Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

UC Berkeley’s library buildings are open! Learn more.

Italian Studies: About the Collection

A library research guide

Collection Description

Veduta del Palazzo de' NN: H.H.: Pisani by Giovanni Francesco Costa (1750)
Veduta del Palazzo de' NN: H.H.: Pisani by Giovanni Francesco Costa (1750)

The Library collects materials across all subject areas in Italian, including history, linguistics, philosophy, and critical theory. It maintains a strong collection in all divisions of Italian literature, from the medieval and renaissance period to the present. We collect few introductory language textbooks, but do acquire Italian language dictionaries and other language reference material. 

Most Italian Studies reference materials are kept in Doe Library's North Reading Room. The major part of the collection is housed in the Gardner (Main) Stacks and the Northern Regional Library Facility (NRLF) with additional materials in subject specialty libraries such as Art History/Classics, Environmental Design Library, and the Hargrove Music Library. Manuscripts, archives, and rare materials are housed in The Bancroft Library.

The Languages of Berkeley: An Online Exhibition

Romance Language Collections News

Loading ...

feed icon Click here to open up this post, read previous posts, or subscribe to the Romance Language Collections news blog.

UC Library Search is here!

UC Library Search

Here's what you need to know about the University of California's unified discovery and borrowing system. Search for resources now or consult the User Guide.

Librarian for Romance Language Collections

Follow on Instagram

ucb_romance_collections Instagram