Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Optometry Residents: Articles & Keeping Current

Search for Articles by Topic

OPTOMETRY AND BIOMEDICAL DATABASES

PubMed

Additional biomedical databases


BIOLOGY AND NEUROSCIENCE


PSYCHOLOGY AND COGNITIVE SCIENCE


ENGINEERING & TECHNOLOGY


GENERAL SCIENCE

PICO Framework for Optometry Research Questions

Use PICO to frame research questions. Determine the population or problem, the intervention, a comparison intervention, and outcomes. Use the keywords for those ideas in your searches.

Population / problem examples: astigmatism, myopia, cataracts, eye tracking, children, adults, aged

Intervention examples: corrective lens, surgery

Comparison interventions are optional

Outcome examples: improved vision

Embase database has a handy PICO search form.

Keeping Current

Library catalogs and article databases (such as PubMed and Google Scholar) allow you to save searches and create "alerts." You will thus receive notification when citations, books, etc. that meet your search criteria are added to the database.
Creating Alerts: PubMed (Instructions and 1.5 minute video).
How to sign up for email alerts in Google Scholar.

In addition, most journals allow you to receive electronic tables of contents ("eTOCs") as new issues come out, or as new articles are posted to their web site.
Keep in mind that once you are not affiliated with UC Berkeley, you will not be able to access the full text of every article from these journal tables of contents unless the article is open access or otherwise freely provided from the publisher.
Alerts and eTOCs may be set up for delivery via email or RSS feed.

Optometry, Ophthalmology, Optics Journals

Here is a list of Optometry, Ophthalmology, and Optics journals from the National Library of Medicine, NIH. You may use this to help you set up delivery of electronic tables of contents. Please note this list includes journals that are no longer publishing.

Search Operators and Tips

Find the PDF Copy of an Article

In the database search results, click the Get it at UC icon button to check for an online copy of the article.
Or, search by article title in UC Library Search; if it is available online, there will be a link to access it.

Searching for Citing References

It can be helpful to identify articles that cite your key references.  There are a number of databases that can help with this. Start with Scopus, Web of Science, or Google Scholar. The more specialized databases may provide additional citing references.