It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Moffitt Library is opening Aug. 22. Other libraries will have updated services and hours. Learn more.
CURRENT Practice Guidelines in Primary Care 2021-2022 by Jacob A. DavidGuidelines and recommendations for the most common outpatient conditions--from sources you can trust! Fully Reviewed and Updated Guideline Summaries! Organized into topics related to disease screening, prevention and management, and further subdivided into organ systems for quick reference Consolidates information from government agencies, medical and scientific organizations, and expert panels into concise recommendations and guidelines Updated with more than 90 new guidelines Significant updates to colorectal cancer screening, migraine prevention, and management of diabetes, cellulitis, asthma, and chronic pain among many others. New sections on orthopedics and sports medicine in addition to expanded specialty areas such as addiction medicine, transgender health, maternity care and hospital medicine. Spans all areas of general medicine and covers primary care topics in both ambulatory and hospital settings Includes website addresses for U.S. government agencies and professional societies
Publication Date: 2021
Evidence-Based Medicine: Best Practice or Restrictive Dogma by Desmond J. SheridanThe concept of evidence-based medicine was launched in 1991 as a new paradigm to inform medical practice and has risen to be regarded as the gold standard. It rapidly gained the attention of medics, health service managers and the general media as it presented a means to improve efficiency and effectiveness of service delivery. Despite its stunning success in capturing the health agenda, the campaign that launched evidence-based medicine has also attracted criticism, particularly from clinicians and philosophers concerned about its selective views of knowledge and evidence, and for its denigration of reasoning, clinical experience and judgement. Evidence-Based Medicine traces this movement from its launch to its meteoric rise, examining what it has done for healthcare and medicine in the context of changes in science policy and the long-running criticism held against the movement for its inherent weaknesses. As evidence-based medicine will remain an important feature of healthcare in the decades to come, this book is perfect for healthcare professionals, medical scientists, health service managers and public health experts looking for a critical examination of the topic.
Publication Date: 2016
Evidence-Based Medicine: how to practice and teach EBM by Sharon E. Straus; Paul Glasziou; W. Scott Richardson; R. Brian HaynesNow in its fifth edition, this classic introduction to the practice and teaching of evidence-based medicine is written for busy clinicians at any stage of their career who want to learn how to practise and teach evidence-based medicine (EBM). It is short and practical, emphasizing direct clinical application of EBM and tactics to practise and teach EBM in real-time. The online toolkit includes Critical appraisal worksheets, Educational prescription, Pocket Cards, EBM calculators, Educational Prescriptions, Clinical Questions log, Self evaluations. Thoroughly updated with examples from latest evidence/studies. Revised electronic ancillaries, now available online Expanded coverage of audit and measuring quality improvement. Teaching moments now indexed for easy reference. New contributing authors Reena Pattani and Areti Angeliki Veroniki
Publication Date: 2018
How to Read a Paper: the basics of evidence-based medicine and healthcare by Trisha GreenhalghRequired reading in many medical and healthcare institutions, How to Read a Paper is a clear and wide-ranging introduction to evidence-based medicine and healthcare, helping readers to understand its central principles, critically evaluate published data, and implement the results in practical settings. Author Trisha Greenhalgh guides readers through each fundamental step of inquiry, from searching the literature to assessing methodological quality and appraising statistics. How to Read a Paper addresses the common criticisms of evidence-based healthcare, dispelling many of its myths and misconceptions, while providing a pragmatic framework for testing the validity of healthcare literature. Now in its sixth edition, this informative text includes new and expanded discussions of study bias, political interference in published reports, medical statistics, big data and more. Offers user-friendly guidance on evidence-based healthcare that is applicable to both experienced and novice readers Authored by an internationally recognised practitioner and researcher in evidence-based healthcare and primary care Includes updated references, additional figures, improved checklists and more How to Read a Paper is an ideal resource for healthcare students, practitioners and anyone seeking an accessible introduction to evidence-based healthcare.
Understanding Clinical Papers by David Owens; Bridgette Bewick; David Bowers; Allan HouseFor two decades, Understanding Clinical Papers has been helping students and professionals understand the research that supports evidence-based practice. Now in its fourth edition, this popular introductory textbook covers every major aspect of reading and evaluating clinical research literature, from identifying the aims and objectives of a paper to analysing the data with different multivariable methods. Numerous excerpts from actual clinical research papers make learning real and immediate, supported by a unique visual approach that reinforces key points and connects examples with the chapter material. The fourth edition includes extensively revised content throughout, including four brand-new chapters covering qualitative studies, Poisson regression, studies of complex interventions, and research using previously collected data. New and updated material discusses the difference between clinical and statistical significance, the consequences of multiple testing and methods of correction, how topic guides are used to explore and explain participants' experiences, standardised guidelines for writing trials and reviews, and much more. Offering clear explanations of important research-related topics, this reader-friendly resource: Offers a clear, concise, and accessible approach to learning how to read and analyse clinical research literature Features new coverage of qualitative research, including descriptive studies, sampling and populations, and identifying, summarising, and measuring qualitative characteristics Provides new material on missing data, sub-group analysis, feasibility and pilot studies, cluster randomised trials, and adaptive trial designs Includes new tables, abstracts, and excerpts from recent clinical research literature Understanding Clinical Papers is essential reading for all healthcare professionals and students, particularly those involved in clinical work and medical research, as well as general readers wanting to improve their understanding of research literature.
Publication Date: 2021
Sources of Evidence at Berkeley
Start your search with evidence sources at the top and work your way down.