Comparative Ethnic Studies

This work examines the efforts of our diverse nation to secure civil rights for its entire people including African Americans, Native Americans, Chicanos, women, Asian Americans, workers, gays and lesbians, children, seniors and numerous others. Covering the period from 1865 to 2000, the set features more than 700 entries on civil rights and other organizations; political and social movements; legislation and government programs; court cases; overall concepts; cultural and educational institutions; as well as, film, literature, music and art.

This updated and augmented third edition of this landmark encyclopedia contains approximately 1000 entries dealing in depth with the history of the scientific, technological and medical accomplishments of cultures outside of the United States and Europe. The entries consist of fully updated articles together with hundreds of entirely new topics adorned with full color pictures. This unique reference work includes intercultural articles on broad topics such as mathematics and astronomy as well as thoughtful philosophical articles on concepts and ideas related to the study of non-Western Science, such as rationality, objectivity, and method. You'll also find material on religion and science, East and West, and magic and science. This amazing resource even contains entries on fascinating esoteric topics such as Native American mathematics, Polynesian navigation, and African Metallurgy. There are also biographical articles for those cultures where individual scientists are known to us, such as China and the Islamic world

The Encyclopedia of Activism and Social Justice presents a comprehensive overview of the field with topics of varying dimensions, breadth, and length. This three-volume Encyclopedia is designed for readers to understand the topics, concepts, and ideas that motivate and shape the fields of activism, civil engagement, and social justice and includes biographies of the major thinkers and leaders who have influenced and continue to influence the study of activism.

The Encyclopedia of African American Society is the first comprehensive and accessible reference set in this field to give voice to the turbulent trends, past and present, that are often ignored in favor of mere facts. Although numerous biographical, chronological and bibliographical reference works exist, none seeks to capture, in a single set, the ways in which the tenets and foundations of African American culture have given rise to today's society. This two-volume encyclopedia fills the gap and has become a staple in collections in school, public and academic libraries. The encyclopedia is anchored by alphabetically arranged essays on such topics as abolitionism, affirmative action, and the civil rights movement, and contains hundreds of shorter articles on notable African Americans, groundbreaking events, sports and culture, labor and significant heritage sites. Key Features Over 700 signed articles, organized A-Z More than 50 photographs Reader's guide facilitates easy browsing for relevant articles Comprehensive index and bibliography Topics Covered Concepts and Theories Fine Arts, Theater, and Entertainment Health and Education History and Heritage Literature Media Movements and Events Music and Dance Organizations and Institutions Places Politics and Policy Popular Culture Religion and Beliefs The Road to Freedom Science, Technology, and Business Social Issues Special Populations Sports Advisory Board

Race riots are the most glaring and contemporary displays of the racial strife running through America's history. Mostly urban, mostly outside the South, and mostly white-instigated, the number and violence of race riots increased as blacks migrated out of the rural South and into the North and West's industrialized cities during the early part of the twentieth-century. Though white / black violence has been the most common form of racial violence, riots involving Asians and Hispanics are also included and examined. Race riots are the most glaring and contemporary displays of the racial strife running through America's history. Mostly urban, mostly outside the South, and mostly white-instigated, the number and violence of race riots increased as blacks migrated out of the rural South and into the North and West's industrialized cities during the early part of the twentieth-century. While most riots have occurred within the past century, the encyclopedia reaches back to colonial history, giving the encyclopedia an unprecedented historical depth. Though white on black violence has been the most common form of racial violence, riots involving other racial and ethnic groups, such as Asians and Hispanics, are also included and examined. Organized A-Z, topics include: notorious riots like the Tulsa Riots of 1921, the Los Angeles Riots of 1965 and 1992; the African-American community's preparedness and responses to this odious form of mass violence; federal responses to rioting; an examination of the underlying causes of rioting; the reactions of prominent figures such as H. Rap Brown and Martin Luther King, Jr to rioting; and much more. Many of the entries describe and analyze particular riots and violent racial incidents, including the following: Belleville, Illinois, Riot of 1903 Harlem, New York, Riot of 1943 Howard Beach Incident, 1986 Jackson State University Incident, 1970 Los Angeles, California, Riot of 1992 Memphis, Tennessee, Riot of 1866 Red Summer Race Riots of 1919 Southwest Missouri Riots 1894-1906 Texas Southern University Riot of 1967 Entries covering the victims and opponents of race violence, include the following: Black Soldiers, Lynching of Black Women, Lynching of Diallo, Amadou Hawkins, Yusef King, Rodney Randolph, A. Philip Roosevelt, Eleanor Till, Emmett, Lynching of Turner, Mary, Lynching of Wells-Barnett, Ida B. Many entries also cover legislation that has addressed racial violence and inequality, as well as groups and organizations that have either fought or promoted racial violence, including the following: Anti-Lynching League Civil Rights Act of 1957 Economic Opportunity Act of 1964 Ku Klux Klan National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP) Nation of Islam Vigilante Organizations White League Other entries focus on relevant concepts, trends, themes, and publications. Besides almost 300 cross-referenced entries, most of which conclude with lists of additional readings, the encyclopedia also offers a timeline of racial violence in the United States, an extensive bibliography of print and electronic resources, a selection of important primary documents, numerous illustrations, and a detailed subject index.

