Skip to Main Content

Online Vegetation and Plant Distribution Maps: North America

Lists of online vegetation maps from website titled "Checklist of Online Vegetation and Plant Distribution Maps." These lists of links are no longer being actively maintained and are provided for archival purposes only.

North America

North America

North America

Agricultural Mosaics and Grasslands
Analog Vegetation Maps for Eastern North America : Eastern North America Vegetation Change over the Past 18,000 Years
Atlas of Western Lichens
Bioclimatic Map of the Mediterranean Zone: North America (Western Part)
Centers of Plant Diversity : North America
Changes in the Woody Biomass Carbon Pool of Northern Temperate and Boreal Forests between the Late 1990s and the Early 1980s and Pool Size During Late 1990s
Changing Patterns in the Number of Species in North American Floras: Estimated Size of the Flora for Areas of 1,000 and 1,000,000 ha in 1900 and 1996; Estimated Proportion (Percentage) of the Flora Consisting of Exotic Species for Areas of 1,000 and 1,000,000 ha in 1900 and 1996
Global and Ecological Zones, North and Central America
The Distribution of the Major Grasslands of North America and the Air Masses that Influence Climate of the Central Grasslands
Interactive Forest Maps: (World, Africa, Asia, North America, South America, Oceania, Europe and Russia)
Lichen Hotspots : [Western North America]
North America Landcover / JRC Ispra  (Downloadable datasets in various formats -- in "Products" section)
North American Pollen Atlas Vegetation Maps
Northern Hemisphere Plant Disjunctions ... Principle Areas where Tertiary Relict Floras Occur, and Tertiary Land Bridges between Eurasia and N America
Prevailing Vegetation  (Inset on: North America -- Political.   In: Times Survey Atlas of the World, 1922)
Rocky Mountain Subalpine-Montane Fen

Great Lakes Region

Land Use, Fisheries & Erosion  (The Great Lakes Atlas)
The Presettlement Forests of the Great Lakes States in the Mid-1800's as Reconstructed from Records of the U.S. General Land Office Survey; The Modern Forests of the Great Lakes States (1977 to 1983) as Reconstructed from the U.S. Forest Service's Fourth Forest Inventory; Map Showing the Changes in Forest Types between Presettlement and Modern Maps; Great Lakes States Pollen Sites Showing Modern Major Pollen Types Measured at the Tops of Sediment Cores in Lakes and Bogs; Great Lakes States Pollen Sites Showing Major Pollen Types Just Prior to the Settlement Horizon (about 150 Years Ago); Great Lakes States Pollen Sites Showing Major Pollen Types about 1,000 Years Ago

Canada

Canada Temperate and Boreal Forest and Protected Areas  (Map 5 UNEP-WCMC)
Canada Vegetation Regions
Distribution, Pseudotsuga menziesii (Mirb.) Franco var. glauca (Beissn.) Franco
Distribution of Invasive Plant Species in Canada
Forest Regions of Canada
[Map of the Prairie in the U.S. and Canada]
Mountains and Mountain Forests North America  (Covers U.S. and Canada)
NatureServe Explorer: an Online Encyclopedia of Life  (Includes state/provincial-level distribution maps)
Poison Ivy, Western Poison Oak, Poison Sumac  (Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada - Publication No 1699 by Gerald A. Mulligan. Includes photos and distribution maps)

- Alberta

Alberta Vegetation Zones

- Hood River Region

Canada : Hood River Region

- Ontario

Coot's Paradise Vegetation Coverage, 1971
Coot's Paradise Vegetation Coverage, 1993

Greenland

Greenland and Iceland Landcover / JRC Ispra  (Downloadable datasets in various formats -- in "Products" section)

Mexico

Carta agr�cola : [M�xico] / A. Garc�a Cubas  (Shows forested areas. In: Atlas pintoresco e hist�rico de los Estados Unidos Mexicanos, 1885, pl. VIII)
Coryphantha Homepage Distribution Maps by Reto F. Dicht
Madro-Tertiary Geoflora Relict Tehuacán mexical (Mexican Chaparral) Distribution under Wet-summer Climates in Mexico
Major vegetation types of Sonora from Trees of Sonora, Mexico / Richard Steven Felger, Matthew Brian Johnson, Michael Francis Wilson, Oxford University Press, 2001.
Mapa forestal de la Rep�blica Mexicana
Mexico : vegetation (INEGI)
Mountains and Mountain Forests Central America  (Covers also Mexico, UNEP-WCMC)
Principales tipos de vegetaci�n en M�xico
Tipos de vegetacion de Mexico Zonas Ecologicas
United States of America and Mexico Temperate Forest and Protected Areas  (Map 6 UNEP-WCMC)

