Library Guides: History: Articles

Specialized databases

Bibliography of British and Irish History (BBIH) This link opens in a new window
Index of publications covering the history of the British Isles, the British Empire and Commonwealth from 55BC to present; the successor of the Royal Historical Society Bibliography of British and Irish History. (Brepols) [1900 - present]
Lists books, articles in books, articles in some 700 journals; covers historical writing dealing with the British Isles, and with the British Empire and Commonwealth, during all periods for which written documentation is available - from 55BC to the present. It is the successor to the Royal Historical Society Bibliography of British and Irish History, available online from 2002 to 2009. To access database, click on Enter databases, then click on Bibliography of British and Irish History.
International Medieval Bibliography (IMB) This link opens in a new window
Indexes over 4500 periodicals and 5000 conference proceedings, essay collections, Festschriften, edited volumes, conference proceedings, and exhibition catalogs covering all aspects of the Middleaages (400-1500 A.D.). Complements and can be searched simultaneously with the Bibliography of Medieval Civilization (BCM) for books. (Brepols) [1967 - present]
Covers Europe, the Middle East, and North Africa.
ITER: Gateway to the Renaissance This link opens in a new window
Indexes over 300 journal titles to create a bibliography of articles, essays, books and reviews related to the Middle Ages and the Renaissance (400-1700). [1883 - present]
Includes a number of databases useful to the fields of classical, medieval, and Renaissance studies such as Iter Italicum, a catalog of Renaissance humanistic manuscripts found in libraries and collections around the world, International Directory of Scholars, International Directory of Renaissance and Reformation Associations and Institutes, and Scholars of Early Modern Studies (volume 34).
History of Science, Technology, and Medicine This link opens in a new window
Index of interdisciplinary global publications covering research in the history of science, medicine and technology. (HistSciTechMed) [1976 - present]
Indexes books, journals, proceedings, and dissertations worldwide about research in the history of science, medicine, technology, and related fields. Subjects covered include agriculture, biology, construction, chemistry, energy, engineering, geology, linguistics, mathematics, medicine, music, philosophy, physics, social sciences, town planning, transport engineering, and zoology.

Online Collections of Journals

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to over 1000 scholarly journals, including more than 2 million articles, from a wide range of disciplines. Current issues from journals (the most recent 3-5 years) are generally not available in JSTOR. [dates vary].
For more sophisticated search capabilities, go directly to JSTOR advanced search.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Several hundred digitized scholarly journals and books in the humanities and social sciences. [1993 - present]
Topics include literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics and many others. Books are available in PDF format, searchable and retrievable to the chapter level, with no restrictions on downloading or printing.

Indexes of earlier literature

Annual bulletin of historical literature
Call Number: Main (Gardner) Stacks; D4 .H5
Publication Date: 1911-2013
Years library has in print: 1912-1981, 1983-1989, 1991-2000. Volumes before 1997 are stored at NRLF. Catalog record also links to holdings at HathiTrust, where you can find full text available for volumes 1-18.
International bibliography of historical sciences
Call Number: NRLF (UCB) ; D4 .I6
Publication Date: 1926-2019
Volumes 1 (1926)-78 (2009) are at NRLF. 79 (2010)-83 (2014) are in the Main Stacks at the same call number. 84 (2015)-88 (2019) are in Doe Reference at the same call number. The catalog record also links to online holdings at Gallica.

Other Useful Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary database of scholarly and general interest journals, books, and reports. [1865 - present]
Articles from broad array of peer-reviewed journals, popular and trade magazines and news sources for nearly all areas of study; available in English, Spanish, German, French, Italian and Portuguese.
C19: The Nineteenth Century Index This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive coverage of nineteenth-century books, periodicals, official documents, newspapers and archives. (19th Century Index) [1800 - 1899]
C19 Index draws on the Nineteenth Century Short Title Catalogue, The Wellesley Index, Poole's Index and Periodicals Index Online to create integrated bibliographic coverage of over 1.4 million books and official publications, 64,891 archival collections and 15.6 million articles published in over 2,500 journals, magazines and newspapers.
Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984 This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles from scholarly humanities and social sciences journals from 20th century North America and Europe. [1907 - 1984]
Citations to more than 1.3 million articles in over 1,200 periodicals.
Readers' Guide Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Indexes American magazines and journals published between 1890 to 1982.
EBSCOhost (formerly WilsonWeb) (EBSCO)
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Indexes leading journals in the arts, humanities, sciences and social sciences. Allows cited reference searching. (ISI Web of Knowledge) [1900 - present]
Includes the Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index (1990-present), Book Citation Index (2005-present), and Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present).

Other Useful Tools

Writings on American History
Some of the content has been digitized and is available from HathiTrust at http://catalog.hathitrust.org/Record/003920757.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is an easy way to do interdisciplinary research, and with some settings changes can become even more useful. You need a Google account to use these features.

Set up a Google Scholar Alert to be automatically notified when new articles are added to Google on topics of interest:

Do your search in Google Scholar. Look in the left sidebar for the Create Alert link next to the envelope icon, and click it. New items will be sent to your email account as they are found by Google.

Make Google display links to full text of articles that Berkeley subscribes to:

Open Scholar. Click on the menu icon in the upper left corner and then the gear iconto reach the settings page. On the next screen, choose Library Links from the left-hand menu. In the search box, type the word Berkeley. Choose University of California, Berkeley - Get it at UC, and Open Worldcat Search.

Ever wanted to trace an article’s impact? Google now permits searching within citing articles.

Do a Google Scholar search. Click on the "Cited by" link under a citation and select the "Search within articles citing..." checkbox.

Secondary menu

History: Articles

Finding articles