Here is a short list of useful articles databases for Japanese studies. Note that many of these sources only index journal articles -- they don't actually have the full text (*licensed resource requiring authentication).
- *Bijutsu Shinpō 美術新報/ Bungei Kurabu 文芸倶楽部/ Bungei Shunjū 文藝春秋/ Fūzoku Gahō 風俗画報/ Kōbunsō taika koshomoku 弘文荘待賈古書目/ Tōyō Keizai Shinpō 東洋経済新報/ Shūkan Tōyō Keizai 週刊東洋経済/ Taiyō 太陽/ The Oriental Economist: An online version of the journals Bijutsu Shinpō (1902-1920), Bungei Kurabu (1895-1912), Bungei Shunjū (1923-1950), Fūzoku Gahō (1889-1916), Kōbunsō taika koshomoku 弘文荘待賈古書目 (1933-1984), Taiyō (1895-1928), Tōyō Keizai Shinpō/Shūkan Tōyō Keizai (1895-2015), and The Oriental Economist (1934-1985) are included in *JapanKnowledge. A selection of articles from Chūō kōron 中央公論 (1887-present) published between 1915 and 1925 are included in Takita Choin kyūzō Kindai sakka genkōshu 滝田樗陰旧蔵近代作家原稿集 in *JapanKnowledge (作家一覧 and 作品一覧 are available for browsing).
- *Bibliography of Asian studies (BAS): Indexes to scholarly sources written in English in all subject areas on countries in Asia
- CiNii Research: Indexes to academic journal articles from Japan and provides links to full-text articles for some journals from institutional repositories and J-Stage, as well as to research data.
- IRDB (Institutional Repositories Database): A database of resources included in institutional repositories of Japanese universities, provided by the National Institute of Informatics.
- Japanese Film Journal Table of Contents Browser: Scanned images of table of contents for selected Japanese film journals are provided by the University of Iowa Library.
- Kokubungaku ronbun mokuroku dētabēsu 国文学論文目録データベース: Provided by the National Institute of Japanese Literature. The database covers articles since 1912.
- *MagazinePlus (alternative link): Indexes to journal and magazine articles from Japan published since the Meiji period (1868-1912) and essays included in festschriften, conference papers, books, annuals, and research reports since 1945.
- *Mita Bungaku 三田文学 (alternative link to J-DAC): Mita Bungaku (1910-present, with several interruptions) is a Japanese literary journal published to today, and Mita Bungaku Online in *J-DAC offers access to this journal from 1910 to 1944 in 397 issues.
- Nihongo kenkyū, Nihongo kyōiku bunken dētabēsu 日本語研究・日本語教育文献データベース = Bibliographic Database of Research on Japanese Language and Japanese Language Education: Provided by the National Institute for Japanese Language and Linguistics. The database covers articles since 1950.
- *Tōyō Keizai Digital Content Library: Offers Shūkan Tōyō Keizai 週刊東洋経済(1997- ), Japan Company Handbook (2006- ), Hitosubashi Business Review 一橋ビジネスレビュー (2006- ), and 東洋経済別冊・臨時増刊・MOOKs (2011- ).
- Tōyōgaku Bunken Ruimoku Kensaku 東洋学文献類目検索 [第7.4 α版]: Provided by the Institute for Research in Humanities, Kyoto University. The database covers books and articles in Chinese studies published in East Asian countries and the West between 1934 and 1980, and since 2001. For publications between 1981 and 2000, please check: Tōyōgaku Bunken Ruimoku Kensaku 東洋学文献類目検索 [第6.10版].
- Zasshi kiji sakuin sairokushi ichiran 雑誌記事索引採録誌一覧 (NDL): A list of journals indexed in 国立国会図書館サーチ.
- *Zasshi kiji sakuin shūsei dētabēsu 雑誌記事索引集成データベース = The Complete Database for Japanese Magazine and Periodicals from the Meiji Era to the Present (alternative link): Indexes to journal and magazine articles from Japan published since the Meiji period (1868-1912), with links to CiNii, etc.
Selected Print Article Indexes