- Baja California

Baja Peninsula : Vegetation Regions

United States

Alien Plant Invaders of Native Areas  (Includes state-level distribution maps for some plants)
Ceanothus distribution map[s] for North America [i.e., United States]
Climate Types and Related Map Samples Contained within BONAP's Floristic Synthesis
Density Gradient Map Samples Produced from BONAP's Floristic Synthesis
Distribution, Pseudotsuga menziesii (Mirb.) Franco var. glauca (Beissn.) Franco
Forest Cover Types : National Atlas of the United States of America [2000]
Geographic Face of the Nation - Land Cover
Hypothetical reserves [Great Plains] in Licht, D.S. (1997). Ecology and Economics of the Great Plains
Land Use History of North America (LUHNA)  (USGS)
[Map of the Prairie in the U.S. and Canada]
Map Showing Life Zones of the United States [C. Hart Merriam, 1895]
Map Showing in Five Degrees of Density the Distribution of Woodland within the Territory of the United States, 1873 / compiled by Wm. H. Brewer.  (Statistical Atlas of the United States Based on the Results of the Ninth Census 1870, pl. III-IV)
Land Cover and Forest Formations for the U.S. Virgin Islands
Midwestern Wetland Flora  (Distribution maps covering the U.S.)
Mountains and Mountain Forests North America  (Covers U.S. and Canada)
National Atlas of the United States of America, 1970  (p. 89, 90-92, 154-156, 157-160 - vegetation, forests, land use)
National Biomass and Carbon Dataset
National grasslands (and Yellowstone National Park for size comparison) in Licht, D.S. (1997). Ecology and Economics of the GreatPlains
NatureServe Explorer: an Online Encyclopedia of Life  (Includes state/provincial-level distribution maps)
Orchids of Wisconsin  (Wisc. and U.S. distribution maps)
Poison Ivy, Western Poison Oak, Poison Sumac  (Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada - Publication No 1699 by Gerald A. Mulligan. Includes photos and distribution maps)
Plant Hardiness Zone Map
Prairie in National Park Units in the Great Plains
A Synonymized Checklist of the Vascular Flora of the United States, Puerto Rico, and the Virgin Islands
United States of America and Mexico Temperate Forest and Protected Areas  (Map 6 UNEP-WCMC)
USDA Forest Service research natural areas of the Rocky Mountain, Intermountain, Southwestern and Great Plains states
USGS-NPS Vegetation Mapping Program  (Classifies, describes and maps vegetation in National Parks. Includes air photos for some parks)
Woodland : This Map Shows the Percentage of Land per County Recorded in the 1987 Census of Agriculture as Being Woodland

Index

World & Regional Maps

  • World
  • Eurasia
  • Indian Ocean
  • Latin America
  • Middle East
  • Southern Hemisphere

Africa

Asia

  • Asia
  • Asia by Region
  • Asia by Country

Europe

  • Europe
  • Europe by Country and Region

Central America

  • Central America
  • Central America by Country
  • West Indies

South America

  • South America
  • Amazon Basin
  • South America by Country and Region

North America

Pacific

Arctic (Polar Regions)

Guide History

Original title of website: Checklist of Online Vegetation and Plant Distribution Maps

Compiled by Claire Englander (1996-2013).  Founding co-compiler Philip Hoehn (1996-2009).   With thanks to Phyllis Bischof, Ed Colijn, Rheal Coupal, John Creaser, Larry Cruse, Joe Dalton, Hugh Eva, Vic Fazio, Xavier Font Castell, Steve Glenn, Lawrence Hislop, Robert Hoare, Michael Jennings, Stephen Killeffer, Brian Klinkenberg, Raino Lampinen, Andrew Lillie, David MacDevette, Philippe Mayaux, Justin Moat, Jim Moore, Tom Owens, Scott Sundberg, Thomas A. Stone, Urs-Beat Brändli, Rob Waller, Hugh D.Wilson and George Wooten.

Maps are no longer being added to or deleted from these lists - the lists are maintained in this guide for archival purposes only.

Broken Links

If you find a broken link, you can search for the link in the Wayback Machine to see if an archived copy of the web page exists. 

You can also report broken links via email.