It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Moffitt Library is opening Aug. 22. Other libraries will have updated services and hours. Learn more.
E-book and e-journal collections, full-text online databases, and other digitized or born digital corpa relevant to Italian Studies are listed on this page. The Library's new discovery tool - UC Library Search - can also aid in locating other digital content.
The Library offers over hundreds of e-book and text collections in specific subject areas. Most of these e-books are also available through UC Library Search. You can limit your search to "Available online."
Provides full-text and full-page-image access to titles in most humanities disciplines and in area studies. The books included have been recommended by scholars as significant contributions to their respective fields. Offered by the American Council of Learned Societies (ACLS) in collaboration with ten learned societies and nearly 80 contributing publishers.
A database of more than 77,000 complete e-books covering 16 key subject areas including: business and economics, computers and IT, literature and linguistics, history, political science, and more. These ebooks are also listed in the library catalog.
A cross-searchable library containing the full text of over 750 books and at least 200 new and recently-published books are added each year. [Please note: There are several other modules to this resource; the Library subscribes only to modules listed above.]
Topics include literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics and many others. Books are available in PDF format, searchable and retrievable to the chapter level, with no restrictions on downloading or printing.
Searches the full text of books and many journal runs on many subjects, including some from the University of California libraries. The full text of a book can be displayed only if the book is out of copyright (generally, published before 1923).
Pronounced "hah-tee", this cooperative system contains millions of books scanned from UC and other major research libraries, including those digitized by Google and the Internet Archive. Search on information about the book (such as author or title), or words in the text. Full text is available for items that are not protected by copyright. Anyone can view public domain materials but to download a .pdf to a laptop or flash-drive, users need a login/password which is their CalnetID/password. Items in the HathiTrust catalog can be grouped into collections and shared online. For details, see the FAQ page.
Searches and displays the full text of books and other texts on many subjects. This archive was created in part by the Open Content Alliance, which includes the University of California. All materials are in the public domain. Close to 10,000 volumes from UC Berkeley's Bancroft Library book and serials collection is available through the Internet Archive: The Bancroft Library portal.
1400 online titles from the University of California Press covering a wide range of subjects. About 30% of the UC Press books, both in print and out-of-print are represented in this collection. Click on By Subject, for a title list by subject. Note that titles are viewable online but cannot be downloaded.
Italian Electronic Text Collections
The resources listed below are freely available online or via library subscription.
A growing image database of medieval and renaissance manuscripts that unites scattered resources from many institutions into an international tool for teaching and scholarly research. Among the participating institutions to this project are the Bancroft Library, the Robbins Collection, and the Hargrove Music Library at UC Berkeley, Columbia University, and the New York Public Library.
Contents are drawn from rare book collections from the Danish Royal Library, the National Central Library in Florence, the National Library of France, the National Library of the Netherlands, the Wellcome Library in London, and others. Search by country of publication, language, page features (illustration, musical notation), and source library, and you can include historical and linguistic variants in your search. Books can be browsed in an online Flash-based viewer or downloaded as JPEGs or PDFs. The scans are of the entire physical object and pages, including marginalia and binding.
Correspondence between 18th century thinkers, writers and their friends and families.
Searchable and browseable database offering extensive access to the web of correspondence between the greatest thinkers and writers of the long eighteenth century and their families and friends, bankers and booksellers, patrons and publishers. Coverage includes letters and documents, document sources such as manuscripts and early printed editions, scholarly annotations, and links to biographies, dictionaries, encyclopedias, newspapers, and other online resources.
Contains more than 32,000 entries and is a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750. It covers the history of European exploration as well as portrayals of Native American peoples. A wide range of subject areas are covered; from natural disasters to disease outbreaks and slavery.
Collection of more than 50 Italian scholarly journals primarily covering literature, literary criticism, philology, and linguistics. [start dates vary by title; most begin in 2000]. Some titles are accessible through the publisher's platform, LibraWeb. See also Editoria Italiana Online (EIO).
Collection of primary texts from the Italian Reformation digitized from the Biblioteca Nazionale Centrale di Firenze. Selection of more than 100 rare works offers a synopsis and theological profile of the diversity of the printed manifestations of the Protestant Reformation in the Italian states. (Brill) [15th-17th centuries]
The publications of Italian publisher Leo S. Olschki are among the most widely held Italian publications across the Berkeley Library. This collection comprises more than 1200 e-books in the social sciences and humanities and the complete backfiles to six journals including Archivio storico italiano, Belfagor, Inventari dei manoscritti delle biblioteche, Lares, Lettere italiane, and Il pensiero politico. It is accessible through Casalini Libri's full-text digital platform Torrossa. See also Editoria Italiana Online (EIO).
Casalini Libri's full text digital platform provides access to thousands of ebooks, conference proceedings, and journals by major Italian publishers. (Olschki - EIO: Editoria Italiana Online: Fabrizio Serra) [dates vary]
Note: To view articles in your browser, use the "Read Online" feature. Opening a downloaded PDF requires Adobe Acrobat.
Berkeley's licensed content includes the Italian Studies collections of Editoria Italiana Online (EIO) and Fabrizio Serra as well as Olschki Online (2000-2014).