Library Guides: Global Poverty: Agriculture and Food

Library Databases

Agricola. Indexes books, journal articles, audiovisual materials, state agricultural and USDA publications. Subjects include agriculture, agricultural economics, horticulture, nutrition, and soil science

AGRIS. International, multilingual database of papers, data, and statistics on agricultural research and technology produced by the U.N. Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO).

Business Source Complete. Access to scholarly business magazines and other sources, including peer-reviewed business publications.

EconLit. Access to scholarly journal articles in economics as well as books and dissertations, and articles within 'collective works'.

Humanities International Complete. Indexes scholarly publications in the humanities: often offers interesting critiques of the dominant paradigms in development assistance.

International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS). Indexes journals, books, chapters, and book reviews in economics, political science, sociology, and anthropology.

Left Index. A complete guide to the alternative, radical, and leftist literature, with an emphasis on political, economic, social and culturally engaged scholarship inside and outside academia.

PAIS International. Books, journals, government documents, grey literature, research reports, and conference reports related to public policy, politics, economics, and social issues worldwide.

Sociological Abstracts. Finds books, journals, and dissertations on sociological topics as well as selected anthropology, criminology, demography, and urban development.

Women's Studies International. Indexes women's studies, women's issues, and gender-focused books, book chapters, journal articles, dissertations, and reports worldwide.

Selected Journals

Government Agencies

Sample Books

Encyclopedia of Food Security and Sustainability
Investigates sustainable food production in relation to the effects of global change on food resources, biodiversity and global food security. This collection of methodological approaches and knowledge derived from authors around the world offers the research community with the knowledge to relate to, and report on the challenges of food production and sustainability.
We Want Land to Live: Making Political Space for Food Sovereignty
Explores the boundaries of radical approaches to food sovereignty. First coined by La Via Campesina, food sovereignty is a concept that expresses the universal right to food. Amy Trauger uses ethnography, participant observation, field notes, and interviews to help us understand the struggles surrounding the decommodification of food and the transformation of the global food system's political-economic foundations.
Food First: Selected Writings from 40 years of Movement Building.
This book looks back on forty years of writings from the Oakland-based Institute for Food and Development Policy, better known as Food First, on the occasion of its 40th anniversary. The book highlights the breadth and depth of the organization's published works, addressing issues such as hunger, international trade, US foreign policy, the Green Revolution, agroecology, climate justice, land reform, food and farm workers' rights, and food sovereignty.
We Are Not Starving: the Struggle for Food Sovereignity in Ghana
One of the first ethnographies to take on the question of GM crops in the African context, this book blends archival analysis, interviews, and participant observation with Ghanaian scientists, farmers, activists, and officials. Ultimately the text aims to illuminate why GM crops have animated the country and to highlight how their introduction has opened an opportunity to air grievances about the systematic de-valuing and exploitation of African land, labor, and knowledge that have been centuries in the making.

Secondary menu

Global Poverty: Agriculture and Food

Food Sovereignty and Agribusiness

Library Databases

Selected Journals

Government Agencies

Sample Books

Research & Advocacy Organizations