The journal literature is rich with pharmaceutical research. Here are some suggested databases:
Basic and Clinical Pharmacology by
Master key pharmacological concepts and practices with the most comprehensive, authoritative guide available Presented in full-color and packed with hundreds of illustrations, Basic and Clinical Pharmacology is the wide-ranging, engaging guide students have counted on for decades. Organized to reflect the course sequence in many pharmacology courses and in integrated curricula, the guide covers the important concepts students need to know about the science of pharmacology and its application to clinical practice. This edition has been extensively updated to provide expanded coverage of transporters, pharmacogenomics, and new drugs Delivers the knowledge and insight needed to excel in every facet of pharmacology!. Encompasses all aspects of medical pharmacology, including botanicals and over-the-counter drugs Major revisions of the chapters on immunopharmacology, antiseizure, antipsychotic, antidepressant, antidiabetic, anti-inflammatory, and antiviral drugs, prostaglandins, and central nervous system neurotransmitters New chapter on the increasingly relevant topic of cannabis pharmacology Each chapter opens with a case study, covers drug groups and prototypes, and closes with summary tables and diagrams that encapsulate important information Revised full-color illustrations provide more information about drug mechanisms and effects and help clarify important concepts Trade Name/Generic Name tables are provided at end of each chapter for easy reference when writing a chart order or prescription Includes descriptions of important new drugs released through May 2019 New and updated coverage of general concepts relating to recently discovered receptors, receptor mechanisms, and drug transporters
Drug-Induced Ocular Side Effects by
Written by global experts in the field of chemical- and drug-related ocular problems, Drug-Induced Ocular Side Effects, 8th Edition, provides need-to-know information on all aspects of ocular toxicology in one concise reference. This best-selling, user-friendly resource features a templated format, numerous full-color illustrations, and sweeping content updates throughout - all designed to eliminate uncertainty and ensure accurate diagnosis and treatment guidance. Provides comprehensive coverage of drugs' generic and trade names, primary uses, ocular and systemic side effects, and clinical significance. Features a unique side effect index, a new concise paperback format for portability, and clinical photos of ocular symptoms of adverse drug reactions. Covers dozens of new drugs used in the U.S. and internationally, as well as extensive updates to drug registry information to ensure access to the latest data. Includes expanded sections on how to follow patients with visual adverse drug reactions to chloroquine, hydroxychloroquine, isotretinoin, ethambutol, and more. Guidelines can be copied to use as patient handouts. Offers extensive discussions of principles of therapy, ocular drug delivery, methods to evaluate drug-induced visual side effects, and the role of electrophysiology and psychophysics. Provides the WHO classification system to help you determine whether a particular side effect is certain, probable, or likely to occur. Ideal for ophthalmologists, optometrists, and busy clinicians in primary care, emergency medicine, and more - anyone who needs quick, on-the-spot consultation on ocular toxicology. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Drug Delivery for the Retina and Posterior Segment Disease by
This book addresses the issues relating to a wide variety of ocular diseases from which millions of people suffer. Long-term challenges include visual impairment and ocular blindness. Certain ocular diseases are quite rare, whereas others, such as cataracts, age-related macular degeneration (AMD), and glaucoma, are very common, especially in the aging population. A rapid expansion of new technologies in ocular drug delivery and new drug candidates, including biologics, to treat these challenging diseases in the retina and posterior segments of the eye have recently emerged. These approaches are necessary because the eye has many unique barriers to drug delivery. Thus, this timely reference Drug Delivery for the Retina and Posterior Segment Disease compiles and analyzes recent advances in the research and development of drug delivery systems for retina and posterior segment diseases of the eye, with an emphasis on the use of implantable devices, iontophoresis as well as micro- and nanoparticles.
Extemporaneous Ophthalmic Preparations by
This book provides a list of concise extemporaneous ophthalmic preparations, and standardizes the formulation of the products by suggesting specific strength, route of administration, appropriate vehicle, and method of preparation. Pharmaceutical industries have greatly expanded their share of ophthalmic drugs in recent years. However, physicians and pharmacists are frequently called to prepare sterile products intended for ophthalmic use due to lack of availability of licensed drugs in the market. This book contains the most appropriate formulation of each medication based on published and documented stability data. Extemporaneous Ophthalmic Preparations is the first book of its kind, making it a unique and valuable companion for many physicians and pharmacy practitioners who are frequently engaged in the compounding of sterile ophthalmic preparation.
