Library Guides: Global Poverty: Health

Library Databases

Academic Search Complete. Versatile and multi-disciplinary database of scholarly and general interest journals, books, and reports

CINAHL. (Recommended). Primary database for nursing and allied health including addiction, and complementary medicine. Excellent source for community hospitals and grassroots medicine.

EconLit. Most comprehensive index to scholarly journal articles in economics. It also lists books and dissertations, and articles in 'collective works' (collections of essays.)

JSTOR. Broad based digital library of academic journals and ebooks. JSTOR is an archive which means that current issues (generally the most recent 3-5 years) of the journals are not yet available.

Humanities International Complete. Indexes scholarly publications in the humanities: often offers interesting critiques of the dominant paradigms in development assistance.

Left Index. A complete guide to the alternative, radical, and leftist literature, with an emphasis on political, economic, social and culturally engaged scholarship inside and outside academia.

PAIS International. Books, journals, government documents, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, and web sites related to public policy, politics, economics, and social issues worldwide.

Project Muse. Digitized books and online journals in the humanities and social sciences. Books are searchable and retrievable to the chapter level, with no restrictions on downloading.

Sociological Abstracts. Finds books, journals, and dissertations on sociological topics as well as selected anthropology, criminology, demography, and urban development.

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts. Indexes books, journals, and dissertations within the field of political science and related to international relations, law and politics, political economy, public administration, and public policy.

Women's Studies International. Indexes women's studies, women's issues, and gender-focused books, book chapters, journal articles, dissertations, and reports worldwide.

Government Agencies

Sample Books

Infections and Inequalities: The Modern Plagues
Using field work and new scholarship to challenge the accepted methodologies of epidemiology and international health, Paul Farmer points out that most current explanatory strategies, from "cost-effective treatment" to patient "noncompliance," inevitably lead to blaming the victims. In reality, larger forces, global as well as local, determine why some people are sick and others are shielded from risk.
The Cry of the Poor: Liberation Ethics and Justice in Health Care
This book offers an interdisciplinary effort to address global health issues grounded on a human rights framework seen from the perspective of those who are more vulnerable to be sick and die prematurely: the poor.
Power, Suffering, and the Struggle for Dignity
Directed at a diverse audience of students, legal and public health practitioners, and anyone interested in understanding what human rights-based approaches (HRBAs) to health and development mean and why they matter, Power, Suffering, and the Struggle for Dignity provides a solid foundation for comprehending what a human rights framework implies and the potential for social transformation it entails.

Research, Advocacy and Relief Organizations

Global Giving. Search for humanitarian projects by country and focus area.

Secondary menu

Global Poverty: Health

Political Economy of Health

Library Databases

Government Agencies

Sample Books

Research, Advocacy and Relief Organizations

Journals