Library Guides: Chemistry and Chemical Engineering: Safety

Safety information

Pharos This link opens in a new window
Pharos provides hazard, use, and exposure information on chemicals and building products. NOTE: You must first register for an account using the link here and your Berkeley email address.
Search by chemical name/CAS RN, or use (for example: flooring, solvent, etc.). Pharos also includes Hazard Lists (authoritative scientific lists for health and environmental hazards and restricted substance lists), as well as Common Products (common contents and hazards of different kinds of building products).

Pistoia Alliance Chemical Safety Library (CSL)
Open access, crowd-sourced database of potential and reported hazardous reaction incidents, drawn from the literature and user-submitted entries.

Toxline This link opens in a new window
Search for references from the toxicology literature covering the biochemical, pharmacological, physiological, and toxicological effects of drugs and other chemicals [Last 5 years + current year]
Indexes journals, monographs, technical reports, theses, letters, meeting abstracts, conference papers, and reports in all areas of toxicology, including chemicals and pharmaceuticals, pesticides, environmental pollutants, and mutagens and teratogens. Produced by the US National Library of Medicine, information is drawn from a number of sources including Toxicity Bibliography and Developmental and Reproductive Toxicology.

CompTox Chemicals Dashboard
Public access database for chemistry, toxicity, and exposure information for over a million chemicals, developed by the US Environmental Protection Agency. Data includes chemical properties, environmental fate, hazard, and bioactivity information.

UC Berkeley Office of Environment, Health & Safety

Safety Data Sheets (formerly MSDS)

Extensive collection of material safety data sheets and chemical hazard information provided through the UCB Office of Environment, Health & Safety. Must be connected to the UCB campus network to search licensed resources.

American Chemical Society

Center for Lab Safety

Collection of information resources and on-demand courses related to laboratory safety in academic instructional and research labs. See the safety document archive for a full list of up-to-date resources produced by ACS.

Committee on Chemical Safety

Curated resources and safety tipsheets addressing chemical and laboratory safety.

Secondary menu

Chemistry and Chemical Engineering: Safety

Safety information