This four-volume set examines every social movement in American history - from the great struggles for abolition, civil rights, and women's equality to the more specific quests for prohibition, consumer safety, unemployment insurance, and global justice.

A comprehensive reference work on the development of athletics in the United States; this encyclopedia examines the sporting experience of Native Americans, African Americans and the immigrant groups of the United States from Colonial times to the present. It includes entries on racial and ethnic groups, ethnic sports, mainstream sports, ethnic and racial institutions and famous sports figures. The category of ethnic sports includes games and pastimes that Native American Indians and immigrants have played to help preserve their ancestral traditions and cultural identity in the United States. The articles on mainstream sports chronicle and analyze the participation and contribution of racial and immigrant groups in the most popular pastimes that evolved from early English folk games or contests (such as baseball, football, and boxing), to American inventions (basketball). The book also includes entries on racial and ethnic sporting clubs, leagues, and institutions, as well as prominent athletes, sportswriters, officials, and managers. References follow each entry and there is also a selected bibliography at the end of the book that lists the most useful secondary sources in the fields of race and ethnicity in American sports. This book will not only be a valuable resource for both academic and public libraries, but also for collections in sports associations and ethnic groups.

When Columbus arrived in 1492, the first free black person—a sailor—set foot in the Americas. Over the next 400 years, as slavery spread and became entrenched in the Western Hemisphere, free blacks built communities throughout North and South America, playing a critical role in every region, colony, and country. From Canada to the Caribbean to Chile, they established vital economic and social institutions, championed the cause of abolition, and formed a bridge between the worlds of free whites and enslaved blacks. They worked as artisans, farmers, journalists, ministers, merchants, and shipbuilders. Many free blacks served in the military and fought in every major war, including the American Revolution, the Haitian Revolution, and the Latin American wars for independence. Others served in government, and some—like presidents Bernardino Rivadavia of Argentina and Vicente Guerrero of Mexico—became national leaders. Free people of color in the United States and the Americas hold a unique status in global history. Never before and never since has such a group existed in large numbers anywhere in the world. Long shrouded in obscurity and overshadowed by scholarship on slavery and race, the free black community in the Americas has become a growing and vibrant field of study. Historians have recently uncovered vast material on this important group, revealing how they lived, how they shaped society, and how they transformed the history of every nation in the Western Hemisphere. Encyclopedia of Free Blacks and People of Color in the Americas is the first reference to cover this crucial subject and provides a wealth of information not available anywhere else. Arranged alphabetically, this groundbreaking, two-volume encyclopedia includes articles on all major events, issues, and concepts relevant to the free black community in the United States from the colonial period to the Civil War and in the rest of the Western Hemisphere from the late 1400s to the late 1800s, when emancipation became universal. Nearly 400 signed articles cover every country, colony, state, city, and region in the Americas with a significant presence of free blacks, and biographies, thematic articles, and entries on related subjects shed additional light on this vital and fascinating topic. Entries include: Abolitionist movement in Brazil Zabeau Bellanton Captain Cudjoe Coffee cultivation Education and literacy Forten family Free black artisans French Caribbean Gender attitudes Guerrero (slave ship) Haitian Revolution La Escalera Plot Laws of free birth Legal discrimination on the basis of race Living "as free" Toussaint Louverture Maroons Marriage between free and slave Midwives and traditional healers Negro Convention Movement Rebecca Protten Somerset v. Stewart.  

SAGE Reference is proud to announce the Encyclopedia of Immigration and Migration in the American West. The Encyclopedia provides a complete and definite history of racial and ethnic groups that populated the American West, those states west of the 100th meridian. The volumes cover the settling of the West and include coverage of movements of native American tribes, African Americans and the often underreported role of women in the West's development. Key features and benefits include: - illustrations, maps and photos from international archives; - bilbiographical entires detailing the settling of the American West; - unique coverage of the migration of native American tribes; - discussion of the role of African Americans in the development of the American West; - focus on women in the migration and immigraton of the American West. Key themes: - American Natives - Biographies - Cities and Towns - Economic Change and War - Ethnic and Racial Groups - Immigration Laws and Policies - Libraries - Natural Resources Events and Laws - The Way West The Encyclopedia of Immigration and Migration in the American West is a unique addition to any academic or public library.

