Contains complete texts of 68 printed volumes, from the two January volumes published in 1643 and the Propylaeum of December published in 1940.
Contains complete texts of 68 printed volumes, from the two January volumes published in 1643 and the Propylaeum of December published in 1940. Includes the Bibliotheca Hagiographica Latina (BHL) reference numbers widely used by scholars to identify hagiographical texts. Records details of life in early and medieval Europe, relying heavily on hagiographical literature, specifically on the texts published by the Societe des Bollandistes.
Index of thousands of publications covering all aspects of Greco-Roman antiquity, including literature, language, history and archaeology. [1949 - 2004]
Indexes over 2000 books, journals, dissertations, conference papers, and collections covering all aspects of greco-roman antiquity including literature, language, history, and archaeology. Corresponds to volumes 20 (1949) to 75 (2004), covering the journal and monographic literature of Classics: over 375,000 bibliographic records, plus brief abstracts. (annee philologique)
Provides a revised edition of the Greek texts of Felix Jacoby's Die Fragmente der Griechischen Historiker. Includes Greek texts (often in newer editions) and English translations of and commentary on the fragmentary Greek historians edited by Jacoby.
Including Die Fragmente der griechischen Historiker. Includes Greek texts (often in newer editions) and English translations of and commentary on the fragmentary Greek historians edited by Jacoby.
Note: Greek text displays properly most easily using the Mozilla Firefox browser.
Scholarly online encyclopedia of the ancient world from the prehistory of the Aegean (2nd millennium BCE) to late antiquity (600-800 CE). In English and German. (New Pauly Online - Encyclopedia of the Ancient World - Der neue Pauly)
Over 27,000 articles which provide comprehensive coverage of the ancient world from the prehistory of the Aegean (2nd millennium BCE) to late antiquity (600-800 CE). The New Pauly Online combines English versions of 1) the Realencyclopadie der classischen Altertumswissenschaft, published in German in 68 volumes and 15 supplementary volumes between 1839 and 1980; 2) the abridged version of the Pauly, Der kleine Pauly, published in five volumes between 1964 and 1975; 3) Der neue Pauly, which was published in German in 15 volumes between 1996 and 2003.
Full text, and downloadable, open access online editions of out-of-print titles within the following series as well as other resources: CMG, CML, Suppl. and Suppl. Or.
Multiple bibliographic databases on the ancient world with archaeological, art historical, and historical orientations, which are searchable through a heavily structured interface. Features an expanded version of the subject catalog of the library of the German Archaeological Institute in Rome, one of the world's largest and oldest collections of books, journals, and research material on Classical, Egyptian, and Near Eastern archaeology, Byzantine art, epigraphy, numismatics and ancient history. This database, covering the bibliography produced from 1956 to the present, contains ca. 863.000 citations, ca. 99.000 authors, and ca. 3.388.000 subject headings.
Indexes over 4500 periodicals and 5000 conference proceedings, essay collections, Festschriften, edited volumes, conference proceedings, and exhibition catalogs covering all aspects of the Middleaages (400-1500 A.D.). Complements and can be searched simultaneously with the Bibliography of Medieval Civilization (BCM) for books. (Brepols) [1967 - present]
Produced by Brepols, the two databases which constitute the Library of Latin Texts (LLT) may be searched independently or together through a cross-database search tool. LLT-A offers texts from the beginning of Latin literature to the present, and contains 83 million Latin words from more than 4,124 works. LLT-B serves as a supplement to LLT-A, and contains 49.3 million Latin words from some 1,116 works together with 5,804 diplomatic charters.
The only existing series of books which, through original text and English translation, gives access to all that is important in Greek and Latin literature.
Epic and lyric poetry; tragedy and comedy; history, travel, philosophy, and oratory; the great medical writers and mathematicians; those Church fathers who made particular use of pagan culture -- in short, our entire classical heritage is represented here in convenient and well-printed pocket volumes in which an up-to-date text and accurate and literate English translation face each other page by page. The editors provide substantive introductions as well as essential critical and explanatory notes and selective bibliographies.
Encyclopedia-like coverage of some of the most important topics from the classical world; consists of short articles accompanied by extensive annotated bibliographies.
Consisting of scanned images of the 161 volumes of J.-P. Migne's Patrologiae cursus completus--Series graeca (1857-1866). (Patrologia Graecae)
Consisting of scanned images of the 161 volumes of J.-P. Migne's Patrologiae cursus completus--Series graeca (1857-1866). Included are texts from the age of the Apostolic Fathers, beginning with Clement of Rome (Pope from 88-97), up to 1439, the date of the Council of Florence.
Electronic version of the 221 volumes of the first edition of Jacque-Paul Migne's Patrologia Latina (1844-1855 and 1862-1865). Patrologia Latina comprises the works of the Church Fathers from Tertullian in 200 AD to the death of Pope Innocent III in 1216. [AD 200 - AD 1216]
Electronic version of the 221 volumes of the first edition of Jacque-Paul Migne's Patrologia Latina (1844-1855 and 1862-1865). Patrologia Latina comprises the works of the Church Fathers from Tertullian in 200 AD to the death of Pope Innocent III in 1216.
Major subjects covered include: aesthetics, metaphysics, epistemology, logic, philosophy of language, philosophy of mind, political and social philosophy, and the philosophy of disciplines such as anthropology, education, history and science. (Philosophers Index) [1940 - present]
Includes references to journal articles, books, book chapters, and book reviews published in some 550 journals.
Essential resource for ancient Greek inscriptions and their bibliography. The Supplementum Epigraphicum Graecum systematically collects newly published Greek inscriptions as well as publications on previously known documents. It presents complete Greek texts of all new inscriptions with a critical apparatus; it summarizes new readings, interpretations, and studies of known inscriptions, and occasionally presents the Greek text of these documents.
Print edition: Art History/Classics Library Room 308D: CN360 .S8
TLL Online is a comprehensive, ongoing scholarly dictionary of ancient Latin from the earliest times through AD 600. TLL currently contains all lexicon articles published up to 2008 (letters A-M, O, P-pomifer, porta-pulso), the articles in the Onomasticon volumes (letters C and D), the Index librorum, and the Praemonenda de rationibus et usu operis (a multilingual introduction to the printed version of the Thesaurus). Identical to the printed version, new fascicles will be added yearly. (Bibliotheca Teubneriana Latina (BTL)
TLL Online is a comprehensive, ongoing scholarly dictionary of ancient Latin from the earliest times through AD 600. TLL currently contains all lexicon articles published up to 2008 (letters A-M, O, P-pomifer, porta-pulso), the articles in the Onomasticon volumes (letters C and D), the Index librorum, and the Praemonenda de rationibus et usu operis (a multilingual introduction to the printed version of the Thesaurus). Identical to the printed version, new fascicles will be added yearly.
Contains digitized versions of most literary texts written in Greek from Homer to the fall of Byzantium in AD 1453.
Free individual account required for access. Off-campus users must disconnect from campus VPN before navigating to resource.
Contains digitized versions of most literary texts written in Greek from Homer to the fall of Byzantium in AD 1453.
Freely accessible catalog of the worldwide libraries of the German Archaeological Institute. Contains most (but not all) material, including records for books and many book chapters and journal articles, available in the DYABOLA database, and while lacking the extremely powerful search structure of DYABOLA, ZENON's search interface is highly user intuitive.
For Library help in Classics
Jeremy Ott Classics and Germanic Studies Librarian
jott@berkeley.edu
