Library Guides: Chemistry and Chemical Engineering: Books + eBooks

Find eBooks

UC Library Search
Limit your search to Available Online and Books to find eBooks available through UC Berkeley Library.

The following are major science publishers from which UC Berkeley has purchased ebooks; their platforms can also be searched directly:

AccessEngineering This link opens in a new window
Collection of full text engineering reference and handbooks, including Perry's Chemical Engineers' Handbook and Marks' Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers.
Taylor & Francis eBooks This link opens in a new window
Collection of books and handbooks in bioscience, engineering, environmental sciences, mathematics, physics, statistics, social sciences, and other fields from Taylor & Francis including their CRC Press and Routledge imprints. Formerly ENGnetBASE, ENVIROnetBASE, MATHnetBASE, and similar collections.
Knovel This link opens in a new window
Find technical information as well as analytical and search tools for the engineering community.
Collection of over 8000 engineering and scientific reference handbooks, texts, and databases. Can be searched by topic across the aggregated set, or users can browse the content of a specific title. Advanced features include numerical range searching and interactive graphs and tables.
Royal Society of Chemistry eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
Chemical science books published by the Royal Society of Chemistry.
ScienceDirect eBooks This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary collection of academic ebooks, encyclopedias, handbooks, and more with an emphasis in the sciences.
Springer Electronic Book Package This link opens in a new window
Full-text Springer e-books from every scientific discipline and many social sciences.
Includes nearly 20,000 Springer e-books from every scientific discipline and many social sciences, including Architecture and Design, Behavioral Science/Psychology, Biomedical and Life Sciences, Business and Economics, Chemistry and Materials Science, Computer Science, and more.
Wiley Online Library Ebook Collection This link opens in a new window
Collection of resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. Includes articles, ebooks, reference works, and laboratory protocols and databases.
Exclusions to the collection are textbooks and major reference works.

Open textbooks

LibreTexts Chemistry
Open access textbooks and learning objects in chemistry.

Find encyclopedias

Overviews of chemical topics can be found in encyclopedias. Many print encyclopedias can be found in the Reference section of the Chemistry, Astronomy & Physics Library. Our electronic encyclopedias include:

Encyclopedia of Biological Chemistry (Second Edition) This link opens in a new window
Covers all aspects of biochemistry, including topics relating to biochemistry, biophysics, cell biology, molecular biology, neuroscience, pharmacology and oncology.
Over 500 different articles on all aspects of biochemistry, as well as the related fields of molecular biology, cell biology, genetics, and biophysics. Includes more than 700 images in full color.
Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology This link opens in a new window
This encyclopedia presents a wide scope of articles on chemical substances, industrial processes and unit operations in chemical engineering, environmental and health issues concerning chemical technology, as well as fundamentals related to Chemistry.
Covers all areas of chemical technology including the properties, manufacturing, and uses of chemicals and materials, processes, and engineering principles.
Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry This link opens in a new window
A reference work detailing the science and technology in all areas of industrial chemistry
Covers all facets of industrial chemistry including polymers, plastics, metals, alloys and environmental protection. Includes tables and figures, as well as literature sources and cross-references.

Comprehensive Biotechnology
Covers fundamentals of biotechnology and its applications to industry, agriculture, medicine, and the environment.

Secondary menu

Chemistry and Chemical Engineering: Books + eBooks

Books in print at the Chemistry, Astronomy & Physics Library

Find eBooks

Open textbooks

Find encyclopedias