Library Guides: Global Poverty: Intro

Campus Library Map

Select the image below to see the full campus library map.

Off-campus Access to Library Resources

There are two ways to connect to library resources from off-campus using the new library proxy:

Links to online resources on library websites, such as UC Library Search, will allow you to login with CalNet directly.
To access library resources found via non-UCB sites, such as Google or Google Scholar, you can add the EZproxy bookmarklet to your browser. Then, whenever you land on a licensed library resource, select your EZproxy bookmarklet to enable CalNet login.

More information is on the EZproxy guide.

The campus VPN provides an alternate method for off-campus access.

Catalogs and Search Engines

UC Library Search. Books, e-books, journal articles and other content in one integrated library platform for the entire UC System. Does not include content from some databases.

Google Scholar. Functions as both a key word database for articles and books. On campus it connects to licensed content held by the UC libraries.

Google Books. Search the text of the books, view previews from books still in copyright, and read the full text of out-of-copyright books.

Poverty Reference Books

Routledge International Handbook of Poverty
Provides background knowledge on what poverty is, how it has developed, and what type of policies might be able to succeed in reducing poverty.
The SAGE Encyclopedia of World Poverty
Chapters on the intersections of poverty with health, education, environmental sustainability, technology, and poverty measurement.
The Oxford Handbook of Economic Imperialism.
Examines unequal commercial, trade, and investment gains at the international level and explores how countries can have exploitative relations.

Country Background

Human Development Report Library. Includes the UNDP flagship publication the Human Development Report, as well as national human development reports from over 250 countries and regions.

Library of Congress Country Studies. Description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world.

Oxford Reference Online. Collection of online encyclopedias on a range of topics. Type in the name of your country and browse. See also:

Oxford Handbooks Online. More detailed and substantive than the above. Search by country and limit to political science, economics, sociology or history.