It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
You can still access the UC Berkeley Library’s services and resources during the closure. Here’s how.
High-value analytical reports intended to guide policymaking in the People's Republic of China (known as "Pishu" which literally means "cover-books").
Published by the prestigious Social Sciences Academic Press, a branch of the Chinese Academy of Social Sciences, these reports feature exclusive research and analysis by the Chinese Academy of Social Sciences and authors from similar institutions, and present objective analysis versus official government messaging on strategic issues. In China, Pishu are consumed by think tanks and top policymakers. Covered topics include a variety of issues of importance to China's government and research community, including international relations, agricultural policy, and industry competitiveness. They may be considered somewhat analagous to United States Congressional Research Service reports and analysis reports published by the RAND Corporation. (Pishu)
Approximately 700,000 books in full-text covering a variety of subject areas.
A large proportion of the holdings are books published since 1949 and a few are from earlier years. This rich and scholarly content emphasizes social sciences and humanities although it covers all the academic disciplines.
More than 25,900 volumes of Chinese gazetteer books, covering 31 provinces and autonomous regions, and providing historical records of provinces, prefectures, cities, and smaller district administration units. [1949 - ]
The collection covers historical as well as contemporary facts related to the geographical areas, economy, public finance, governance, public security, urban and rural development, agriculture, industry, transportation, business, natural science, social science, education, culture and sports, public health, etc.
E-books related to Chinese studies can be found by keyword searching.
A database of more than 77,000 complete e-books covering 16 key subject areas including: business and economics, computers and IT, literature and linguistics, history, political science, and more. (These e-books are also listed in OskiCat and Melvyl.)
A platform dedicated to searching Chinese academic materials in book, journal article, conference paper and dissertation formats. Full-text materials can be obtained through a online document delivery service.
Searches over three millions of academic books, journal articles, conference proceedings, newspapers and videos in Chinese. It provides bibliographic information for all materials contained and online document delivery service for full-text book chapters and journal articles. In Chinese.