Abolition and Emancipation: Papers of Thomas Clarkson, William Lloyd, Zachary Macaulay, Harriet Martineau, Harriet Beecher Stowe and William Wilberforce
News/Micro Microfilm 77764 & Guide: Microfilm 77764.guide Included at the beginning of each reel.
African American Dissertations.
News/Micro Microfilm.2030 .E
The Library owns several thousand African American dissertations, each of which is listed by author and title in OskiCat the UC Berkeley library catalog. We also offer an online guide, listing these items by author and department with a keyword search capability.
Africans in the New World, 1493-1834 from the John Carter Brown Library at Brown University.
News/Micro MICROFILM 78753
Africo-American Presbyterian, 1880-1938.
The microfilm edition of this newspaper includes all issues published weekly from 1925-1938, plus a small assortment of issues from the years 1880-1917.
Black Abolitionist Papers, 1830-1865. & Guide to the Microfilm Edition
News/Micro Microfilm 19623 .E & Guide: E449 .A12 .B4
A collection of writings, speeches, correspondence, newspapers, and other printed materials of some 300 prominent African Americans involved in the anti-slavery movement. Some titles may be included in database Slavery & Anti-Slavery (UCB proxy access only).
Black Biographical Dictionaries, 1790-1950.
Doe Reference Microfiche 18002 & Index: Doe Reference E185.96.A12 .B52 1992 Biographies
This set contains over 30,000 biographical references and thousands of portraits in nearly 300 titles published between 1790 and 1950. To obtain a particular item, first check the index then consult the fiche.
Black Literature, 1827-1940.
News/Micro Microfiche 24427
Also available in online datbase Black Studies Center (UCB proxy access only) Index: Doe Refe: PS 508 .N3 .B29 computer disk.
This massive set contains over 150,000 pieces of fiction, poetry, book reviews and literary notices in 900 African American periodicals and newspapers published between 1827 and 1940.
Butler Plantation Papers : The Papers of Pierce Butler (1744-1822) and Successors from the Historical Society of Pennsylvania.
News/Micro Microfilm 77814, Guide: Microfilm 77814.guide , & Online Guide
The Butler Plantation was made famous by Fanny Kemble's Journal of a Residence on a Georgian Plantation 1838-1839 (1863). In this work, British actress Fanny Kemble, who had married plantation owner Pierce Butler II in 1834, described the horror of her first experience of the slavery system. The microfilm edition documents the whole range of Butler's activities from his business interests to the affairs of the state of Georgia.
Carter Godwin Woodson Collection of Negro Papers and Related Documents.
News/Micro Microfilm 18909 .E
Guide: Filmed at the beginning of reel one.
This collection was assembled by Dr. Woodson when he was the editor of the Journal of Negro History. It consists of correspondence on Negro history, race relations and discrimination, employment opportunities, political and business affairs, addresses, legal and other documents.
Carver, George Washington, 1864?-1943.
Microfilm Edition of the George Washington Carver Papers at Tuskegee Institute & Guide to the Microfilm Edition
News/Micro Microfilm 18900 S & Guide: News/Micro S 417 .C3 .A12 .K5
The Carver Collection at Tuskegee Institute and the Carver related materials from the National Archives, the Library of Congress, the University of Iowa and Iowa State, the Franklin D. Roosevelt, the Carver National Monument, and other private collections are included in this collection of his papers. Memorabilia, correspondence, and writings by and about Carver on topics such as science, agriculture, education, industry, medicine, race relations, religion, and politics are well represented in this collection.
Cointelpro: the Counter-Intelligence Program of the FBI.
News/Micro Microfilm 18097 .JK
This is a collection of FBI files on various groups such as: Communist Party, White hate groups, African American nationalist hate groups, nationalist groups and other organizations.
Reels 1-17. Communist Party of the U.S. (File 100 - 3-104). Reel 17. Hoodwink (File 100-446533).
Reels 18-20. White hate groups (File 157-9).
Reels 21-24. Black nationalist hate groups (File 100-448006).
Reels 25-27. New Left (File 100-449698).
Reel 28. Socialist Workers Party (File 100-436291).
Reel 29. Nationalist groups (Files 105-190209, 100-434445, 105-99938, 105-93124).
Reel 30. Special operations (File 105-174254) and Espionage (File 65-69260)
Congress of Racial Equality Papers (CORE), 1941-1967. & Guide to the Microfilm Edition
News/Micro Microfilm 18901 .E & Guide: E185.6.A12.P35
Strategies, tactics and ideologies of CORE are documented in these papers. Internal records, reports, project files, correspondence, convention notes, newsletters and other information related to civil rights organizations are included.
Congress of Racial Equality Papers, 1944-1968. & Guide to the Microfilm Edition
News/Micro Microfilm 20887 & Guide: E185.6.A1.P35 1982
This is an additional collection of the Congress of Racial Equality materials from the Martin Luther King, Jr. Center for Nonviolent Social Change, Inc. in Atlanta. It includes internal memos, field reports, planning documents, and various chapter files of operations in employment, housing, voter registration, and accommodations.
