Dictionaries (Medieval Reference)
Database of Latin Dictionaries - UCB access only
Easy to use search tool of several important medieval Latin dictionaries (Du Cange; Blaise, Dictionnaire latin-français des auteurs chrétiens; Dictionnaire latin-français des auteurs du Moyen-Âge; Forcellini). The search also covers Lewis and Short, a classical Latin dictionary that includes Late Latin and especially Christian Latin.
Mediae Latinitatis Lexicon Minus - UCB access only
Please note: Access via Acta Sanctorum--Click on Search, then click on Lexicon.
Jan Frederik Niermeyer's Mediae Latinitatis Lexicon Minus (also see PA2890.N54 2002 Art History/Classics) is a compendious lexicon relating to medieval history. The data is based on the 1984 edition and includes Niermeyer's original Medieval Latin Dictionary and Index Fontium plus the completing entries by Co van de Kieft through 1976. Note: Searching or browsing will only retrieve hits which correspond exactly to the search term; therefore, use a wildcard (*) to search for wordstems or use the browse list. Following the original edition, the vowels "i" and "u" have been distinguished from the consonants "i' and "u", the latter being represented as "j" and "v".
Orbis Latinus
A dictionary of Latin place names compiled by J. G. Graesse (1909). For a fuller update, see: Orbis Latinus; Lexikon lateinischer geographischer Namen des Mittelalters und der Neuzeit (G107.G8 1972 Doe Reference).
Full Text Databases (Medieval Reference)
Acta Sanctorum - UCB access only
Electronic version of the complete printed text of Acta Sanctorum (BX4655.A2 1863 MAIN) published by the Société des Bollandistes. The collection of documents examines the lives of saints, organised according to each saint's feast day, from the two January volumes published in 1643 to the Propylaeum to December published in 1940. The database contains the entire Acta Sanctorum, including all prefatory material, original texts, critical apparatus and indices. Bibliotheca Hagiographica Latina reference numbers are included. Note: A cross-searchable engine allows simultaneous searching in both Acta Sanctorum and Patrologia Latina databases. Also included is Brill's edition of Jan Frederik Niermeyer's Mediae Latinitatis Lexicon Minus (PA2890.N54 2002 Art History/Classics).
Bibliotheca Augustana
An important online collection of a great number of post-Classical Latin texts from Late Antiquity to the Renaissance (e.g. Itinerarium Egeriae, Carmina Burana, De tribus impostoribus); most texts are based on scholarly editions; all used editions are specified. To use, click on Biblioteca Latina, then on Index Chronologicus or Index Alphabeticus.
Library of Latin Texts (LLT - A) - UCB access only
This compilation includes a broad range of patristic and later Latin authors drawn from such collections as the Corpus christianorum, the Corpus scriptorum ecclesiasticorum, the Monumenta Germaniae Historica, and virtually all the editions found in the Bibliotheca Teubneriana Latina. See also the compilation of texts within LLT - B, and the cross database search tool.
Monumenta Germaniae Historica - UCB access only
Collection of original texts and commentaries dealing with German history from the earliest written sources through the 15th century. Currently, the online version is an interim one which allows consultation of digitized pages from the print edition, and which is intended to bridge the gap until the full-text version is ready to use.
Patrologia Graecae
Electronic version of the 221 volumes of the first edition of Jacque-Paul Migne's Patrologia Latina (1844-1855 and 1862-1865). Patrologia Latina comprises the works of the Church Fathers from Tertullian in 200 AD to the death of Pope Innocent III in 1216. Search by author, work, and all words occurring in the texts, including boolean, proximity and truncated searching; browse through indexed terms. For many of the works in Migne, more modern editions are electronically available in the Library of Latins Texts.
Patrologia Latina - UCB access only
Electronic version of the 221 volumes of the first edition of Jacque-Paul Migne's Patrologia Latina (1844-1855 and 1862-1865). Patrologia Latina comprises the works of the Church Fathers from Tertullian in 200 AD to the death of Pope Innocent III in 1216. Search by author, work, and all words occurring in the texts, including boolean, proximity and truncated searching; browse through indexed terms. For many of the works in Migne, more modern editions are electronically available in the Library of Latins Texts.
