It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Moffitt Library is opening Aug. 22. Other libraries will have updated services and hours. Learn more.
Experimental procedures in bioinformatics, cell biology, genetics, molecular biology, neuroscience, toxicology, and other research areas. Click "Journals" at the top of the page to see a full list of titles.
Provides access to Current Protocols in Bioinformatics, Control Protocols in Field Analytical Chemistry, and others in the Current Protocols series.
A repository of shared protocols submitted by researchers. Note: UC students, faculty, and staff have access to premium features such as unlimited private group files, shared notebook records, unlimited storage, and protocol import assistance. For more information about signing up for your free Premium account, please visit this page.
Experimental procedures in biochemistry, bioinformatics, biotechnology, cancer biology, cell biology, genetics/genomics, imaging/radiology, infectious diseases, microbiology, molecular biology and medicine, neuroscience, pharmacology/toxicology, plant sciences, and protein science.
Online versions of Methods in Molecular Biology and Methods in Molecular Medicine. Content includes biochemistry, biotechnology, genetics, microbiology, molecular and cell biology, neuroscience, oncology, and proteomics.
Ethics and Integrity in Health and Life Sciences Research by Zvonimir Koporc (Volume Editor)Life and health sciences and biomedical studies have developed rapidly over the last few decades raising previously unanticipated ethical concerns and questions. New and emerging technologies require novel approaches, protocols and raised awareness to ensure adequate levels of biosecurity and biosafety as well as the implementation of special measures to prevent their potential misuse or dual use. This volume brings together an international collection of prominent ethics experts in health and life sciences, with the aim of providing clear and comprehensive guidelines for the establishment of efficient ethical strategies related to current and emerging biotechnologies and health research. Important current topics in research ethics includingCRISPR-Cas9 technologies, gene editing, 'big data' in healthcare and life sciences, nutrition in medicine among other topics have found their place in this volume. In addition, the volume discusses the prospects for the implementation of an international unification of ethical standards in life sciences.
Publication Date: 2019
Ethics in Participatory Research for Health and Social Well-Being by Sarah Banks (Editor); Mary Brydon-Miller (Editor)Participatory research is well-established as an approach involving people with a direct interest in, or experience of, the issue being studied in carrying out some aspects of the research. However, it raises unique and challenging ethical issues. Traditional concerns with respect for the rights to confidentiality, consent, privacy and protection of ¿research informants¿ do not translate easily into participatory research. Boundaries between researchers and those researched are often blurred; research trajectories may be emergent and unpredictable; and major ethical issues revolve around partnership, power, equality and respect for diverse knowledges. The book introduces the key ethical issues in participatory research, drawing on ethical theory and relevant literature before presenting seven substantive chapters, each on a different theme, such as power, ownership, confidentiality and boundaries. The chapters feature an introductory overview of the topic with reference to the literature, followed by four real-life case examples written by participatory researchers and short commentaries on each case. Drawn from around the world (from Denmark to Tanzania), the cases illustrate a range of ethical issues, outlining how they were handled and the reflections and feelings of the contributors. Focusing on developing ethical awareness, confidence and courage to act in ethically challenging situations in everyday research practice, this book is an invaluable resource for all participatory researchers.
Publication Date: 2019
Ethics in Science: Ethical Misconduct in Scientific Research by John G. D'AngeloProviding the tools necessary for a robust debate, this fully revised and updated second edition of Ethics in Science: Ethical Misconduct in Scientific Researchexplains various forms of scientific misconduct. The first part describes a variety of ethical violations, why they occur, how they are handled, and what can be done to prevent them along with a discussion of the peer-review process. The second presents real-life case studies that review the known facts, allowing readers to decide for themselves whether an ethical violation has occurred and if so, what should be done. With 4 new chapters and an updated selection of case studies, this text provides resources for guided discussion of topical controversies and how to prevent scientific misconduct. Key Features: Fully revised and updated text which explains the various forms of scientific misconduct. New chapters include hot topics such as Ethics of the Pharmaceutical Industry, The Responsibility of Science to the Environment and Summary of Ethics Guidelines of STEM Professional Societies. Provides the necessary tools to lead students in the discussion of topical controversies. Includes descriptions of real ethical case studies, a number of which are new for the Second Edition. This book is applicable to any science and any level of education.
