Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Moffitt Library is open, and other libraries have updated services and hours. Here’s what you need to know.

History: About the Collection

Want to meet?

If you would like to schedule a meeting with me, use https://calendly.com/dorner to find a time and the appointment will be put on my calendar. No need to email me first asking for a meeting!

We can meet in person or via Zoom. 

 

About the History Collection

The Library maintains a research-level collection to support the research and teaching of the history department, as well as many other disciplines and programs with historical interests. The History Department is comprehensive in the thematic and methodological emphasis that render the study of history one of the most capacious of all academic callings. Although in recent years the department's strengths in cultural, intellectual, and political history have been the most widely noticed, the department's distinction in social, economic and international kinds of history has been recognized thoughout the world. The collection ranges across virtually all of the major geographical and chronological fields recognized by the discipline.

Collection Description

Berkeley’s historical collections are concentrated chiefly in the humanities and social sciences which are housed in the Gardner (MAIN) Stacks of the Doe Library. The collections are very strong in microfilm editions of important research materials, including personal papers, government documents, newspapers and organizational records. More specialized historical materials can be found in over 20 subject specialty libraries on campus, including the Education-Psychology, Environmental Design, Public Health, Anthropology, Business, and Law Libraries. In addition, the Bancroft Library’s holdings include original manuscripts, photographs, and fine first editions.

Purchase Recommendation Form

If you'd like to recommend an item to be added to the collection, please use the Purchase Recommendation Form.

 

Giving to the Library

How to Give
The Library's Development Office explains the various ways donors can give to the Library. Note that donations made through the online form can not specifically be designated for the History Collection. 

History Collection News

Loading ...