Library Guides: Comparative Ethnic Studies: Newspapers

Newspapers

Find access to contemporary and historical newspapers online, on microfilm, and at the UC Berkeley Libraries.

Newspaper Databases

19th Century U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Images of both full pages and clipped articles for hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers. (Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers)
For each issue, the newspaper is captured from cover-to-cover, providing access to every article, advertisement and illustration.
Access World News This link opens in a new window
Full-text information and perspectives from U.S. and international news sources. (America's newspapers - NewsBank - global newsbank)
Provides full-text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 700 international sources. Offers strong regional coverage, indexing more than California newspapers such as Contra Costa Times (1995-current), Sacramento Bee (1984-current), San Francisco Chronicle (1985-current), and San Jose Mercury News (1985-current). Search categories include: California newspapers (121 titles), Greater Los Angeles (54 titles), major metropolitan titles (13 titles), Spanish-language news sources (48 titles), the World (almost 2000 titles), US (855 titles).
African American Historical Newspapers (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
African American Historical Newspapers provides researchers with unprecedented access to perspectives and information that was excluded or marginalized in mainstream sources. Use this link to search across a range of newspapers significant to African American history.
Access includes: Atlanta Daily World‎ (1931 - 2010), The Baltimore Afro-American‎ (1893 - 2010), Chicago Defender‎ (1909 - 2010), Cleveland Call and Post (1934 - 2010), Los Angeles Sentinel‎ (1934 - 2010), Louisville Defender (1951 - 2010), Michigan Chronicle (1939 - 2010), New York Amsterdam News‎ (1922 - 2010), Norfolk Journal and Guide‎ (1916 - 2010), The Philadelphia Tribune (1912 - 2010), (Pittsburgh Courier‎ (1911 - 2010) .
African American Newspapers, Series I (1827-1998) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to over 280 African American newspapers from around the country.
This collection includes historically significant African American Newspapers from more than 35 states and features many rare 19th-century titles. Also includes several California titles like the Los Angeles Tribune (1943-1960), Oakland Sunshine (1915-1922), and Western Outlook (1914-1928), and the Elevator (1865-1898).
African Newspapers Series 1 (from the World Newspaper Archive (WNA)) This link opens in a new window
Digitized historical collection of Sub-Saharan Africa newspapers. [through 1923]
Includes over many full-text searchable historical newspapers published in Sub-Saharan Africa prior to 1923. Most titles are in English, with some coverage in African and other European languages.
African Newspapers Series 2 (from the World Newspaper Archive (WNA)) This link opens in a new window
WNA-African Newspapers, Series 2 contains 340,000 pages of content from African newspapers published between 1835 and 1925.
Titles from Algeria, Angola, Liberia, Madagascar, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, South Africa and Uganda offer deep and unique coverage of nearly a century of African history. Titles were selected from CRL and member collections to complement and extend the range of material available in Series 1.
Alt-Press Watch (APW) This link opens in a new window
Alternative, radical, and independent magazines, newspapers, and journals in North America. (AltPress Watch - altpresswatch) [1970 - present]
Reporting on politics and government, policy and culture, international issues, education, environment as well as reviews of theater, movies and books.
Alternative Press Index This link opens in a new window
Progressive, radical, and left North American magazines, newsletters, and journals. [1991 - present]
Approximately 90% of publications included are not indexed elsewhere. Indexes editorials, regular columns, essays, fiction; speeches, interviews, statistics, reprints; bibliographies, biographies, obituaries, memoirs; and reviews. Interfaces available for French, Spanish, Japanese, and Chinese. Alternative Press Index Archive provides coverage of materials from 1969 to 1990.
American Indian Newspapers This link opens in a new window
A collection of 45 national periodicals, local community news, and student publications from indigenous peoples of the U.S. and Canada. [1826-2016]
The bulk of titles were founded in the 1970s, documenting the proliferation of Indigenous journalism that grew out of the occupation of Wounded Knee, meeting the demand for objective reporting from within Indian Country.
AP Newsroom This link opens in a new window
