Critical Pacific Islands Studies Library Guide

Encyclopedia of the Peoples of Asia and Oceania is a new two-volume A-to-Z reference to the peoples of the Asia-Pacific region east of the Caspian Sea, not including the countries of the Middle East. More than 400 entries cover the major peoples that for a time maintained a cultural identity in the area - from ancient to modern times - describing their history, migration, culture, belief system, social organization, and relationship to other peoples. This accessible resource makes it easy for students to find not only entries on the Han and Jurchens but also on 'Chinese: nationality', describing who they are today with cross-references to the various ancestral peoples. Entries on all large or well-known groups include information on their geography, origins, languages, history, and culture. Subsections cover such topics as subsistence, religion, social and political structures, economy, government, military practices, dwellings and architecture, clothing, transportation, technology, art, music, and literature. The back matter includes a chronology, bibliography, and comprehensive index, as well as several appendixes with useful background information on topics such as kinship systems, religious systems, and subsistence systems.

An encyclopaedia of information on major aspects of Pacific life, including the physical environment, peoples, history, politics, economy, society and culture. The CD-ROM contains hyperlinks between section titles and sections, a library of all the maps in the encyclopaedia, and a photo library.

This four-volume encyclopedia chronicles the historical roots of the United States' current military dominance, documenting its growth from continental expansionism to hemispheric hegemony to global empire. * Overviews the history of American imperialism through chronologically arranged entries that are multidisciplinary, incisively written, and informed by the latest scholarship * Covers issues ranging from the fur trade of the frontier era to today's complex engagement in the Middle East and Africa * Shares key insights on the intersection of popular culture with the projection of U.S. military power * Includes background material and an extensive selection of primary documents that will help students practice critical reading, thinking, and writing skills * Features numerous photos, illustrations, and sidebars that enliven the text and engage students in participatory learning

Written by a host of international subject & country specialist contributors, this set of six volumes provides information on women's issues in over 130 countries. It is suitable for use by high school students & above.

This work examines the world's indigenous peoples, their cultures, the countries in which they reside, and the issues that impact these groups.

From Argentina to Zimbabwe, the industrialized world's encroachment on native lands has brought disastrous environmental harm to indigenous peoples. More than 170 native peoples around the world are facing life-and-death struggles to maintain environments threatened by oil spills, explosions, toxic chemicals, global warming, and other pollutants. This unique resource surveys those indigenous peoples and the environmental hazards that threaten their existence, providing a wealth of information not readily available elsewhere. Arranged geographically, each entry focuses on the peoples of a particular country and the environmental issues they face, from the global warming and toxic chemicals threatening the Arctic Inuits, to the logging that is devastating indigenous habitats in Borneo. General entries overview such topics as climate change, dam sites, and Native American Concepts of Ecology. The 'Guide to Related Topics' and index provide access to recurring themes such as deforestation, hydroelectric power, mining, and land tenure.