It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Update: Moffitt Library is closed for seismic work, but most other libraries are open. Learn more.
American Indian and Alaska Native Health https://americanindianhealth.nlm.nih.gov/ is a central source for information about the health and well-being of Native Americans and Alaska Natives. It is freely available, and offers access to evaluated and authoritative resources for:
This latest Indian Health Surveillance Report – Sexually Transmitted Diseases presents statistics and trends from 2006 - 2011 for sexually transmitted diseases (STDs) among American Indians and Alaska Natives (AI/AN) in the United States.
Native Voices: Native Peoples’ Concepts of Health and Illness explores the interconnectedness of wellness, illness, and cultural life for Native Americans, Alaska Natives, and Native Hawaiians. Visitors will discover how Native concepts of health and illness are closely tied to the concepts of community, spirit, and the land.
The Native Health Database contains bibliographic information and abstracts of health-related articles, reports, surveys, and other resource documents pertaining to the health and health care of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Nations. The database provides information for the benefit, use, and education of organizations and individuals with an interest in health-related issues, programs, and initiatives regarding North American indigenous peoples.
The Association of American Indian Physicians maintains its headquarters in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma; however, educational forums, workshops and conferences are hosted throughout the year in different regions of the United States.
The National Indian Health Board (NIHB) represents Tribal governments—both those that operate their own health care delivery systems through contracting and compacting, and those receiving health care directly from the Indian Health Service (IHS).
Urban Indian Health Institute (UIHI) is leading the way in research and data for urban American Indian and Alaska Native communities. As a Public Health Authority and one of 12 Tribal Epidemiology Centers in the country—and the only one that serves Urban Indian Health Programs nationwide—UIHI conducts research and evaluation, collects and analyzes data, and provides disease surveillance to strengthen the health of American Indian and Alaska Native communities.
The Alaska Native Epidemiology Center (EpiCenter) produces health reports that provide statewide and regional level data to tribal health organizations and other entities working to improve the health of Alaska Native people.
Additionally, EpiCenter staff author manuscipts on public health topics which are published in peer-reviewed journals to inform others interested in improving Alaska Native health.
Established in September 2006, AASTEC’s mission is to collaborate with the 27 American Indian Tribes in the Albuquerque Area to provide high quality health research, surveillance and training to improve the quality of life of American Indians.
Since 1996, the Great Lakes Inter-Tribal Epidemiology Center (GLITEC) has served the 34 federally-recognized Tribes, four urban Indian communities, and three Indian Health Service (IHS) service units within the Bemidji IHS Area—Michigan, Minnesota, Wisconsin, and Chicago, Illinois.
The Great Plains Tribal Epidemiology Center (GPTEC) was founded in 2003 as a core component of the Great Plains Tribal Leaders’ Health Board (GPTLHB).
GPTEC’s mission is to provide leadership, technical assistance, support and advocacy for the 18 tribal nations and communities serviced by the Great Plains Area IHS in order to achieve our vision of eliminating the disparities in health that currently exist for tribal peoples within the four-state region of South Dakota, North Dakota, Nebraska and Iowa.
The Navajo Epidemiology Center (NEC) was established in 2005 to manage Navajo Nation's public health information systems, investigate diseases of concern, manage disease prevention and control programs, respond to public health emergencies, and coordinate these activities with other public health authorities. The NEC’s primary objectives are: data collection, analysis and interpretation; health surveillance; disease control and prevention; and data sharing.
In 1996, four Tribal Epidemiology Centers (TECs) were established through the Indian Healthcare Improvement Act with Indian Health Service (IHS) funding to provide American Indian and Alaska Native (AIAN) people access to data and improve disease surveillance for Tribes, Tribal organizations, and urban Indian organizations..
Tribal Epidemiology Centers are Indian Health Service, division funded organizations who serve American Indian/Alaska Native Tribal and urban communities by managing public health information systems, investigating diseases of concern, managing disease prevention and control programs, responding to public health emergencies, and coordinating these activities with other public health authorities.
To improve AIAN health in California to the highest level by engaging American Indian communities in collecting and interpreting health information to establish health priorities, monitoring health status, and developing effective public health services that respect cultural values and traditions of the communities. CTEC services are available to all Tribes and Indian Health Programs in California through Data Sharing Agreements.
he Rocky Mountain Tribal Leaders Council Tribal, Epidemiology Center (RMTEC), a division of the Rocky Mountain Tribal Leaders Council (RMTLC), started in the fall of 2005. The Tribal Injury Prevention Cooperative Agreement Program (TIPCAP) was awarded in 2015, to support Tribes through injury morbidity and mortality surveillance, while providing technical assistance and support for preventing injuries. RMTEC serves 10 Tribes/Service Units (SU’s) on 8 Reservations in Montana and Wyoming – an American Indian (AI) population of approximately 73,000.
United South and Eastern Tribes, Inc. is dedicated to enhancing the development of federally recognized Indian Tribes, to improving the capabilities of Tribal governments, and assisting the USET Members and their governments in dealing effectively with public policy issues and in serving the broad needs of Indian people.