Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

UC Berkeley’s library buildings are open! Learn more.

Critical Pacific Islands Studies Library Guide

Art, Music, and More

Art, Music, and More

Below are selected Pacific Islander artists and musicians. To make any suggestions, please e-mail the librarian!

 

Art & Artists

​Tautai is an organisation dedicated to the mentoring and ongoing support of Pacific artists.

 

 

Artists:

John Puhiatau Pule is a Niuean artist, novelist and poet.

Alick Tipoti is a world renowned professional artist from Badu Island in the Torres Strait. His work depicts many meaningful symbols about the Land Sea & Sky of his country through traditional Melanesian patterns.

Joy Enomoto (artwork to left) is a mixed-media artist living in Honolulu, Hawai‘i. She is of Native Hawaiian, African-American, Japanese, Caddo Indian, and Sikh Indian decent. Her work engages ancestral memory, social justice, and those issues currently affecting Pacific peoples. 

Jean Melesaine is a Samoan documentary photographer and artist born and raised in the San Francisco Bay Area, born on the East Side of San Jose, raised in San Francisco's Bayview Housing and currently residing in West Oakland.

 

Profile of artists featured in "10 Incredible Contemporary Artists of the Pacific Islands"

Sofia Tekela-Smith is of mixed Scottish and Rotuman origins, and spent her childhood on the island of Rotuma—Fiji—before settling in New Zealand. Her art is influenced by her Polynesian heritage and the traditions of body adornment.

Sima Urale is Samoa’s first female filmmaker. As a contemporary, visual storyteller, she retains the Samoan tradition of oral story-telling or fagogo. Her work is influenced by both her Samoan heritage and her experience of moving to urbanized Aotearoa—the Māori name for New Zealand.

Aline Amaru is an innovator of the tifaifai—appliqué quilt—textile tradition of Tahiti.

Tongan artist Kalisolaite ‘Uhila references diverse histories and ancestries, as well as the everyday and the multiplicity of being. His performance practice draws inspiration from Tongan notions of being and Euro-American art historical legacies of performance from the 1960s onwards.

 

Music

Below is a sample of Pacific Islander musicians. E-mail the librarian with any suggestions!

Hargrove Music Library & Collections

Founded in 1947 as a branch of the University Library, the Music Library was located on the second floor of Morrison Hall from 1957 until July 6, 2004, when the Jean Gray Hargrove Music Library opened to the public. Its collections today contain some 200,000 volumes of books and printed music, 50,000 sound and video recordings, and 30,000 microforms in addition to extensive special holdings of manuscripts, rare materials, and archives. The collection serves the diverse teaching and research needs of the UC Berkeley Department of Music, which offers a general undergraduate major and graduate programs in musicology, ethnomusicology, and composition, as well as embracing a variety of performance activities. 

Morrison Hall, UC Berkeley       Hargrove Music Library, UC Berkeley
Morrison Hall, 2003      Hargrove Music Library, 2004


The 44th California International Antiquarian Book Fair, which took place in San Francisco on February 11-13, 2011, had the theme of music and featured a special exhibit of rare musical books and manuscripts from the Jean Gray Hargrove Music Library of the University of California, Berkeley. Images from the exhibit (Treasures tab above) help illustrate the wealth of special materials available. For further information on Music Library collections please consult the select bibliography concerning UCB Music Library collections and special holdings (Bibliography tab above), as well as the informal discussion of the first fifty years of collection building at the Berkeley Music Library, 1947-1997 (History tab above)

Submit a Purchase Recommendation.