Historical Associated Press photos. Also includes tens of thousands of graphics, audio files, and news stories and headlines. (Associated Press Photo Archive - AccuNet - AP Multimedia Archive - AP Photo Archive) [1826 - present]
4.6 million photographs from the Associated Press dating back to 1826 to the present. Historical photos date from 1996 to 1826. Also includes tens of thousands of graphics, over 4,500 hours of audio files dating from the 1920s, and news stories and headlines dating from 1997. Search by keyword to search all the images in the photo collection or do an advanced search to limit results.
Arab General News Database This link opens in a new window
Provides full text access to the news from 65 renowned Arabic dailies and weeklies in over 20 countries, from 1970s to present. A research tool, specialized in the political, economic, strategic, and social issues in the Arab world. [1970 to present]
Samples of the daily newspapers covered include: al-Ahram (Egypt), al-Zaman (Iraq), al-Dustur (Jordan), al-Nahar (Lebanon), al-Quds (Palestine), al-Hayat (Saudi Arabis) and more.
Asian American Drama This link opens in a new window
Plays by Asian American playwrights from the late 19th century to the present.
Includes the complete text of more than 250 plays, from the late 19th century to the present, representing the various ethnicities within the Asian American community including works by writers of Japanese, Filipino, Vietnamese, Chinese, Hawaiian, Indian, Thai, Korean, Persian and Malaysian ancestry. Also includes biographical, production and theatrical information.
California Digital Newspaper Collection This link opens in a new window
Users will need to create a free account in order to download PDFs. Contains significant historical California newspapers published from 1846-1922. [1849 - 1911]
Offers over 400,000 pages of California newspapers spanning the years 1849-1911: the Alta California, 1849-1891; the San Francisco Call, 1893-1910; the Amador Ledger, 1900-1911; the Imperial Valley Press, 1901-1911; the Sacramento Record-Union, 1859-1890; and the Los Angeles Herald, 1905-1907. Additional years are forthcoming, as are other early California newspapers: the Californian; the California Star; the California Star and Californian; the Sacramento Transcript; the Placer Times; and the Pacific Rural Press.
Communist Historical Newspaper Collection This link opens in a new window
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. [1919 - 2013]
Complete Database for Japanese Magazine and Periodicals from the Meiji Era to the Present This link opens in a new window
An index of Japanese journal and magazine articles from the Meiji period to the present, with a focus on academic materials.
Database of Japanese language magazines and periodicals.
Ethnic NewsWatch (ENWH) This link opens in a new window
Index of over 200 ethnic, minority, and native press publications, including news, culture, and history topics. Searchable in English and Spanish. (ENWALL) [1960 - present]
Also includes a retrospective backfile of titles (1960-1989).
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 This link opens in a new window
This collection represents the single largest compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. [1808-1980]
Historical Newspapers Online This link opens in a new window
Full text and index of newspapers covering British life and world affairs in the 19th and 20th centuries. Includes digitized articles from the Times (London) from 1800-1870, as well citations to the Times (London) from 1790-1980, and a partial index of the New York Times from 1863-1922. (Palmer's Full Text Online - Palmer's Index to the Times - Official Index to the Times - Historical Index to the New York Times)
Indexes newspapers covering all aspects of British life and world affairs in the 19th and 20th centuries. Contains four major historical resources: Palmer's Index to the Times which covers The Times (London, 1790-1905); The Official Index to the Times (1906-1980); The Historical Index to the New York Times (1863- 1922); and Palmer's Full Text Online (1785-1870).
Historical Newspapers Online This link opens in a new window
Full text and index of newspapers covering British life and world affairs in the 19th and 20th centuries. Includes digitized articles from the Times (London) from 1800-1870, as well citations to the Times (London) from 1790-1980, and a partial index of the New York Times from 1863-1922. (Palmer's Full Text Online - Palmer's Index to the Times - Official Index to the Times - Historical Index to the New York Times)
Indexes newspapers covering all aspects of British life and world affairs in the 19th and 20th centuries. Contains four major historical resources: Palmer's Index to the Times which covers The Times (London, 1790-1905); The Official Index to the Times (1906-1980); The Historical Index to the New York Times (1863- 1922); and Palmer's Full Text Online (1785-1870).
Independent and Revolutionary Mexican Newspapers This link opens in a new window
