Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

You can still access the UC Berkeley Library’s services and resources during the closure. Here’s how.

Classics Resources: Image Databases

Image Databases

Artstor - UC access only
Artstor is a comprehensive image database containing approximately 1,000,000 images documenting artistic traditions across many times and cultures and embraces architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design as well as many other forms of visual culture.

Census of Antique Works of Art and Architecture Known in the Renaissance - UCB Access Only
Database of ancient works of art known during the Renaissance. Web access is automatic if you click on "Dyabola Databases" from UCB Library computers. Check the box labeled "IP-Zugang", then click on "Start", then choose Census database. User Guide

Classical Art Research Centre & The Beazley Archive
The Beazley Archive is the largest single collection of images from Greek vases, gems, art, sculpture, photographs, glass slides, antiquaria and inscriptions. A good place to find images from both classical myths and everyday life, with full scholarly apparatus. Includes dictionary with images.

Corpus Vasorum Antiquorum : CVAOnline
A searchable collection of more than 100,000 digital images of decorated Greek pottery, drawn from the illustrations of the out-of-print fascicles of the Corpus Vasorum Antiquorum. 

Getty Research Institute Photo Archive
Approximately two million photographs that document works of art and architecture.

LIMC Digital Resources
LIMC-icon database contains iconographical documents catalogued and analysed by LIMC.

Roman Republican Coins in the British Museum
A catalogue of the Roman Republican coins in the British Museum, with descriptions and chronology based on M.H. Crawford, Roman Republican Coinage (1974). Brings together over 12,000 coins.