DuBois, W.E.B. Papers, 1877-1965. & Guide to Papers
News/Micro Microfilm 19082 E & Guide: E185.97.D73.A12.M3 with select Online Access Through UMass Collection
This includes the most comprehensive collection of DuBois's correspondence from 1877 to the time of his death.
Dunbar, Paul Laurence, 1872-1906.
The Paul L. Dunbar Papers at the Ohio Historical Society. & Inventory to the Microfilm Edition
News/Micro Microfilm 16371 .PS & Guide: Microfilm 16371.PS inventory
This collection consists of the writer's published and unpublished poems, novels, short stories, plays, essays, speeches, and miscellaneous writings, as well as untitled works by subject. It also includes some newspaper clippings, legal documents and scrapbooks of Paul Dunbar and his wife Alice Ruth Moore Dunbar.
Federal Surveillance of Afro-Americans (1917- 1925): the First World War, the Red scare, and the Garvey Movement.News/Micro Microfilm 32624
Guide Government Reference E185.A12.F441 1986
George P. Johnson Negro Film Collection.
News/Micro.Microfilm 18993 .PN & Index: PN1995.9.N4.A12.L3 . The index is filed under Lashley, Barbara.
A collection of the Johnson manuscripts and newspaper clippings on African Americans in the motion picture industry.
A Guide to the Microfilm Edition of Records of the National Association of Colored Women's Clubs, 1895-1992.
News/Micro Microfilm 71276 & Guide Microfilm 71276.guide & Microfilm Edition to Records of the NACWC
Part 1: Minutes of national conventions, publications.
Part 2: President's office files and correspondence, 1958-1968.
Gumby, L.S. Alexander Collection, 1800-1960.
News/Micro Microfilm 18050 E
This collection of scrapbooks includes clippings and photographs of Black Americans from many walks of life. Index at the beginning of reel one.
Harriet Tubman, 1820-1913 : An Historic Vignette.
Location: Microfilm 56287 News/Micro
A collection of papers related to Harriet Tubman, leader of the Underground Railroad. Includes reproductions of 10 books and articles originally published 1843-1898.
Stetson Kennedy Collection, 1916-1950.
Microfilm 77737 News/Micro & Guide: Microfilm 77737.guide
Research files of a Florida folklorist and author who helped expose the Ku Klux Klan.
Martineau, Harriet, 1802-187.
News/Micro Microfilm 78019 & Guide: Microfilm 78019.guide
Also see Abolition and Emancipation
Maryland State Colonization Society.
Papers, 1817-1902 & Guide to Microfilm Edition
News/Micro Microfilm 18103 .E & Guide: Microfilm 18103 .E .index
This collection includes minutes, correspondence, financial records, records of manumission and emigration, reports of colonial agents, pamphlets and books on the colonization movement, copies of the Maryland Colonization Journal (Baltimore, 1835-1861), the Liberia Herald (Monrovia, 1842-1857), and census records of Maryland in Liberia.
Daniel Murray Papers. & Guide to the Microfilm Edition
Shelved at NRLF Microfilm 18899 E
Index and guide: Wolff, Jane. The Papers of Daniel Murray: Guide to a Microfilm Edition. E185.97.M77.A12 .W6 News/Micro
In 1871 Murray was the second African American to hold a professional position in the Library of Congress and in 1899 was responsible for compiling a collection of books and pamphlets by African American authors for the 1900 Paris Exposition. Murray's papers consist of results of his research, correspondence, historical and biographical materials concerning his Encyclopedia project, personal and professional activities.
National Association for the Advancement of Colored People. Papers. & Guide to the Microfilm Edition
News/Micro Microfilm 71198 & Guides: Microfilm 71198.guide
Each part of this very large collection has a separate guide.
This massive collection consists of some twenty-eight sections, many with supplemental files, organized by subject.
see also FBI File on the NAACP & Guide to Microfilm Edition
The Peonage Files of the U.S. Department of Justice, 1901-1945
News/Micro Microfilm 48040
Guide: HD 4875 .U5 .G85 1989 Government Reference
Includes various documents, letters, newspaper articles, and manuscript collections concerning peonage in the United States since the Civil War, as well as complaints from those who believed themselves held in peonage.
Randolph, A. Philip (Asa Philip)
The Papers of A. Philip Randolph & Guide to Microfilm Edition
News/Micro Microfilm 77712 & Guide: Microfilm 77712.guide
A. Philip Randolph was a leader of the Brotherhood of Sleeping Car Porters union; in 1941 he succeeded in getting a Fair Employment Practices Committee established.
Records of the National Association of Colored Women's Clubs, 1895-1992
News/Micro Microfilm 71276 & Guide: Microfilm 71276.guide
Part one: Minutes of national conventions, publications, and president's office correspondence.
Part two: President's Office Files, 1958-1968.