Goodman and Gilman's the Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics, 13th Edition by
The gold-standard of pharmacology texts - completely updated to reflect the latest research and developments A Doody's Core Title for 2019! Goodman & Gilman's: The Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics, Thirteenth Edition represents the pinnacle of authority and accuracy in describing the actions and uses of therapeutic agents in relation to physiology and pathophysiology. Goodman & Gilman's careful balance of basic science and clinical application has guided thousands of practitioners and students to a clear understanding of the drugs essential to preventing, diagnosing, and treating disease. The Thirteenth Edition includes more than 500 color illustrations, with many new figures emphasizing mechanisms of drug action. More than 30 new contributors have added to this edition, while the focus on basic principles is undiminished. This edition is enhanced by timely new content: * NEW chapters including Treatment of Pulmonary Arterial Hypertension, Immunity and Inflammation, Immunoglobulins and Vaccines, and Treatment of Viral Hepatitis * Expanded coverage of cardiovascular disease, with separate chapters on myocardial ischemia, hypertension, and heart failure * Increased emphasis on cellular signaling pathways involved in drug action * Summary tables at the end of each chapter that organize drugs discussed in that chapter into relevant categories and detail therapeutic usage, clinical pharmacology, and tips * Chapter Content Outlines at the beginning of each chapter * Abbreviation boxes in every chapter to easily identify the abbreviations appearing in that chapter More than a textbook, Goodman & Gilman's is a working template for the effective and rational prescribing of drugs in daily practice.
Handbook of Basic and Clinical Ocular Pharmacology and Therapeutics by
Handbook of Basic and Clinical Ocular Pharmacology and Therapeutics provides a review of the basic anatomy, physiology, biochemistry and pathology of the eye with a focus drug therapy, drug delivery and use of therapeutic medical miniature devices. An understanding of the pharmacological actions of drugs acting on the eye requires the student and health care practitioner to learn additional principles in basic and clinical sciences that are unique to this organ. As a sensory organ, the eye is relatively inaccessible to the systemic circulation due to the blood-vitreous, blood-aqueous and blood-retinal barriers. Consequently, the administration of drugs for therapeutic effects in the eye necessitates an understanding of physico-chemical properties of the molecules and pharmacokinetic principles involved in the access to its site of action via topical, intracameral and intravitreal administration. This book includes information on the general principles of pharmacokinetics and pharmacodynamics of drugs as it pertains to the eye and in combating ocular disorders and diseases. Using a disease-themed approach, the book discusses basic and clinical pharmacological principles involved in the therapy of these diseases including the ocular side effect of systemically-administered drugs, drugs used in ophthalmic surgery and miscellaneous agents, the therapeutic utility of biologics, drug conjugates, combination products, gene and cellular therapy are also covered. Handbook of Basic and Clinical Ocular Pharmacology and Therapeutics is useful as a primary and secondary source of reference for up-to-date information about the pharmacological mechanisms of action, pharmacokinetics, side effects, drug-drug interactions and therapeutic indications of drugs for pharmacologists, pharmaceutical scientists, students in the health care disciplines (nursing, pharmacy, optometry, medical), and practitioners in optometry and ophthalmology. Explains the mechanisms of action, side-effects and therapeutic uses of drugs, biologics, miniature devices, gene and cellular therapies for the eye Provides a comprehensive review of the anatomy, physiology, biochemistry, pharmacology, microbiology, genetics and pathology of parts of the eye involved in drug therapy to combat eye disorders and diseases Explores the pharmacological and clinical basis of drugs, drug conjugates, combination products used in the treatment of anterior and posterior segment diseases
Meyler's Side Effects of Drugs: the international encyclopedia of adverse drug reactions and interactions by
Meyler's Side Effects of Drugs: The International Encyclopedia of Adverse Drug Reactions and Interactions, Sixteenth Edition builds on the success of the 15 previous editions, providing an extensively reorganized and expanded resource that now comprises more than 1,500 individual drug articles with the most complete coverage of adverse reactions and interactions found anywhere. Each article contains detailed and authoritative information about the adverse effects of each drug, with comprehensive references to the primary literature, making this a must-have reference work for any academic or medical library, pharmacologist, regulatory organization, hospital dispensary, or pharmaceutical company. The online version of the book provides an unparalleled depth of coverage and functionality by offering convenient desktop access and enhanced features such as increased searchability, extensive internal cross-linking, and fully downloadable and printable full-text, HTML or PDF articles.
Pharmacology of Ocular Therapeutics by
This book comprises an integrated review of ocular therapeutics across all relevant fields. It addresses the real-world requirements of ophthalmologists, pharmacists and optometrists, as observed through working alongside these practitioners for two decades. Knowledge surrounding agents used in ophthalmic practice has, historically, been scattered. The book facilitates understanding of ocular drug therapy by compiling all key aspects of the pharmacology, toxicology, pharmaceutical science, ocular biochemistry and cell biology of these agents. Chapters detail drug transfer across barriers, systemic toxicity of topically applied drugs, autonomic drugs used for diagnostics, as well as anti-inflammatory, antiallergic, glaucoma and antimicrobial therapies, and avenues for the development of new ocular drugs. Applications of extemporaneously prepared formulations are described to inform day-to-day clinical practice. The use of mucoadhesive polymers in tear substitutes, ocular drug delivery systems, stem cell therapy, pharmacogenomics and antiangiogenic ocular chemotherapy are also explored. The book also provides insights from drugs of herbal origin, and a historical perspective on drugs for ocular use. Practicing and resident ophthalmologists, optometrists, pharmacists, nursing professionals, scholars in ocular drug research and students will equally benefit from this comprehensive guide.