Full-text access to over 1000 scholarly journals, including more than 2 million articles, from a wide range of disciplines. Current issues from journals (the most recent 3-5 years) are generally not available in JSTOR. [dates vary].
A comprehensive database covering journals, magazines, newspapers, broadcasts, books and more on all aspects of Africa including politics, history, economics, literature, music and natural sciences. (Africa-Wide NiPAD) [19th century - present]
Includes: Nordic Africa Institute Online Catalogue (NOAK); IBISCUS (1970 to 2001); School of Oriental & African Studies (SOAS) Library Catalogue: Africa; Afro-Tropical Bird Information Retrieval Database; The Campbell Collections of the University of Natal, Killie Campbell Africana Library Bibliography; International Library of African Music (ILAM); African Development Database; African Journals OnLine (AJOL); South African Databases; Witwatersrand University Management Research Reports; and more.
Full-text articles published in Africa from over 200 journals in the Sciences, Social Sciences, and Humanities.
A retrospective digitization project of full-text journal articles published in Africa. Includes journals covering the Sciences, Social Sciences, and Humanities, providing access to a multi-disciplinary, multi-country digital archive of Africa's research and cultural heritage contained in its journal literature. Journal articles hosted on the Archive extend back to the first issue (if available) and end with the last pre-current issue (determined by the publisher). The site includes over 700 issues of journal archives of academic, scholarly, institutional, museums, and professional research organizations in Africa. Selected articles are freely available; not all content is open access.
African Journals Online is the world's largest online library of peer-reviewed, African published scholarly journals, 243 of which are open access. Please note: UC Berkeley does not have a subscription to the content behind a paywall. To view a list limited directly to AJOL's Open Access journals, click here.
Several hundred digitized scholarly journals and books in the humanities and social sciences. [1993 - present]
Topics include literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics and many others. Books are available in PDF format, searchable and retrievable to the chapter level, with no restrictions on downloading or printing.
Indexes books, journals, and dissertations within the field of political science and related to comparative politics, developing nations, history and theory of political science, political psychology, political economy, public administration, and public policy. [1975 - present]
Indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. [1906 - present]
Over 3,000 journals are monitored for inclusion in the database, together with conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works and book reviews. Journals and books are indexed down to the article and chapter level.
Comprehensive collection of French-language journals in the humanities and social sciences, includes coverage of African Studies.
Offers the most comprehensive collection of French-language journals in the humanities and social sciences available online. UC Berkeley subscribes to the complete package or "Bouquet General" which includes the full text of more than 500 peer-reviewed academic journals. It also provides citations and links to the open-access back issues to many scholarly journals available through OpenEdition Journals. For back issues not available through Cairn, search Persee.fr. UCB has also purchased access to a selection of ebooks through Cairn, available in the library catalog.
Cross-searchable gateway to Black Studies including scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, reference books, and more.
Includes three modules: The Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience which includes interdisciplinary essays on the Black Experience; International Index to Black Periodicals (IIBP), a database covering some 150 scholarly and popular Black Studies journals, many of them in full text; and the full text backfile of the influential black newspaper The Chicago Defender (1910-1975).
An online portal serving the research, teaching and practical needs of anthropologists. Citations for articles published in American Anthropological Association journals. [1880 - present]
An electronic portal to the 32 journals of the American Anthropological Association (AAA), including American Anthropologist, American Ethnologist, Archeological Publications of the American Anthropological Association, Cultural Anthropology, Ethos, Journal of Linguistic Anthropology, Medical Anthropology Quarterly, PoLAR: Political and Legal Anthropology Review, and more. Users' access to this resource will be blocked after extended login periods. To avoid blocked access, logout periodically and then log back in.
Indexes mostly primary source material on cultures or societies representing all major areas of the world. Includes many rare sources as well as English translations of foreign texts. HRAF (Human Relations Area Files.) (HRAF Collection of Ethnography - Human Relations Area Files)
Search and preview millions of books and journals digitized from library collections such as UC Berkeley. Titles out of copyright are available in full.
Searches the full text of books and many journal runs on many subjects, including some from the University of California libraries. The full text of a book can be displayed only if the book is out of copyright (generally, published before 1923).
Digital repository of books from a variety of sources, some open, some are search only.
Pronounced "hah-tee", this cooperative system contains millions of books scanned from UC and other major research libraries, including those digitized by Google and the Internet Archive. Search on information about the book (such as author or title), or words in the text. Full text is available for items that are not protected by copyright. Anyone can view public domain materials but to download a .pdf to a laptop or flash-drive, users need a login/password which is their CalnetID/password. Items in the HathiTrust catalog can be grouped into collections and shared online. For details, see the FAQ page.
Full text of thousands of dissertations and theses.
Indexes graduate dissertations from over 1,000 North American, and selected European, graduate schools and universities. Dissertations published since 1980, and master's theses since 1988, include brief abstracts written by the authors. Offers full text of most of the dissertations added since 1997 . It is possible to search a subset of dissertations produced by UC students by going to Dissertations and Theses @ University of California (available in full text).
E-books from hundreds of publishers, many are listed in OskiCat and Melvyl.
A database of more than 77,000 complete e-books covering 16 key subject areas including: business and economics, computers and IT, literature and linguistics, history, political science, and more. These ebooks are also listed in the library catalog.
University of CA Press e-books on a range of topics, 1984-2004.
1400 online titles from the University of California Press covering a wide range of subjects. About 30% of the UC Press books, both in print and out-of-print are represented in this collection. Click on By Subject, for a title list by subject. Note that titles are viewable online but cannot be downloaded.