Records of the National Negro Business League. & Guide to Microfilm Edition
News/Micro Microfilm 77713 & Guide: Microfilm 77713.guide
Part one: Annual conference proceedings and organizational records, 1900-1919.
Part two: Correspondence and business records, 1900-1923.
Selected Documents from Records of the Committee on Fair Employment Practice.
News/Micro Microfilm 16355 E & Guide: CD 3041 .C65 1970
A collection of the records of the FEPC, which was established in 1941 to deal with discrimination in employment against members of minority groups, especially African Americans.
Slavery in Ante-bellum Southern Industries.
News/Micro Microfilm 71277 & Guide: Microfilm 71277.guide
Slavery: Source Material and Critical Literature
News/Micro Microfiche 27132 & Guide: Microfiche 27132.guide. Printed guide also available in Doe Reference E185 .A12 .S56
This collection of books and pamphlets was written before the Civil War by and about African Americans. It covers such topics as the abolition movement, conditions of slaves, the Fugitive Slave Law, the slave trade, history of slavery, travels through the slave states, anti-slavery tracts and religious views on slavery. Government documents, sermons, poetry, fiction and former slaves' narratives are also found in this collection.
Smith, Gerrit, 1797-1874.
Microfilm Edition of the Gerrit Smith Papers, 1775-1924. & Guide to the Microfilm Edition
News/Micro Microfilm 18634 E & Guide Microfilm 18635 .E.index
Smith, Peter, 1768-1837.
Microfilm Edition of the Peter Smith Papers, 1763-1850.
News/Micro Microfilm 18635 .E & Guide Microfilm 18635 .E Index
Southern Historical Manuscripts : Microform Plantation Records from the Department of Archives, Louisiana State University.
Microfiche 154 News/Micro
The collection includes correspondence, business and personal papers, and diaries which reveal many aspects of life on the plantations of Louisiana, southwestern Mississippi, and the lower Mississippi Valley during the 19th century. Among the papers included are those of the planters, a Methodist minister, a shopkeeper, a professor of "Negro Medicine", and the papers of two families of free African Americans.
Southern Tenant Farmers' Union Papers, 1934-1970.
BANC MSS 72/188 z FILM Bancroft
A collection consisting of correspondence, reports, press releases, legal documents, pamphlets, and other materials. It documents the formation of the union and its activities to improve the lot of sharecroppers, tenant farmers, small landowners and migratory farm workers; its relations with government agencies, and other unions/organizations.
The Green Rising, 1910-1977: a Supplement to the Southern Tenant Farmers' Union Papers.
BANC MSS 80/24 z FILM Bancroft
Terrell, Mary Church, 1863-1954.
The Papers of Mary Church Terrell.
News/MicroMicrofilm 18903 .E & Guide: Filmed at beginning of reel one.
Her papers include diaries, correspondence, speeches, writings, and her professional activities as an educator, lecturer, and political campaigner.
Terrell, Robert Heberton, 1857-1925
The Papers of Robert H. Terrell.
News/Micro Microfilm 18992 .E
Documents Robert H. Terrell's career as a Municipal Court judge in the District of Columbia (1902-1925). The Judge and his wife were prominent African American leaders in education and civil rights.
The Tuskegee Institute News Clippings File. & Guide to Microfilm Edition
News/Micro Microfilm 19252 .E & guide: E185 .A12 .K5
Covering the years 1899-1966, these clippings were compiled from more than three hundred major national dailies, leading southeastern dailies, African American newspapers, magazines, religious and social publications, and foreign newspapers. They cover a variety of topics: civil rights, discrimination, economic conditions, lynchings, race relations, riots, sports, and other subjects.
Types and conditions of Afro-Americans in 1900 compiled and prepared by W.E.B. Du Bois for the Negro Exhibit of the American Section of the Exposition universelle, Paris, 1900. 363 photos.
Portraits of unidentified well-dressed African Americans, and photographs showing homes, families and country and city life.
Washington, Booker T., 1856-1915.
The Papers of Booker T. Washington.
Shelved at NRLF (storage). Microfilm 19400 .E
Guide: Contents for reels 1-91 on reel 1. Contents for reels 92-388 on reel 92.
The first three series in this microfilm collection consist of family, personal, and special correspondence. Series four, general correspondence, includes letters on subjects related to Washington's position as principal of the Tuskegee Institute and as a well-recognized African American leader.
Woodson, Carter Godwin, 1875-1950.
Papers of Carter G. Woodson and the Association for the Study of Negro Life and History, 1915-1950.
News/Micro Microfilm 77984 & Online Guide to Papers
Known as the "Father of Negro History," Carter G. Woodson was a towering African American intellectual of the first half of the 20th century. He was passionately dedicated to black history's mission to bring to light the wealth of the Negro past and to demolish bigoted stereotypes and misinformation about African Americans. Due to Woodson's energy and vision, generations of African Americans were disabused of notions of Negro inferiority and educated in the reality of the accomplishments of persons of color.