Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

You can still access the UC Berkeley Library’s services and resources during the closure. Here’s how.

Global Poverty: Intro

Introduction

The library is still here help you during the campus closure. If you need a book but can't find an electronic version you can Request eBook purchases. You can also access digitized materials via the HathiTrust’s Emergency Temporary Access Service, which provides online access to many books held by libraries across the UC system. For additional information about ongoing library services please see Library services and resources during COVID-19.

Campus Library Map

Select the image below to see the full campus library map.

See also:

Off-campus Access to Library Resources

There are two ways to connect to library resources from off-campus using the new library proxy:

  1. Links to online resources on library websites, such as OskiCat, will allow you to login with CalNet directly.
  2. To access library resources found via non-UCB sites, such as Google or Google Scholar, you can add the EZproxy bookmarklet to your browser. Then, whenever you land on a licensed library resource, select your EZproxy bookmarklet to enable CalNet login.

More information is on the EZproxy guide.

The campus VPN provides an alternate method for off-campus access.

Catalogs and Search Engines

Start Your Search.  Books, ebooks, journal articles, and other content in one integrated library platform.  Does not include content all library databases.

Google Scholar. Functions as both a key word database for articles and books. It automatically connects to select licensed content held by the UC libraries. 

Oskicat. UC Berkeley libraries catalog. Includes records for most UCB library materials, including books, e-books, journal titles, films and videos, maps, and more. 

Melvyl. Catalog for all UC Campus libraries, including selected libraries on campus not in Oskicat, e.g. the Law Library.

Poverty Reference Books

Country Background

CIA World Factbook   Summary information on countries including its history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues.

Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) Country Reports and Profiles. Analysis of current economic and political events in more than 200 countries.

Human Development Report Library Includes the UNDP flagship publication the Human Development Report, as well as national human development reports from over 250 countries and regions.

Library of Congress Country Studies. Description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world.

Oxford Reference Online. Collection of online encyclopedias on a range of topics.  Type in the name of your country and browse.  See also:

Oxford Handbooks Online. More detailed and substantive than the above.  Search by country and limit to political science, economics, sociology or history.