Native American Studies: Media (Blogs, Podcasts, News)

Native Public Media (NPM) provides services that encourage the expansion and strengthening of Native media through platforms that are community-based, local, and democratic.

National Native News provides listeners with relevant, timely coverage on Native American and Indigenous communities. The program began in 1987 and is currently produced in Albuquerque, New Mexico.

Native America Calling is a live call-in program linking public radio stations, the Internet and listeners together in a thought-provoking national conversation about issues specific to Native communities.

ICT is an independent, nonprofit, multimedia news enterprise. We reach audiences through our digital platform and as a broadcast carried via public television stations.
ICT covers Indigenous peoples.

High Country News is dedicated to the Western U.S. The web site and magazine offer in-depth reporting particularly on environmental news and issues.

Native Business focuses on business, finance, and entrepreneurship amongst Native Americans. Coverage spans all major industries along with sections featuring startups, disruptors, and future leaders.

Indianz.com, which is operated by the Winnebago Tribe, offers its own reporting with a national focus alongside stories aggregated from various Native American news sites. The broad coverage allows readers to stay up-to-date on news across all of Native America.

Native News Online provides Native American news, politics, and issues from across the country. In addition, education, travel, and arts round out the site, offering a broad swath of interesting topics.

Founded in 2012, Native Max was the nation’s first Native American fashion magazine. While the concentration is firmly on fashion, Native Max mixes in arts, cuisine, entertainment, and culture to provide a complete and modern view of the Native Americans making marks on their fields.

Indigenous Action (IA/originally Indigenous Action Media) was founded on August 25th, 2001 to provide strategic communications and direct action support for Indigenous community’s sacred lands defense.

Beyond Buckskin is a website and business dedicated to promoting and selling Native American made fashion. It is headed up by Dr. Jessica R. Metcalfe (Turtle Mountain Chippewa) who holds a PhD in American Indian Studies, with an emphasis on art, education, and culture.

Read analysis about world events through the lens of indigenous Marxism and stay up-to-date on our political positions.

Established in 1990 within the United States, IEN was formed by grassroots Indigenous peoples and individuals to address environmental and economic justice issues (EJ). IEN’s activities include building the capacity of Indigenous communities and tribal governments to develop mechanisms to protect our sacred sites, land, water, air, natural resources, health of both our people and all living things, and to build economically sustainable communities.

Chelsea Vowel is Métis from manitow-sâkahikan (Lac Ste. Anne) Alberta, residing in amiskwacîwâskahikan (Edmonton). Parent to six children, she has a BEd, LLB, and MA. She is a Cree language instructor at the Faculty of Native studies at the University of Alberta.

In 2012 Matika Wilbur sold everything in her Seattle apartment and created Project 562 which reflects her commitment to visit, engage and photograph all 562 plus Native American sovereign territories in the United States.

Native Hope exists to address the injustice done to Native Americans.
"We dismantle barriers through storytelling and impactful programs to bring healing and inspire hope."

Indigenous Action (IA/originally Indigenous Action Media) was founded on August 25th, 2001 to provide strategic communications and direct action support for Indigenous community’s sacred lands defense.

Red Hoop Talk is a LIVE & STREAMING Native News and Talk show about how we stay #ClosetoCulture.

The Red Nation Podcast features discussions on Indigenous history, politics, and culture from a left perspective. Hosted by Nick Estes with help from our friend and comrade Sina.

A podcast for indigenous people by indigenous people, aims to give a platform to the oppressed

Activist Kahentinetha Horn tells stories of her very long adventurous life, always with the sense of humour that carried her through.

The award-winning documentary podcast This Land is back for season 2.
Host Rebecca Nagle reports on how the far right is using Native children to attack American Indian tribes and advance a conservative agenda.

All My Relations is a team of folks who care about representations, and how Native peoples are represented in mainstream media. Between us we have decades of experience working in and with Native communities, and writing and speaking about issues of representation.

After contact, Indigenous foodways and knowledge were devastated, nearly destroyed and replaced with foods that are far from the people. So today, Andi Murphy will be talking to Native chefs and foodies about what Indigenous cuisine is, where it comes from, where it’s headed and how it’s used to connect them and their communities to their origins and traditions.

As this organization expands we continue to seek relevant avenues to involve the younger generations in our work. We started by having a youth gathering, where these adolescents expressed the concern that their voices and others in their community were not being heard, both within the Lummi community and to the larger society. Thus was born the Youth Podcast.

Founded in 2014, by Johnnie Jae, A Tribe Called Geek is an award-winning media platform for that highlights Indigenous pop culture, STEM, and Indigenerditry. ATCG continues to be more than just a media platform, it is a community of intelligent, imaginative, innovative and creative Indigenerds acknowledging and advancing the visibility of Native and Indigenous contributions to the world.

Vision Maker Media works with VMM funded producers to develop, produce and distribute programs for all public media. We support training to increase the number of Native Americans and Alaska Natives producing public broadcasting programs. A key strategy for this work is in partnerships with Tribal nations and Native organizations and communities.

Interviews with scholars of Native America about their new books.

THPO Talk Womens Council:
Sheila Bird
RaeLynn Butler Muscogee Creek
Deanna Byrd Choctaw

Recordings of the Seeing Red Radio Archive from 1972-1974

The Native Seed Pod is a podcast that explores and celebrates Native foodways, ancestral seeds, and the Traditional Ecological Knowledge needed to renew the health of the Earth and all our relations. From planting songs to cultural foodscapes, we highlight the importance of protecting and restoring agrobiodiversity and food sovereignty to sustain resilient communities.

First Voices Radio, host and Executive Producer and Founder Tiokasin Ghosthorse is from the Cheyenne River Lakota Nation in South Dakota and the bands of Itazipco/Mnicoujou and Oglala, is known for his activism and community organizing. First Voices Radio is the first Indigenous radio program in the northeastern U.S. The program has become known for bringing to the airwaves the experiences, perspectives and struggles of Indigenous peoples worldwide whose exclusion from mainstream, progressive and alternative media is deleterious to the whole of humanity.

Bioneers is an innovative nonprofit organization that highlights breakthrough solutions for restoring people and planet. Founded in 1990 in Santa Fe, New Mexico by social entrepreneurs Kenny Ausubel and Nina Simons, we act as a fertile hub of social and scientific innovators with practical and visionary solutions for the world’s most pressing environmental and social challenges. Our dynamic programs and initiatives focus on game-changing initiatives related to Restorative Food Systems, Biomimicry, Rights of Nature, Indigeneity, Women’s Leadership and Youth Leadership.