The Native American Health Center is a non profit organization serving the California Bay Area Native Population and other under-served populations in the Bay Area. 2012 marked NAHC's 40th anniversary; as an organization, we have been serving our community since 1972.
The California Historical Society, founded in 1871, is a nonprofit organization with a mission to inspire and empower people to make California's richly diverse past a meaningful part of their contemporary lives.
Bay Area American Indian Two-Spirits (BAAITS) exists to restore and recover the role of Two-Spirit people within the American Indian/First Nations community by creating a forum for the spiritual, cultural and artistic expression of Two-Spirit people.
Intertribal Friendship House (IFH) located in Oakland, CA was established in 1955 as one of the first urban American Indian community centers in the nation. It was founded by the American Friends Service Committee to serve the needs of American Indian people relocated from reservations to the San Francisco Bay Area.
Folk & traditional artists are tradition bearers: people who transmit what they believe, know, do, and create with others who share a common heritage, language, religion, occupation, or region. These expressions are deeply rooted in and reflective of a community’s shared standards of beauty, values, or life experiences. Folk and traditional arts are, ultimately, passed on from one generation to the next and express a collective wisdom, rather than a unique personal aesthetic.
To provide Opportunities for networking and support of American Indian business people in California. To Provide a mentor's environment for those individuals beginning new endeavors and establish a vehicle for education, networking and growth opportunities.
Prior to California Indian Legal Services’ (CILS) inception legal representation for Native Americans and tribes was provided through California Rural Legal Services (CRLA). Over time the complexity and breadth of legal problems faced by California’s Native population compelled the formation of an Indian Services Division within CRLA to address these unique issues. In 1967 George Duke, and a young Hoopa activist named David Risling, incorporated CILS as a distinct program dedicated to Native American issues.
The purpose of the California Indian Museum and Cultural Center is to culturally enrich and benefit the people of California and the general public. The goals of the Museum and Cultural Center are to educate the public about California Indian history and cultures, to showcase California Indian cultures, to enhance and facilitate these cultures and traditions through educational and cultural activities, to preserve and protect California Indian cultural and intellectual properties, and to develop relationships with other indigenous groups.
The Society for California Archaeology is a nonprofit scientific and educational organization dedicated to research, understanding, interpretation and conservation of the heritage of California and the regions that surround and pertain to it.
News from Native California is a quarterly magazine devoted to the vibrant cultures, arts, languages, histories, social justice movements, and stories of California’s diverse Indian peoples. We strive to preserve the cherished knowledge of an older generation, provide opportunities for a younger generation making a place for Indian ways in the modern world, and illuminate the beauty of Native cultures to all of California.
created in statute in 1976, is a nine-member body, appointed by the Governor, to identify and catalog cultural resources (i.e., places of special religious or social significance to Native Americans, and known graves and cemeteries of Native Americans on private lands) in California. The Commission is charged with the duty of preserving and ensuring accessibility of sacred sites and burials, the disposition of Native American human remains and burial items, maintain an inventory of Native American sacred sites located on public lands, and review current administrative and statutory protections related to these sacred sites.
Redwomenrising.com is a component of the California Consortium for Urban Indian Health’s (CCUIH) Red Women Rising initiative. For more information on CCUIH’s other programs and projects, or how to participate in the Red Women Rising Project visit ccuih.org, or send an email to firstname.lastname@example.org.
A Collaboration Between AICLS (Advocates for Indigenous California Survival), UC Berkeley’s linguistics department, libraries and archives, and community-based Native language workers from across California.
A DICTIONARY OF WESTERN MONO
Compiled and Edited by
Paul V. Kroskrity
Gregory A. Reinhardt
Completely corrected, updated and revised by
Christopher Loether and Rosalie Bethel
Compiled and Edited by
Paul V. Kroskrity
Gregory A. Reinhardt
Completely corrected, updated and revised by
Christopher Loether and Rosalie Bethel
Established in 1967, the American Indian Law Center, Inc. (AILC) is the oldest existing Indian-managed and Indian-operated legal and public policy organization in the country serving to strengthen, promote, and honor self-sustaining American Indian and Alaska Native communities through education, training, and leadership.
One way for tribal nations to exercise their sovereignty is to establish their laws and codes which govern their respective communities. This page provides links to tribes that list their own codes online.
The National Indian Law Library (NILL) online catalog contains all titles held in the NILL collection. Copies of most resources can be delivered to researchers in a timely way and often free of charge. The library catalog also provides links to many free resources that are available on the internet. While the NILL catalog is a good place to start with your research, please do not hesitate to contact us for research assistance.
American Indian and Alaska Native Health https://americanindianhealth.nlm.nih.gov/ is a central source for information about the health and well-being of Native Americans and Alaska Natives. It is freely available, and offers access to evaluated and authoritative resources for:
This latest Indian Health Surveillance Report – Sexually Transmitted Diseases presents statistics and trends from 2006 - 2011 for sexually transmitted diseases (STDs) among American Indians and Alaska Natives (AI/AN) in the United States.
Native Voices: Native Peoples’ Concepts of Health and Illness explores the interconnectedness of wellness, illness, and cultural life for Native Americans, Alaska Natives, and Native Hawaiians. Visitors will discover how Native concepts of health and illness are closely tied to the concepts of community, spirit, and the land.
The Native Health Database contains bibliographic information and abstracts of health-related articles, reports, surveys, and other resource documents pertaining to the health and health care of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Nations. The database provides information for the benefit, use, and education of organizations and individuals with an interest in health-related issues, programs, and initiatives regarding North American indigenous peoples.
The Association of American Indian Physicians maintains its headquarters in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma; however, educational forums, workshops and conferences are hosted throughout the year in different regions of the United States.