Ut per litteras apostolicas / Papal Letters - UCB access only
Electronic version of the Registres et lettres des Papes du XIIIème siècle (32 vols.: Rome, 1883-) and the Registres et lettres des Papes du XIVe siècle (48 vols.: Rome, 1899-). Covers the most varied aspects of medieval society: church institutions; clergy; papal states; politics; the legal system; taxation; government and finance; secular society; religious life; intellectual and artistic life; the economy; wars; law and order; the environment and natural disasters; and, daily life.
Resources for the Study of Manuscripts (Medieval Reference)
Abbreviationes
Standard reference work for deciphering and transcribing medieval Latin manuscripts. Consists of a database (Main Dictionary) and a database application (Abbreviationes). The database currently comprises over 70,000 entries, nearly five times as many as in the printed dictionaries by Walther, Chassant, De la Braa, Cappelli, and Pelzer combined.
Digital Scriptorum
Image database of medieval and renaissance manuscripts that unites scattered resources from many institutions into an international tool for teaching and scholarly research. It bridges the gap between a diverse user community and the limited resources of libraries by means of sample imaging and extensive rather than intensive cataloging.
In Principio - UCB access only
Research tool for scholars interested in the writers, texts and manuscripts of Antiquity, the Middle Ages and the Renaissance. Includes approximately one million incipits.
ITER: Gateway to the Renaissance - UCB access only
Indexes over 300 journal titles to create a bibliography of articles, essays, books and reviews related to the Middle Ages and the Renaissance (400-1700). Includes a number of databases useful to the fields of classical, medieval, and Renaissance studies such as Iter Italicum, a catalog of Renaissance humanistic manuscripts found in libraries and collections around the world, International Directory of Scholars, International Directory of Renaissance and Reformation Associations and Institutes, and Scholars of Early Modern Studies (volume 34).
Manuscripta Mediaevalia
A full text search of all major manuscript catalogues from German libraries (Munich, Berlin, etc.). Hits lead to the scanned pages of the catalogues, which can also be browsed or read online.
Vetus Latina Database (VLD) - UCB access only
The Vetus Latina Dabase is an electronic index to all Greek and Latin patristic citations or allusions to the pre-Vulgate editions of the Bible, collected by the Vetus Latina Institut in Beuron, Germany.
Other Resources (encyclopedias, bibliographies, etc.) (Medieval Reference)
Analecta Hymnica Medii Aevi, 500 - 1400 - UCB access only
Contains texts of hymns of the Catholic Church, 500 - 1400. This complete digital edition allows for searching the full text of the hymns, including the bibliographic references to manuscripts and prints. The user may also search by author and title, and browse by volume.
Bibliographie de Civilisation Médiévale - UCB access only
Comprehensive, current bibliography of monographs worldwide and listings of miscellany volumes (conference proceedings, essay collections or Festschriften). Comprises 50,000 titles from 1958 to the present; i.e. the whole of the relevant elements from the bibliography of the Cahiers de civilisation médiévale. Fully classified by date, subject and location, and provides full bibliographical records. Covers all aspects of history, language and literature, philosophy, theology, art history, archaeology in the Western, Byzantine and Islamic worlds.
International Encyclopedia for the Middle Ages - UCB access only
New supplement to the Lexikon des Mittelalters (LexMA), produced under the joint auspices of the UCLA Center for Medieval and Renaissance Studies and Brepols Publishers. The chronological range of IEMA is 300-1500 CE, covering all of Europe, North Africa, and the Middle East. IEMA compliments and fills in gaps in the coverage of the present Lexikon des Mittelalters (LexMA).
International Medieval Bibliography - UCB access only
Comprehensive, current bibliography of 300,000+ articles in journals and miscellany volumes (conference proceedings, essay collections or Festschriften) worldwide relating to the medieval world (classics, art, archaeology, history, theology, Islamic studies, music, etc.). Coverage is from 1967.. Fully classified by date, subject and location, and provide full bibliographical records for work published throughout Europe, the Americas and the Asia-Pacific region.
Lexikon des Mittelalters Online / Brepolis Medieval Encyclopaedias - UCB access only
Based upon the most important encyclopaedia in the world for medievalists (published in German between 1977 and 1999), LexMA’s 36,700 signed articles written by 3,000 authors covers all aspects of medieval studies within the period 300 to 1500. Its geographical scope covers the whole of Europe, part of the Middle East, and parts of North Africa to document the roots of Western culture and those of its neighbours in the Byzantine, Arab and Jewish worlds.