W 104�07'30"/N 39�--N 38�10’)
Land Classification Map of Part of Central Colorado, 1879  (Shows timber areas; Geographical Surveys West of the 100th Meridian (U.S.) Atlas sheet 52(D). Covers W 106�52'30"--W 105�30'/N 39�50'--N 39�00’)
Land Classification Map of Part of South Western Colorado, 1878  (Shows timber areas; Geographical Surveys West of the 100th Meridian (U.S.) Atlas sheet 61(C). Covers W 108�15'--W 105�52'30"/N 38�10'--N 37�20’)
Land Classification Map of Part of South Western Colorado, 1879  (Shows timber areas; Geographical Surveys West of the 100th Meridian (U.S.) Atlas sheet 61(D). Covers W 106�52'30"--W 105�30'/N 38�10'--N 37�20’)
Land Classification Map of Part of Southern Colorado, 1878  (Shows timber areas; Geographical Surveys West of the 100th Meridian (U.S.) Atlas sheet 62(C). Covers W 105�30'--W 104�07'30"/N 38�10'--N 37�20’)

-- Colorado -- Owl Canyon

Distribution of Colorado Pinyon (Pinus edulis) Showing Location of Owl Canyon Isolate

- Colorado -- Rocky Mountain National Park

Land Use and Land Cover in and around Rocky Mountain National Park

- Florida

Atlas of Florida Vascular Plants
eflora Florida

- Florida -- Everglades

Florida Coastal Everglades Long-term Ecological Research Sites
Florida : Everglades
Florida : Everglades Water Conservation Area
The South Florida Vegetation Mapping Project
Vegetation Map of the "Hole-in-the-Donut" 1952

- Hawaii

Alien Species in Hawaii Distribution Maps
Hawaii Zones of Vegetation
Invasion and Recovery of Vegetation after a Volcanic Eruption in Hawaii: Kilauea Iki
Native* and non-native plant taxa found on the island of Kaho'olawe,[Hawaii]
Vegetation Map : Kanaha Beach
Vegetation Map : Puʻuhonua o Honaunau (City of Refuge) National Historic Park, Hawaiʻi
Vegetation Map of Northeast Coastal Spray Zone of Kalaupapa National Park ...

- Idaho

[Idaho Rare Species]  (Includes maps for selected species)
INVADERS Database System  (exotic plant data including county-level distribution maps)
Land Classification Map of North-eastern Utah & South-eastern Idaho, 1878  (Shows timber areas; Geographical Surveys West of the 100th Meridian (U.S.) Atlas sheet 41(B). Covers W 112�22’30"--W 111�/N 42�20’--N 41�30’)
Land Classification Map of Part of South Eastern Idaho, 1881  (Shows timber areas; Geographical Surveys West of the 100th Meridian (U.S.) Atlas sheet 32(C). Covers W 113�45’--W 112�22’30”/N 43�10’--N 42�20’)
Land Classification Map of Part of South-eastern Idaho, 1879  (Shows timber areas; Geographical Surveys West of the 100th Meridian (U.S.) Atlas sheet 32(D). Covers W 111�22’30"--W 111�/N 43�10’--N 42�20’)
Parts of Southern Idaho & Northern Utah [Land Classification], 1880  (Shows timber areas; Geographical Surveys West of the 100th Meridian (U.S.) Atlas sheet 41(A). Covers W 113�45’--W 112�22'30"/N 42�20’--N 41�30’)

- Illinois

Scott's Bluff : [Vegetation]; Imperiled Associations [U.S.] by Bailey's Ecoregions (Province Level); Oak-hickory Forests of Southern Illinois (Castanea 59: 286-291)

- Indiana

Indiana Dunes National Seashore

- Iowa

Iowa : [1850s and 1990s Land Cover]

- Louisiana

Louisiana GAP Products
[Maps of Louisiana Grasses]

- Maine

Maine GAP Products

- Maryland

Baltimore Simulated Forest Land Cover Showing 200 Years of Urban Growth ...

- Massachusetts -- Cape Cod

Electronic Atlas of the Cape Cod Environment  (Contains current and historic land use/land cover maps)

- Michigan

Presettlement Vegetation of Kalamazoo County, Michigan

- Minnesota

True North: Mapping Minnesota's History  (includes Pre-Settlement Vegetation, 1895; Native Food Sources (Wild Rice); and Forest Cover layers)
Voyageurs National Park, Minnesota : Plant Community Types of the Jack Pine - Black Spruce Forest System

- Mississippi River

Geographic Information System Map Showing Presettlement (1816) Land Cover along Navigation Reaches 25 and 26 of the Upper Mississippi River; Geographic Information System Map Showing Contemporary Land Cover along Navigation Reaches 25 and 26 of the Upper Mississippi River

- Montana

INVADERS Database System  (Exotic plant data including county-level distribution maps)
Montana GAP Products
Montana Natural Heritage Program  (Includes county level distribution maps)
National Gap Analysis Program  (Biodiversity status of vegetation communities and vertebrates, land cover/land use)

Index

World & Regional Maps

  • World
  • Eurasia
  • Indian Ocean
  • Latin America
  • Middle East
  • Southern Hemisphere

Africa

Asia

  • Asia
  • Asia by Region
  • Asia by Country

Europe

  • Europe
  • Europe by Country and Region

Central America

  • Central America
  • Central America by Country
  • West Indies

South America

  • South America
  • Amazon Basin
  • South America by Country and Region

North America

Pacific

Arctic (Polar Regions)

Guide History

Original title of website: Checklist of Online Vegetation and Plant Distribution Maps

Compiled by Claire Englander (1996-2013).  Founding co-compiler Philip Hoehn (1996-2009).   With thanks to Phyllis Bischof, Ed Colijn, Rheal Coupal, John Creaser, Larry Cruse, Joe Dalton, Hugh Eva, Vic Fazio, Xavier Font Castell, Steve Glenn, Lawrence Hislop, Robert Hoare, Michael Jennings, Stephen Killeffer, Brian Klinkenberg, Raino Lampinen, Andrew Lillie, David MacDevette, Philippe Mayaux, Justin Moat, Jim Moore, Tom Owens, Scott Sundberg, Thomas A. Stone, Urs-Beat Brändli, Rob Waller, Hugh D.Wilson and George Wooten.

Maps are no longer being added to or deleted from these lists - the lists are maintained in this guide for archival purposes only.

Broken Links

If you find a broken link, you can search for the link in the Wayback Machine to see if an archived copy of the web page exists. 

You can also report broken links via email.