NAISA began through exploratory meetings hosted by the University of Oklahoma in 2007 and by the University of Georgia in 2008, incorporated in 2009, and has since become the premiere international and interdisciplinary professional organization for scholars, graduate students, independent researchers, and community members interested in all aspects of Indigenous Studies.
The Society for the Study of the Indigenous Languages of the Americas (SSILA) was founded in December 1981 as the international scholarly organization representing American Indian linguistics, and was incorporated in 1997. Membership in SSILA is open to all those who are interested in the scientific study of the languages of the native peoples of North, Central and South America. The Society has approximately 900 members, more than a third of them residing outside the United States.
The National Center for American Indian Enterprise Development (NCAIED) is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization. With over 40 years of assisting American Indian Tribes and their enterprises with business and economic development – we have evolved into the largest national Indian specific business organization in the nation.
The National Congress of American Indians, founded in 1944, is the oldest, largest and most representative American Indian and Alaska Native organization serving the broad interests of tribal governments and communities.
The Native American Graves Protection and Repatriation Act is a Federal law passed in 1990. NAGPRA provides a process for museums and Federal agencies to return certain Native American cultural items -- human remains, funerary objects, sacred objects, or objects of cultural patrimony -- to lineal descendants, and culturally affiliated Indian tribes and Native Hawaiian organizations. NAGPRA includes provisions for unclaimed and culturally unidentifiable Native American cultural items, intentional and inadvertent discovery of Native American cultural items on Federal and tribal lands, and penalties for noncompliance and illegal trafficking. In addition, NAGPRA authorizes Federal grants to Indian tribes, Native Hawaiian organizations, and museums to assist with the documentation and repatriation of Native American cultural items, and establishes the Native American Graves Protection and Repatriation Review Committee to monitor the NAGPRA process and facilitate the resolution of disputes that may arise concerning repatriation under NAGPRA.
Established in 2006, American Indians in Children's Literature (AICL) provides critical perspectives and analysis of indigenous peoples in children's and young adult books, the school curriculum, popular culture, and society. Scroll down for links to book reviews, Native media, and more.
The Alaska Native Knowledge Network (ANKN) is an AKRSI partner designed to serve as a resource for compiling and exchanging information related to Alaska Native knowledge systems and ways of knowing. It has been established to assist Native people, government agencies, educators and the general public in gaining access to the knowledge base that Alaska Natives have acquired through cumulative experience over millennia.
The Intellectual Property Issues in Cultural Heritage (IPinCH) project is a seven-year international research initiative based at Simon Fraser University, in British Columbia, Canada. Our work explores the rights, values, and responsibilities of material culture, cultural knowledge and the practice of heritage research.
IPinCH is a collaboration of scholars, students, heritage professionals, community members, policy makers, and Indigenous organizations across the globe.
The project serves as both a practical resource and a network of support for communities and researchers engaged in cultural heritage work.
Project dates: 2008-2016
Native-Land.ca is not an organization (yet) and is run by Victor G Temprano, whose company, Mapster, funds the website. This is not an academic or professional survey of Indigenous territories, and the maps are constantly being refined from user input. These are meant more for the sake of helping people get interested and engaged.
The Indigenous Studies Portal (iPortal) is a database of full-text electronic resources such as articles, e-books, theses, government publications, videos, oral histories, and digitized archival documents and photographs. The iPortal content has a primary focus on Indigenous peoples of Canada with a secondary focus on North American materials and beyond.
The National Indian Gaming Commission was created in 1988 with the passage of the Indian Gaming Regulatory Act (IGRA), which was enacted to support and promote tribal economic development, self-sufficiency, and strong tribal governments through the operation of gaming on Indian lands. The Act provides a statutory basis for the federal regulation of Indian gaming. IGRA establishes the Commission to regulate and support tribal gaming as a means of generating revenue for tribal communities.
Incorporated in 1985, National Indian Gaming Association (NIGA) is an inter-tribal association of 184 federally recognized Indian Tribes united with the mission of protecting and preserving tribal sovereignty and the ability of Tribes to attain economic self-sufficiency through gaming and other forms of economic development.
Arizona Indian Gaming Association represents 15 tribes representing Indian people living on reservations in Arizona. While four tribes are located near urban areas, most tribal lands are located in remote areas of Arizona.
Oklahoma Indian Gaming Association (OIGA), established in 1986, is a non-profit organization of Indian Nations with other non-voting associate members representing organizations, tribes, and businesses engaged in tribal gaming enterprises from around Oklahoma.
The Office of Indian Gaming, under the supervision of the Deputy Assistant Secretary-Indian Affairs Economic Development and Policy, is responsible for implementing those gaming-related activities assigned to the Bureau of Indian Affairs by the Indian Gaming Regulatory Act and other Federal laws. The office develops policies and procedures for review and approval of: tribal/state compacts; per capita distributions of gaming revenues; and requests to take land into trust for purpose of conducting gaming. Work is coordinated with the National Indian Gaming Commission and with state, local, and tribal governments that may be impacted by gaming proposals.
ArrowPoint Media, Inc. of Liberty Lake, Washington, publishes indiangaming.com, Indian Gaming magazine (in print and online) and Indian Gaming Buyer's Guide & Directory (online.) Indian Gaming magazine, the company's flagship publication, was launched as a monthly publication in 1990 and continues in print today and online as the premier trade publication serving the Indian gaming industry.
The California Nations Indian Gaming Association (CNIGA), founded in 1988, is a non-profit organization comprised of federally-recognized tribal governments. CNIGA is dedicated to the purpose of protecting Indian gaming on federally-recognized Indian lands. It acts as a planning and coordinating agency for legislative, policy, legal and communications efforts on behalf of its members and serves as an industry forum for information and resources.