The Independent and Revolutionary Mexican Newspapers collection, with a preliminary release of 135,000 pages from 477 titles, will ultimately include approximately 1,000 titles from Mexico’s pre-independence, independence and revolutionary periods (1807-1929).
The collection traces the evolution of Mexico during this pivotal period and provides rare documentation of the dramatic events of this era, including coverage of Mexican partisan politics, yellow press, political and social satire, as well as local, regional, national and international news.
International Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
South China Morning Post, The Times of India, The Irish Times and The Weekly Irish Times‎ (1859 - 2016), The Jerusalem Post‎ (1932 - 2008), The Korea Times‎ (1956 - 2016), The Guardian and The Observer‎ (1791 - 2003), The Scotsman‎ (1817 - 1950), Chinese Newspaper Collection (1832 - 1953), The Globe and Mail‎ (1844 - 2019), Hindustan Times‎ (1924 - 2000), London Evening Standard‎ (1827 - current)
Japanese American Relocation Camp Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Searchable full text database of 25 newspapers written and produced by Japanese Americans interned during World War II.
"Although subject to censorship the newspapers document the day to day life of the internees. Titles includes: Rohwer Outpost, Poston Chronicle, Gila News Courier, Tulean Dispatch, Granada Pioneer, Minndoka Irrigator, Topaz Times, Manzanar Free Press, Denson Tribune, and Heart Mountain Sentinel. (1942-1945)"
National Index to Chinese Newspapers and Periodicals 1833-1992 全国报刊索引 This link opens in a new window
It searches indexes of newspapers and periodicals published in China between 1833-1992.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chinese Newspapers Collection This link opens in a new window
Gain insight into Chinese political and social life during the turbulent 120 year period from 1832 to 1953 with 12 English-language Chinese historical newspapers.
Included are critical perspectives on the ending of more than 2,000 years of imperial rule in China, the Taiping Rebellion, the Opium Wars with Great Britain, the Boxer Rebellion and the events leading up to the 1911 Xinhai Revolution, and the subsequent founding of the Republic of China. In addition to the article content, the full-image newspapers offer searchable access to advertisements, editorials, cartoons, and classified ads that illuminate history.
South Asian Newspapers (from the World Newspaper Archive (WNA)) This link opens in a new window
Digitized historical collection of South Asian newspapers. [late 19th C. - early 20th C.]
A growing collection of South Asian newspapers. Contains more than 200,000 pages of digitized content, including material from the Ceylon Observer, Indian People / Leader, Madras Mail, and the Tribune. Part of the World News Archive project from Readex/Newsbank.
U.S. Regional Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
The Arizona Republican‎ (1890 - 2007), The Atlanta Constitution (1868-1984), The Austin American Statesman‎ (1871 - 1978), The Baltimore Sun (1837 - 1992), The Boston Globe (1872-1986), The Christian Science Monitor (1908 - 2004), The Cincinnati Enquirer (1841 - 2009), Dayton Daily News (1898 - 1922), Detroit Free Press (1831 - 1999), Hartford Courant (1764 - 1992), Indianapolis Star (1903 - 2004), Louisville Courier Journal, Minneapolis Star Tribune‎ (1867 - 2001), The Nashville Tennessean (1812 - 2002), Newsday (1940 - 1989), New York Tribune / Herald Tribune (1841 - 1962), The Philadelphia Inquirer (1860 - 2001), Pittsburgh Post-Gazete (1786 - 2003), St. Louis Post Dispatch‎ (1874 - 2003), St. Petersburg Times/Tampa Bay Times (1901–2009)

Newspapers on Microfilm

What are microforms?
Before digital storage became easy and cheap, microfilm and microfiche were formats that libraries could use to maintain large collections of newspapers, government documents, and historical documents while saving physical storage space. Rolls of microfilm and flat microfiche cards each contains thousands of tiny images of the original documents.

Access
You need to use a microfilm reader to view microfilm and microfiche. Microfilm readers allow you to read, print and save pages to flash drives in .jpg and .pdf format. The Libraries have a number of microform readers available:

Full list of Microform reader-printers
Newspaper and Microfilm Room (40 Doe Library)

Finding articles
Most newspapers do not have indexes. How do you find articles by subject? By knowing the approximate date of the event you are studying. If you don't know the date, you can use the index to a different newspaper as a way to find out.

Newspaper indexes you might want to use:

There are others. Ask the Newspaper Microfilm staff for help.

Secondary menu

Comparative Ethnic Studies

Newspapers at the Ethnic Studies Library

Newspapers and Microforms Collection

Newspapers

Newspapers

Newspaper Databases

Newspapers on Microfilm