It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Moffitt Library is opening Aug. 22. Other libraries will have updated services and hours. Learn more.
Central Daily News was first published in Shanghai in February 1928. Its headquarters moved to Taiwan in 1949. Central Daily News has been the official news media for the KMT (Kuomintang) government for years.
This newspaper provides informative reports on politics, economy, military, culture, foreign relations and the society. Its reports also captured the changes of society, tracked the interactions between China and foreign countries and the development leading up to World War II and the China Civil War. The print version of Central Daily News ceased in 2006; it is available only online since then. This online database covers page image access to this title from 1928 to 2006.
The China Press was an English newspaper founded in Shanghai on August 29, 1911, one of the major newspapers in Shanghai in that time period. Its rich content serves as an important research resource for Chinese studies. [1911-1949]
This newspaper was established by an American Thomas F.Millard, most editors and staff were American journalists. It covers political news (including the Revolution of 1911), world and local news, education and women issues, novels, entertainment news and advertisements.
The Eastern Times was founded in Shanghai on June 12, 1904. It was ranked among the top three newspapers with Sin Wan Pao and Shen Pao. [1904-1939]
The newspaper was established by Di Chuqing, and Huang Bohui took over in 1921. It hired famous newspapermen like Luo Xiaogao, Chen Jinghan, Bao Tianxiao as editors. It carried national and local news, commentaries, sport news, novels and entertainment news.
The first half of the twentieth century began with the demise of China’s last imperial dynasty, the Great Qing, and ended with the foundation of the People’s Republic of China in October 1949. [1912-1949]
"Republican “Minguo” China (1912-1949) was an era contrasted by industrialization and modernization but also civil unrest and outright war between Nationalists and Communists. The Late Qing and Republican-Era Chinese Newspapers collection provides invaluable perspective on this critical period. The collection provides researchers a richly comprehensive perspective on Chinese life, culture, and politics throughout the collapse of the Qing Dynasty, the years of provisional government and civil war, and the birth of the People’s Republic.
Open Access to this collection is made possible through the generous support of the Center for Research Libraries and its member institutions."
This modern newspaper package includes 100 newspapers published between 1911-1949 in Beijing and other major cities in China.
This archival collection was based on the holdings from the National Library of China, adding titles from other provincial and city libraries. In addition to major national newspapers such as Revolution Daily and New China Daily, the database also contains major local newspapers including North China Daily, Hankou People’s Daily, Western Capital Daily and Xinjiang Daily.
The database has a comprehensive coverage of the English and Chinese newspapers of The North-China Herald《北华捷报》, The North-China Daily News《字林西报》, The Chinese Shipping List & Advertiser《上海新报》, Hu Bao《沪报》, Han Bao《汉报》, Xiao Xian Bao《消闲报》, and The North-China Desk Hong List《字林西报行名录》published by the company. As an important part of the historical archives, the database not only vividly revealed the history, but also enriches the digital newspaper resources, providing valuable materials for the study of modern China.
The Old Hong Kong Newspapers Collection is a selective collection of major old Hong Kong Newspapers published from early Hong Kong to nowadays, aiming at preserving historical news reporting of Hong Kong for reference and research.
Gain insight into Chinese political and social life during the turbulent 120 year period from 1832 to 1953 with 12 English-language Chinese historical newspapers.
Included are critical perspectives on the ending of more than 2,000 years of imperial rule in China, the Taiping Rebellion, the Opium Wars with Great Britain, the Boxer Rebellion and the events leading up to the 1911 Xinhai Revolution, and the subsequent founding of the Republic of China. In addition to the article content, the full-image newspapers offer searchable access to advertisements, editorials, cartoons, and classified ads that illuminate history.
Tabloids recorded what broadsheet newspapers missed, and spoke what cannot be expressed by broadsheet newspapers. This resource would be a great complement of regular news resources published in the same time period. It would also provide much needed primary sources to academic programs in the area of history/art history, sociology, cultural/popular cultural studies, journalism studies and film studies.
A newspaper database of the United Daily News Group, the largest news group in Taiwan. Provides current, full-text articles for seven Chinese newspapers in Taiwan.
Provides current, full-text articles for seven Chinese newspapers in Taiwan (Lian He Bao, Jing Ji Ri Bao, Min Sheng Bao, Lian He Wan Bao, Xing Bao) Europe (Ouzhou Ri Bao) and North America (Meizhou Shi Jie Ri Bao). In Chinese.
Hundreds of newspapers from mainland China, Hong Kong, Taiwan and other Asian countries. In Chinese and English. [1998-present]. This resource is limited to 5 simultaneous users. If it does not work, please try again later.
The Republican Daily News was founded in Shanghai on January 22nd,1916 in Shanghai. As the main way for the Chinese Revolutionary Party to publicize its revolutionary ideas, the newspaper gained nationwide popularity. It had great influence in China's modern political history.
The Shanghai Courier was founded in 1986. After merging and changing names a few times, it changed its name back to The Shanghai Courier in 1878 and until 1889 when it merged with The Shanghai Mercury.
The Shanghai Evening Post was founded in Shanghai in April 1929, as the earliest evening newspaper publication established by American businessmen in the region. In August 1930, it was merged with The Shanghai Mercury and renamed The Shanghai Evening Post & Mercury. A Chinese version was added in 1933.
In March 1901, a Shanghai resident from the US, Frank B. Boll, founded The Shanghai Times. Since then, the newspaper's shareholders and patrons had changed several times, with its political stance swaying accordingly.
Founded in 1893 on Shanghai's famous "newspaper street" - Wang Ping Street, Sin Wan Pao since then quickly grew into a major newspaper comparable to Shen Pao for its outstanding characteristics in management strategy and content editing. Sin Wan Pao is issued for more than half a century with diverse content and distinguishing features.
Ta Kung Pao is one of the most important non-government newspapers in China's modern history. The name “Ta Kung” means “forgetting oneself for the big, giving up own interests for justice” . With "no party affiliation, no political endorsement, no self-promotion, no ignorance" as its motto, the newspaper's popularity quickly rose. With the establishment of Shanghai, Hankou, Hong Kong, Chongqing and Guilin editions, the newspaper enjoyed nationwide influence.
Taiwan Nichinichi Shinpō (臺灣日日新報) was an official newspaper of the Taiwanese government under Japanese colonial rule. The newspaper chronicled events in legislation, social hierarchy, and politics. [1898-1944]
Taiwan Nichinichi Shinpō newspaper was the longest running and most widely circulated newspaper during the period of Japanese colonialism in Taiwan. From 1898 to 1944, it covered Taiwan’s domestic affairs, international relations, the integration of agriculture and the economy, and arts and literature. In 1901, the newspaper started adding two Chinese-language pages to the original Japanese-language publication. In 1905, it launched a separate and fully Chinese-language edition but it ceased in 1911. In 1937, all Chinese-language content was discontinued from the publication.
The database contains articles related to musical sound, including performing arts, mass media, and traditional activities, from Taiwan Nichinichi Shinpō (臺灣日日新報) newspaper from 1898 to 1944.
Taiwan Nichinichi Shinpō (臺灣日日新報) was the longest-standing and largest newspaper in colonial Taiwan, which was published between 1898 and 1944. The database compiled by the Graduate Institute of Musicology at National Taiwan University contains any articles that involve musical sound, including performing arts (e. g., dance, opera, drama), mass media (e. g., records, radio broadcasts, films), traditional activities (e. g., ceremonies, rituals, temple festivals, parades), etc. to support research on the daily musical life and sound culture in Taiwan and beyond.