Publication Date: 2018
Guide for the Care and Use of Laboratory Animals by National Research CouncilA respected resource for decades, the Guide for the Care and Use of Laboratory Animals has been updated by a committee of experts, taking into consideration input from the scientific and laboratory animal communities and the public at large. The Guide incorporates new scientific information on common laboratory animals, including aquatic species, and includes extensive references. It is organized around major components of animal use: Key concepts of animal care and use. The Guide sets the framework for the humane care and use of laboratory animals. Animal care and use program. The Guide discusses the concept of a broad Program of Animal Care and Use, including roles and responsibilities of the Institutional Official, Attending Veterinarian and the Institutional Animal Care and Use Committee. Animal environment, husbandry, and management. A chapter on this topic is now divided into sections on terrestrial and aquatic animals and provides recommendations for housing and environment, husbandry, behavioral and population management, and more. Veterinary care. The Guide discusses veterinary care and the responsibilities of the Attending Veterinarian. It includes recommendations on animal procurement and transportation, preventive medicine (including animal biosecurity), and clinical care and management. The Guide addresses distress and pain recognition and relief, and issues surrounding euthanasia. Physical plant. The Guide identifies design issues, providing construction guidelines for functional areas; considerations such as drainage, vibration and noise control, and environmental monitoring; and specialized facilities for animal housing and research needs. The Guide for the Care and Use of Laboratory Animals provides a framework for the judgments required in the management of animal facilities. This updated and expanded resource of proven value will be important to scientists and researchers, veterinarians, animal care personnel, facilities managers, institutional administrators, policy makers involved in research issues, and animal welfare advocates.
Publication Date: 2010
On Being a Scientist: A Guide to Responsible Conduct in Research (3rd ed) by National Academy of Sciences; National Academy of Engineering Staff; Institute of MedicineThe scientific research enterprise is built on a foundation of trust. Scientists trust that the results reported by others are valid. Society trusts that the results of research reflect an honest attempt by scientists to describe the world accurately and without bias. But this trust will endure only if the scientific community devotes itself to exemplifying and transmitting the values associated with ethical scientific conduct. "On Being a Scientist" was designed to supplement the informal lessons in ethics provided by research supervisors and mentors. The book describes the ethical foundations of scientific practices and some of the personal and professional issues that researchers encounter in their work. It applies to all forms of research--whether in academic, industrial, or governmental settings-and to all scientific disciplines. This third edition of "On Being a Scientist" reflects developments since the publication of the original edition in 1989 and a second edition in 1995. A continuing feature of this edition is the inclusion of a number of hypothetical scenarios offering guidance in thinking about and discussing these scenarios. "On Being a Scientist" is aimed primarily at graduate students and beginning researchers, but its lessons apply to all scientists at all stages of their scientific careers.
Publication Date: 2009
ORI Introduction to the Responsible Conduct of Research (Rev. ed) by Nicholas H. SteneckThe ORI Introduction to the Responsible Conduct of Research draws together in a single, easy-to-read book the fundamentals of responsible research. Readers are guided through the complex world of regulations and best practices, from initial design through to publication. Each chapter is devoted to one of ORI's nine core areas, include: research misconduct, human and animal research, data management, conflict of interest, collaboration, mentoring, authorship and peer review. While it is often assumed that researchers learn responsible practices on the job, many do not. And unfortunately, sometimes what they learn on the job is misguided or wrong. The ORI Introduction to RCR provides an easy way for anyone from beginning undergraduate researcher to experienced postdoc, faculty member or industrial scientist to learn what society expects of them as professionals. Opening cases, study questions, and additional readings make this book ideal for classroom use. A series of original cartoons by artist David Zinn at the beginning of each chapter use humor as a way to engage the reader in this serious and vitally important topic. This important and authoritative publication was created by the U.S. Government to further activities and support programs that enhance education in the responsible conduct of scientific research. It supplements existing resources by making a comprehensive overview of basic rules of the road for responsible research available to all Public Health Service funded researchers, with a special focus on the needs of small and mid-size research institution and beginning researchers in mind.
Publication Date: 2007
Resolving Ethical Dilemmas: A Guide for Clinicians by Bernard LoWhat are the ethical issues raised by the increasing use of big data and artificial intelligence in health care? How should physicians respond when they have a conscientious objection to an intervention requested by a patient? How should health care organizations respond to physician requests? How can physicians best help patients make informed decisions about end-of-life and life-sustaining care? How should interns and residents respond to ethical dilemmas created by duty hours restrictions? Resolving Ethical Dilemmas: A Guide for Clinicians helps residents, students, and practitioners work through these and many more common and challenging ethical questions that affect patient care. The 6th Edition reflects important changes in medicine and healthcare policy and provides additional clarity to complex concepts. Offering practical, real-world advice, it helps you think through and resolve difficult cases, prompting thoughtful, well-reasoned answers to the question of "What do I do in this situation?" Begins with a concise discussion of clinical ethics that provides background information essential to understanding key ethical issues. Explores a wide range of real-world ethical dilemmas, each accompanied by expert guidance on salient issues and how to approach them. Provides new insights on cases related to oncology, palliative care, family medicine, clinical practice guidelines, genetic testing, the electronic health record, opioid prescriptions, evidence-based medicine, ambulatory care, quality improvement, and advance care planning. Helps you work thorough challenges such as how to handle changes arising from the Affordable Care Act, how to manage treatment when it no longer works for the patient, and much more. Uses a highly visual, two-color design to facilitate retention of material. Enhance Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.