The Earth Sciences & Map Library collects GIS data for areas around the world, with an emphasis on the nine county San Francisco Bay Area and northern California, and makes it available for use on the GIS workstations. Library users can download freely available data to use in their projects. The library also collects licensed GIS data that is accessible by library users who are affiliated with UC Berkeley.
To search the library catalog for GIS data, in Oskicat use the Advanced Keyword Search to search for subject keywords. Include the terms geographic information systems or databases or gis data or geospatial information as well as place names. Example: oakland gis data.
GeoData @ UC Berkeley
GeoData@UCBerkeley is the UCB Library's geoportal for GIS data collected by the Library and partnering universities.
An easy-to-use mapping program that includes over 15,000 US demographic and socioeconomic data indicators from the neighborhood census block to national levels. Data may be downloaded to csv.
PolicyMap is an easy-to-use mapping program that includes over 15,000 US demographic and socioeconomic data indicators from the neighborhood census block to national levels. Data about demographics, neighborhood conditions, real estate markets, income, jobs and economy, education, crime, and health can be presented as maps, tables, charts and reports.
A web-based data analysis and mapping application that allows users to create custom thematic maps, tables, and reports using demographic, business, and marketing data for the United States. Note: Access limited to 10 simultaneous users. To increase the limit temporarily for use in classes or workshops, please send your request to firstname.lastname@example.org a minimum of 5 business days in advance.
A web-based data analysis and mapping application that allows users to create custom thematic maps, tables and reports using demographic, business, and marketing data for the United States. Includes over 70,000 data variables related to demographics, employment, real estate & housing, crime, businesses, consumer spending, and points of interest data from the US Census, historical US Census data (2000), SimmonsLOCAL data from Experian, and Nielsen Claritas PRIZM data.
Data and interactive thematic maps from the U.S. Census from 1790-present.
Provides access to current and historical United States census data, including all historic decennial censuses and American Community Surveys, as well as other demographic information, such as religious organizations. Census data is current to 2010 and historical back to 1790. In addition to being a data resource, the web interface lets users create maps and reports to better illustrate, analyze and understand demography and social change.
Allows visualization and download topographic base map data and other data themes including: Elevation, Orthoimagery, Land Cover, Hydrography, Geographic Names, Boundaries, Transportation, and Structures.
Great source for street data, and other infrastructure. Global coverage. Download OSM data directly through the map interface or other sources (including Geofabrik and the HOT (Humanitarian OpenStreetMap Team) export tool). OSM data may also be accessed via a QGIS plugin. OSM data is edited and updated by users, so it may be worth validating against current imagery in a GIS program.
Demographic and business data, maps and reports for Mainland China at various administrative levels, and access to efficient data integration for spatial and non-spatial data (custom radii, administrative units, spatial boundaries).
China Geo-Explorer II provides access to demographic and business data, maps and reports for Mainland China at various administrative levels, and access to efficient data integration for spatial and non-spatial data (custom radii, administrative units, spatial boundaries). It is a tool for quick and accurate location analysis and spatial assessment, and a tool for identifying spatial patterns and trends. The database can generate easy-to-use and customized reports, dynamic charts, tables and maps. Data can be exported to PDF, Excel, Word, or Shape files.
ESRI Streetmap North America data
The following StreetMap North America datasets are available on the GIS workstations in the Earth Sciences & Map Library, as part of the Esri Data & Maps products. Ask at the reference desk for help accessing the data.