This three volume reference set offers a comprehensive look at the roles race and ethnicity play in society and in our daily lives. General readers, students, and scholars alike will appreciate the informative coverage of intergroup relations in the United States and the comparative examination of race and ethnicity worldwide. These volumes offer a foundation to understanding as well as researching racial and ethnic diversity from a multidisciplinary perspective. Over a hundred racial and ethnic groups are described, with additional thematic essays offering insight into broad topics that cut across group boundaries and which impact on society. The encyclopedia has alphabetically arranged author-signed essays with references to guide further reading. Numerous cross-references aid the reader to explore beyond specific entries, reflecting the interdependent nature of race and ethnicity operating in society. The text is supplemented by photographs, tables, figures and custom-designed maps to provide an engaging visual look at race and ethnicity. An easy-to-use statistical appendix offers the latest data with carefully selected historical comparisons to aid study and research in the area

"The organization of the reader's guide-especially the groupings of landmark cases, race riots, and criminology theories-is impressive ... Other related titles lack the breadth, detail, and accessibility of this work ... Recommended for all libraries; essential for comprehensive social studies collections." -Library Journal As seen almost daily on local and national news, race historically and presently figures prominently in crime and justice reporting within the United States, in the areas of hate crimes, racial profiling, sentencing disparities, wrongful convictions, felon disenfranchisement, political prisoners, juveniles and the death penalty, and culturally specific delinquency prevention programs. The Encyclopedia of Race and Crime covers issues in both historical and contemporary context, with information on race and ethnicity and their impact on crime and the administration of justice. These two volumes offer a greater appreciation for the similar historical experiences of varied racial and ethnic groups and illustrate how race and ethnicity has mattered and continues to matter in the administration of American criminal justice. Key Features Covers a number of broad thematic areas: basic concepts and theories of criminal justice; the police, courts, and corrections; juvenile justice; public policy; the media; organizations; specific groups and populations; and specific cases and biographies Addresses such topics as gender, hate/bias crimes, immigrant experiences, international and cross-cultural issues, race and gangs, and race and law, Presents experiences of all major racial and ethnic groups in the U.S., including Asians, Blacks, Latinos, Native Americans, and Ethnic Whites, as well as religious minorities, such as Muslims Includes coverage of recent incidents like the alleged rape of a black female North C

Developed from the critically acclaimed and commercially successful Dictionary of Race and Ethnic Relations, now in its fourth edition, Encyclopedia of Race and Ethnic Studies has been assembled by a world-class team of international scholars led by Ellis Cashmore to provide an authoritative, single-volume reference work on all aspects of race and ethnic studies. From Aboriginal Australians to xenophobia, Nelson Mandela to Richard Wagner, sexuality to racial profiling, the Encyclopedia is organized alphabetically and reflects cultural diversity in a global context. The entries range from succinct 400 word definitions to in-depth 2000 word essays to provide comprehensive coverage of: all the key terms, concepts and debates important figures, both historical and contemporary landmark cases historical events Although unafraid to engage with cutting-edge theory, the Encyclopedia is uncluttered by jargon and has been written in a lucid, 'facts-fronted' style to offer an accessible introduction to race and ethnic studies. The Encyclopedia is also fully cross-referenced and thoroughly indexed with most entries followed by annotated up-to-date suggestions for further reading to guide the user to the key sources. It is destined to become an essential resource for scholars and students of race and ethnic studies, as well as a handy reference for journalists and others working in the field.

The Encyclopedia of Race and Racism is the first such work examining the anthropological, sociological, historical, economic, and scientific theories of race and racism in the modern era. The set delves into the historic origins of ideas of race and racism and explores their social and scientific consequences. Some of the nearly 400 articles address broad theoretical topics that have helped to shape modern ideas about race and racism; others address more specific subjects in the larger fields. The set includes biographies of dozens of significant theorists, as well as political and social leaders and notorious racists. The Encyclopedia of Race and Racism also includes a carefully chosen selection of primary documents that enhance and reinforce the content of the articles. Set includes a thematic outline, a filmography, and a comprehensive general index.

This set covers U.S. racism from Colonial times to the present day and looks at all the groups discriminated against at one time or another - Arabs and Muslims; who are the most recent targets; blacks: Asians; Native Americans. Latinos: European immigrants: Jews. It is the first to explore the magnitude of the explosive issue and does so in a non-inflammatory manner. More than 450 essay entries present key terms, organizations, movements, incidents, forums, texts, individuals, legislation, theories, and the like. The wide range of entries will facilitate cross-disciplinary reading and research school students end the general reader. As an authoritative ready-reference source, it will be crucial for understanding of the minority groups and their experiences with the dominant culture.Most entries contain suggestions for further reading. A timeline, photos, and a host of primary documents complement the entries.

