Documents relating to political conditions in the Soviet Union from 1903 to 1992 are available on 11,676 microfilm reels at the Hoover Archives at Stanford. There are three guides to the collection, which are arranged into record groups according to the institution by which they were issued or received. This collection has not been digitized.
The online library currently provides public access to 27,000 important historical documents covering the Russian revolution and early Soviet period.
"The Digital Library of Historical Documents project digitizes these rare paper documentary collections, separates historical documents from the publications, describes and publishes them individually in the public online collection."
The Early Russian and Soviet Cinema books as a group serve as an archive of the social and cultural memory of the Russian Imperial and Soviet Socialist periods. [1897-1948]
This is a collection of primary source documents covering the collapse of the Soviet Union during the late 1980s. The collection contains documents from archives in most of the former Soviet bloc countries.
Contains Soviet documents related to Soviet-Iranian relations, Soviet interests in Iran, and Soviet support for the separatist movement in Iranian Azerbaijan.
Papers of Russian revolutionary and Soviet leader Leon Trotsky from his period of exile in Coyoacán, Mexico. Digital materials are linked from the finding aid.
Papers of Russian revolutionary and Soviet leader Leon Trotsky including correspondence from his years in the Soviet Union and writings. Held at Harvard University.
Documents containing the thoughts and opinions of Soviet leader Nikita Khrushchev. The earliest document is from 1955 and the latest is from 1968. Most are from Russian archives, along with a few Bulgarian and Romanian documents.
Documents that discuss the aftermath of Stalin’s death in 1953. Comprised of letters and speech transcripts, these documents mostly come from Russian archives and span 1944 to 1962.
This collection represents works of all Russian literary avant-garde schools. It comprises almost 800 books, periodicals and almanacs most of them published between 1910-1940. NOTE: Issues with Chrome have been reported with this resource. Users are encouraged to use other browsers.
The Russian literary avant-garde was both a cradle for many new literary styles and the birthplace of a new physical appearance for printed materials. The strength of this collection is in its sheer range. It contains many rare and intriguingly obscure books, as well as well-known and critically acclaimed texts, almanacs, periodicals, literary manifests. Represented in it are more than 30 literary groups without which the history of twentieth-century Russian literature would have been very different.
Documents that discuss the Soviet-Chinese relationship during the Cold War. Composed largely of cables, memos, and telegrams, this collection spans the 1930s through 1959, or the period prior to the split.
Documents that discuss the Soviet-Chinese relationship during the Cold War. Composed largely of cables, memos, and telegrams, this collection spans the 1930s through 1959, or the period prior to the split.
A collection of 280 key early 20th century Russian and Soviet era anti-religious propaganda books. This collection is part of larger e-books platform of the East View digital library. [1906-1961]
Documents related to the Soviet development of nuclear weapons. These letters and memorandums come from the 1940s up to the 1980s, and are from varied archival sources.
Documents and images from the Stalin archive. [1889 - 1952]
Digitized documents and images from the recently declassified Stalin archive in the holdings of Russian State Archive of Social and Political History (RGASPI). Contains documents which cover Stalin's personal biography, his work in government and his conduct of foreign affairs. Also includes 300 books from Stalin's personal library with marginal notes as well as his correspondence and documents. Also includes volumes from Yale University Press's Annals of Communism series.
Picks up where USSR Documents Annual left off. Volume 1 of years 1992-2002 include English translations from major publications. The second volume, dealing with the Central Eurasian states, includes translations of Russian-language sources and FBIS reports.
This collection consists of intelligence estimates, reports, and analyses of the Soviet Union by U.S. agencies like the CIA and DIA. Topics include arms races, economic capabilities, and military strategies. The records provide insights into key events such as the Cuban Missile Crisis, détente, and the eventual dissolution of the USSR.
Includes reports and despatches sent to the Foreign Office from British diplomatic representatives based in Russia, as well as reports and memoranda eminating in the Foreign Office, the War office, and from the British Army General Headquarters in Constantinople.
Features U.S.-Soviet summit transcripts, presidential correspondence, and intelligence reports documenting the final years of the Cold War. Topics include arms control, German reunification, and Soviet domestic reforms under Gorbachev. The collection highlights key moments like the fall of the Berlin Wall and the 1991 attempted coup in Moscow.
Includes English translations of newspaper articles, laws, presidential and other government decrees as well as transcripts from important television newscasts,
