The newspaper Kavkaz (Caucasus) was published during 1846-1918. It was the first Russian-language newspaper in the Caucasus, published in Tiflis (Tbilisi), Georgia.
The idea to publish this newspaper came from Prince Mikhail Vorontsov who was the imperial Governor-General of the province at that time. The main purpose of the newspaper was, on the one hand, to promote the Russian culture and Russian influence in the Caucasus, and on the other hand “to acquaint the Russian public with the life, habits and traditions of the tribes populating the province of the Caucasus.”
Krokodil (Russian for "Crocodile") was a satirical magazine published in the Soviet Union. [1922 - 2008]
Founded in 1922, it was first published as a supplement for Rabochaia gazeta. Although political satire was dangerous during much of the Soviet period, Krokodil was given considerable license to lampoon political figures and events. Other safe topics for mockery included the mid-level bureaucrat's lack of imagination and workers drinking on the job. The journal also ridiculed capitalist countries and attacked various political, ethnic and religious groups that allegedly opposed the Soviet system.
Complete Digital Archive of the renowned Russian journal LEF (Left Front of the Arts) published in the early 20th Century contains rare works of avant-garde writers, photographers, critics and designers in the turbulent era of the first Soviet art. [1923-1925]
"History of LEF
In the wake of the Russian Revolution, the group “Left Front of the Arts” (“Левый фронт искусств”, “Levyi Front Iskusstv”) was formed in Moscow, bringing together creative people of the era -- avant-garde poets, writers, photographers, and filmmakers, including
Vladimir Mayakovsky, Osip Brik, and others. The group’s philosophy was to re-examine the ideology of so-called leftist art, abandon individualism, and increase art’s role in building communism. The group considered itself as the only representative of revolutionary art."
Literaturnaia gazeta (LG) is a landmark publication in Russia's cultural heritage. Its focus is on literary and intellectual life in Russia. The library currently has access to the online full text archive from 1929-2012.
Established on April 22, 1929 with the support of the "father of Soviet literature," writer Maxim Gorky, Literaturnaia gazeta is a landmark publication in Russia's cultural heritage. With its focus on literary and intellectual life, Literaturnaia gazeta allowed Soviet Russia’s preeminent authors, poets, and cultural figures a particular podium for commentary, affording perhaps fewer restrictions than might be possible in other publications. LG was considered the most open among newspapers of the Soviet era, and it remains popular among the intelligentsia in today’s Russia.
In 1968, the Muslim Religious Board for Central Asia and Kazakhstan, established Muslims of the Soviet East as the only Islamic periodical carrying the official seal of approval of the Soviet government.
Its English language edition appeared in 1974 and the journal ceased to publish in 1990. [1974 - 1990].
Niva (Grainfield in Russian), the most popular magazine of late-nineteenth-century Russia, defined itself as "an illustrated weekly journal of literature, politics and modern life." It was founded in 1870 and lasted till September 1918.
Niva became a very popular journal of quality literature read by the middle class in the Russian provinces. The journal contained large colored prints by well-known Russian artists, works of famous Russian authors, as well as articles on science, politics and culture. East View has collected the complete set of Niva and digitized its massive content. Users are able to browse all 49 years, more than 2,500 issues, 26,318 articles in total, as well as search using a special keyboard to accommodate the old Russian orthography.
Ogonek, the most important publication on Soviet culture and everyday life, is now available as an East View Digital Archive collection, in full-image and searchable text.
"Ogonek would serve its mission with certain aplomb and sophistication. Lacking the crudeness and the bombast of the main organs of Communist Party propaganda, Ogonek was able to become one of the most influential shapers and reflectors of the public character of the Soviet culture. Although it did so by imposing structural limitations on accepted and acceptable cultural expressions, it was nevertheless able
to win over even non-believers in the Communist experiment if simply because it became synonymous with cultural good taste. Every self-respecting Soviet intellectual was expected to read Ogonek if he or she was to stay informed about the cultural world in which he or she lived and moved."
A well-known journal of literary criticism, one of the most comprehensive, reliable and authoritative resources featuring biographical information and criticism of Russian and Soviet authors in various genres. [1958-present]
Published since 1958 by the Institute of Russian Literature of the Russian Academy of Science (Pushkinskii Dom), this scholarly journal features numerous research papers, discussion pieces, analytical articles, and critical essays concerning classical and modern writers and poets of Russia.
Seans is a well-known Russian journal dedicated to Film Studies in Russian and Post-Soviet space. It was founded in 1989 by the young Leningrad film critic Lyubov Arkus and supported by the Lenfilm studio director Aleksandr Golutva. [1990 - 2021]
From its earliest issues, Seans set out to chart a more original course, becoming in essence a forum for the discussion of not only the latest trends in the industry but also of film criticism, film studies, and the ever-evolving language of cinema and the visual arts. Each issue of Seans is centered around a particular theme, with content addressing a variety of related artistic, cinematographic, and social concerns.
Seans took a six-year hiatus from 1998-2004 following the death of Sergey Dobrotvorsky, one of the magazine’s key editors.
Sovetskii Ekran (Советский экран, Soviet Screen) was the most prominent film magazine in Soviet history. It was published from 1925-1998.
"Soviet Screen (Russian: Советский Экран) was a magazine in the USSR published irregularly from 1925 to 1998, with a hiatus from 1941 to 1957. It covered national and international cinema news, cinema history, and featured critical articles and creative profiles of actors and film figures. Annually, it conducted reader polls to determine the Best Film, Actor, Actress, Film for Children, and Music Film of the Year. The magazine had several title changes: it was ""Screen Film Gazeta"" from January to March 1925, ""Cinema and Life"" from 1929 to 1930, ""Proletarian Cinema"" from 1931 to 1939, and ""Screen"" from 1991 to 1997. By 1991, it was renamed ""Screen"" and began appearing less frequently, monthly.
Published initially under the aegis of the of Soviet Women’s Anti-Fascist Committee and the Central Council of Trade Unions of the USSR, in the aftermath of the WWII in 1945, the Soviet Woman magazine began as a bimonthly illustrated magazine. [1945-1991]
The magazine was tasked with countering anti-Soviet propaganda. The magazine introduced Western audiences to the lifestyle of Soviet women, their role in the post-WWII rebuilding of the Soviet economy, and praised their achievements in the arts and the sciences. The magazine covered issues dealing with economics, politics, life abroad, life in Soviet republics, women’s fashion, as well as broader issues in culture and the arts. One of its most popular features was the translations of Soviet literary works, making available in English, (and other languages) works of Russian and Soviet writers that were previously unavailable. An important communist propaganda outlet, the magazine continued its run until the collapse of the USSR in 1991.
The comprehensive archive of Znamia (Знамя, Banner), an esteemed Soviet/Russian “thick journal” (tolstyi zhurnal) spans over nine decades and serves as a treasure trove of intellectual and artistic contributions.
Originally launched in January 1931 under the name LOKAF (Локаф), an acronym for the Literary Association of the Red Army and Navy, the journal was officially rebranded as Znamia—which translates to ‘Banner’ in English—in 1933. Throughout its history, Znamia has been a pivotal venue for showcasing the works of preeminent authors such as Anna Akhmatova, Alexander Tvardovsky, Yevgeny Yevtushenko, Konstantin Paustovsky, Yuri Kazakov, and Yuri Trifonov.