Unlike any other book of its kind, this volume celebrates published works from a broad range of American ethnic groups not often featured in the typical canon of literature. * Highlights the most important print and electronic resources on multicultural literature through a detailed bibliography * Features entries from 50 contributors, all of whom are experts in their fields * Includes cultural works not often highlighted in traditional textbooks, such as Iranian American literature, Dominican American literature, and Puerto Rican American literature

Unlike any other book of its kind, this volume celebrates published works from a broad range of American ethnic groups not often featured in the typical canon of literature. * Highlights the most important print and electronic resources on multicultural literature through a detailed bibliography * Features entries from 50 contributors, all of whom are experts in their fields * Includes cultural works not often highlighted in traditional textbooks, such as Iranian American literature, Dominican American literature, and Puerto Rican American literature

Firsthand sources are brought together to illuminate the diversity of American history in a unique way-by sharing the perspectives of people of color who participated in landmark events. * Highlights the history and experience of people of color in the United States through 450 important documents and firsthand accounts * Introduces readers to multiple viewpoints about landmark events * Provides a unique and helpful "Guide to Why and How to Use Primary Documents"

This definitive 8-volume reference is a comprehensive print resource covering the history of protest and revolution over the past 500 years - throughout the modern era of mass movements. For more information see www.revolutionprotestencyclopedia.com. Definitive reference work on the role of popular agency in transforming the world in which we live First historical encyclopedia to provide scholars and teachers and students with the information they need to understand the role and significance and origin of protest and revolution from 1500 to the present 8-volume major reference in A-Z format, with entries ranging from 500 to 14,000 words Provides clear, concise explanations of events and larger social movements, and biographies of key people Presents major uprisings and protest movements, and the ideas, ideologies and activists that propelled them, chronicles the manner in which they unfolded, traces their roots, goals, tactics, and influence, and evaluates their successes and failures Internationally diverse editorial board and contributors Includes over 150 photographs, figures, and maps An online electronic version is also available (ISBN 978-1-4051-9807-3).  In addition to the features of the print version, the online version provides: Regular revisions and new entries - updated once a year Links to comprehensive collection through Blackwell Reference online Links to other resources available on the web Powerful searching, browsing, and cross-referencing capabilities, including Open URL linking

An homage to Raymond Williams' groundbreaking classic, Keywords for Radicals is both an update and an expansion of Williams' seminal work. Drawing on an impressive list of contributors, the editors bring together illuminating, incisive analyses of many of the seemingly axiomatic terms of twenty-first century radicalism, such as Allies, Gender, Occupation, Solidarity, Sustainable, Violence and War, among many others - including, of course, Radical! Each entry highlights contested variations, evolution of usage and historical mutations.

How is race defined and perceived in America today, and how do these definitions and perceptions compare to attitudes 100 years ago... or 200 years ago? This four-volume set is the definitive source for every topic related to race in the United States. In the 21st century, it is easy for some students and readers to believe that racism is a thing of the past; in reality, old wounds have yet to heal, and new forms of racism are taking shape. Racism has played a role in American society since the founding of the nation, in spite of the words "all men are created equal" within the Declaration of Independence. This set is the largest and most complete of its kind, covering every facet of race relations in the United States while providing information in a user-friendly format that allows easy cross-referencing of related topics for efficient research and learning. The work serves as an accessible tool for high school researchers, provides important material for undergraduate students enrolled in a variety of humanities and social sciences courses, and is an outstanding ready reference for race scholars. The entries provide readers with comprehensive content supplemented by historical backgrounds, relevant examples from primary documents, and first-hand accounts. Information is presented to interest and appeal to readers but also to support critical inquiry and understanding. A fourth volume of related primary documents supplies additional reading and resources for research.

Comprehensive, authoritative, interdisciplinary, and up-to-date, The Wiley-Blackwell Encyclopedia of Social and Political Movements contains over 400 entries across three volumes, exploring social and political movements and related collective phenomena throughout the world. Brings together a prestigious editorial team drawn from ten countries and from across four disciplines Covers a broad range of historical and modern topics reflecting significant social and political changes -from the French revolution, to the Chinese Communist Revolution, the global women's movement, to the Arab Spring, and from the American civil rights movement to contemporary environmentalism Organized, authored and edited by leading scholars, all of whom come to the project with exemplary track records and international standing Available online or as a three-volume print set, structured in a user-friendly A-Z format 3 Volumes www.socialmovementsencyclopedia.com