Legal Studies 190, Truth, Justice and Reconciliation: Responses to State Violence, Spring 2022

 masthead from 1919

The Daily Californian website is searchable back to 2011 (to 2008 in some cases).

The Daily Californian archive is online here as part of the Library's Digital Collections.  Digitization is ongoing, some years are still in process.  

Hathi Trust version is also missing some issues.  Users may see full text (full view) from 1898 - 1979 and from 2000-February, 2019.  Users have access to a limited view (search only) from 1980-1999.
 

SEARCH TIPS

• ALWAYS toggle the "Fulltext Search" button to ON.
• Search tips and advanced search are available but problematic.
• If at all possible, browse by year.  You can search by specific dates, for example: use the filters on the left to limit to a specific year, and then search for the month and day (spelled out or abbreviated:  October or Oct)

In addition microfilm beginning Oct 2, 1897 through the present are available by appointment from the News/Micro Library.  

"The Daily Californian has its roots in The College Echo, published by the Durant Rhetorical Society at the College of California before the founding of the University of California. The society continued the publication after the formation of the university and the move to the Berkeley campus site as The University Echo. The Neolaean Literary Society began the Neolaean Review in March 1873, and the two publications merged in January 1874 as The Berkeleyan. There was a gap in the publication from 1888 thorough 1892; a new series of The Berkeleyan was begun in 1893.  The named was changed to The Californian in 1897, and in October of that same year it became the Daily Californian."  (Source)

HathiTrust (Hathi is pronounced hah-tee) is a partnership of libraries that works towards the goal of developing a shared digital access, preservation, and storage solution for the materials held in the member libraries. The contents of HathiTrust are similar to that of Google Books, but the collecting focus is on scholarly materials and the resource includes content and features (such as indexing and manipulation of results) not available in Google Books.

Downloading PDFs

Creating Collections

1. On the Collections page, click on login.
2. Choose the University of California, Berkeley from the drop down list and click on login.
3. Enter your CalNet ID and passphrase.
4. Click on Create a New Collection and name your collection (the description is optional).
5. Indicate whether it is a Private or Public collection.
6. Click on Add.

In the future if you want to edit, change the private/public setting, or delete the collection, your collections will always be listed in the My Collections tab whenever you are logged in to HathiTrust.

The Bancroft Library is one of the treasures of the campus, and one of the world's great libraries for the history of the American West and Mexico.

Some Bancroft materials are available online via Calisphere, which also includes primary sources from many other California libraries and museums. Bancroft also maintains additional digital resources.

Before you go:

Be prepared! Read secondary sources and know something about your topic.

Register as a researcher. Registration is free and takes just a few minutes using the Aeon online registration form to register in advance. For more information, see the Aeon guide.

In UC Library Search you can narrow your search to UC Berkeley special collections and archives. As you type your search, options to search different parts of the Library system appear. Narrowing your search this way is also possible in Advanced Search.

Materials must be requested using Aeon. You must have an Aeon account to request materials. It is recommended that you request your materials in advance of your visit and to submit your requests at least one week prior to your visit to Bancroft.  For more information please visit the Aeon guide.

If the UC Library Search record mentions a finding aid (an index) to a manuscript collection, you should use it to help you find what you need in the collection.  If the finding aid is online, there will be a link from the catalog record.  Many of the finding aids that are not online are shelved near the Registration Desk at the Bancroft Library. You can also search for Bancroft finding aids in the Online Archive of California.

Before you go, plan your visit (and bring a quarter for a locker).

During your visit:

1. Store your belongings in the lockers provided, located on the right-hand side of the east entrance. Pass the security guard station and proceed up one level by stairs or elevator to the Reading Room and Seminar Rooms (3rd floor).
2. Check in at the Registration Desk, located on the left-hand side of the entrance to the Reference Center. You will need a photo ID.
3. Go to the Circulation Desk, where you will be assigned a seat and can request the materials you pre-ordered.  
4. For research-related questions, ask for assistance at the Reference Desk.

How to Get to the Bancroft Library

Check the current hours for the Bancroft Library.  For more information, see the Aeon guide.

The Bancroft Library is on the second floor of Doe, on the east side (the side closest to the Campanile). See a floor plan of Doe Library 2nd floor (pdf).

Guides to over 20,000 collections housed in 200 libraries, archives, historical societies, special collections and museums across California are searchable at the Online Archive of California (OAC). Collection guides, also known as finding aids, are descriptive guides to archival (primary source) collections. These collections may be physically located in archives or digitized on the web. The guides help users learn more about the scope of a collection so they know if it is likely to meet their research needs.

Digitized versions of photographs, documents, newspapers, political cartoons, works of art, diaries, transcribed oral histories, and other cultural artifacts that are contributed by these California institutions to the OAC make up the content included in Calisphere.