Chinese studies (pre- 1949): Bibliographies/Guides/Catalogues
This is a general subject guide for graduate students or undergraduate students in upper division who are enrolled in the Chinese studies program, or for those who take classes and/or have research interest on pre- 1949 China (especially Sinology).
This annotated catalogue was based on the early 欽定四庫全書簡明目錄, but added discussion of editions and annotations. It is a valuable reference work for ancient literature and printing history. There are also more titles than those contained in 欽定四庫全書簡明目錄
Call Number: Z3101 .Z4xxx multi volumes
Publication Date: 2012
This recently published catalogue is the the most comprehensive one in its category. It has subsets for 经史子集 and 丛书. Each entry lists bibliographic information such as the title of the work and libraries that own them.
This is a union catalogue of more than 8,200 Chinese old gazetteers printed from the Southern Dynasty to 1949. It includes 通志、府、州、厅、县志、乡土志、里镇志、卫志、所志、关志、岛屿志 and some manuscripts. There is a title index at the end of the book.
Specialized bibliographies and catalogs on Republican China
The Shanghai Municipal Police files focus on the period from the 1920s to 1949. They contain extensive reports on labor unrest in Shanghai, the Chinese Communist movement in the city and Sino-Japanese relations, and are a valuable historical resource for studying Shanghai, Republican era Chinese history, treaty ports and foreign concessions, the early Chinese Communist Party and the Anti-Japanese War. This catalogue lists all files in the collection, which is available in its entirety in microfilm form at the University of Oregon library.
This manual for students focuses on archival research on the economic and business history of the Republican era (1911 1949). Following a general discussion of archival research and research aids for the Republican period, the handbook introduces archival collections in the People's Republic of China and Republic of China (Taiwan) that contain materials in areas of economics and business.
A useful bibliographic guide, with brief annotation, to newspapers and periodicals from the time of the May Fourth Movement (1915 and 1924). It also contains bibliographic information on relevant articles and books published in Chinese, Japanese, and Western languages by the movement or relating to it.
A comprehensive guide on documentary collections, first person accounts, reference works and research literature published in English on the political, military, diplomatic, economic and social aspects of the Sino-Japanese War of 1937-1945.
A resource produced by the Association for Asian Studies, this volume contains chapters written by leading scholars in the field of Chinese Studies in North America. It introduces students and non-specialists to the historiography of Chinese history in all periods, key trends of research on China in the US and Canada and major scholars in Chinese studies on the continent. This work also has directory of the English and Chinese names of Chinese studies scholars in North America as of 2013, which can be accessed through a link in its last page.
Dissertation Reviews features overviews of recently defended doctoral dissertations in a wide variety of disciplines across the Humanities and Social Sciences, including Chinese studies. Each review provides a summary of the author’s main arguments, the historiographic genealogy in which he or she operates and the source basis for his or her research. The reviews also make educated assessments on how the research will advance or challenge understandings of major issues in the field when it is revised and published in the future.
The website of the Center for Chinese Studies, National Central Library provides links to important online catalogues of Chinese classic works, including those in Mainland China, Taiwan, Hong Kong, Japan and England.
The National Palace Museum of Taiwan has developed several catalog databases that are very useful to search for early Chinese antiques and artifacts, late imperial archives and historical documents, biographies, rare books etc., such as 器物典藏資料檢索系統, 大清國史人物列傳及史館檔傳包傳稿目錄資料庫, 清代檔案人名權威資料查詢,清代文獻檔案總目, 清一史館藏清代滿漢文硃批奏摺彙編目錄.
The collection of historical records at Academia Historica mostly consists of government files or archives brought from China to Taiwan, as well as those collected in Taiwan, mainly government files and documents. The distinguished collections are the historical records of the Presidents and Vice Presidents of Taiwan. The online catalog provides browsing and advanced search features.
Song Research Tools is a guide to bibliographies, indexes, dictionaries, encyclopedias, atlases, chronologies and other resources relating to the study Chinese society during the Song Dynasty (960-1279). The online guide was edited by Dr. Hilde De Weerdt, and was based on the print reference work published by Prof. Peter Bol in 1990.
The Chinese Christian Texts Database (CCT-Database) is a research database of primary and secondary sources concerning cultural contacts between China and Europe from the sixteenth to the early nineteenth centuries (ca. 1582-1840). It contains documents relating to various aspects of cultural interaction: religious, philosophical, scientific and artistic, etc. The primary editors of the websites are Prof. Nicolas Standaert and Ad Dudink, two sinologists from Leuven University.
This is the online resource of the Center for Chinese Studies, National Library of China. It is the e-bibliography of studies of the masters of philosophy in Han Dynasty. It covers publications from year 1912 to 2001.
Developed cooperatively between scholars and librarians worldwide, Oxford Bibliographies offers exclusive, authoritative research guides. The Chinese studies bibliography currently lists 99 items ( books) recommended by scholars and librarians.
This database was developed by Kyoto University. It provides free online access to books and journal articles in East Asia and in western languages published in Tōyōgaku bunken ruimoku 東洋学文献類目. The coverage starts from 1981 and both Kanji and traditional Chinese characters can be used in search queries.
This is the portal of a cooperative project by several major Chinese university libraries, led by CALIS (China Academic Library and Information System). It covers many subject areas on Chinese studies.
A platform dedicated to searching Chinese academic materials in book, journal article, conference paper and dissertation formats. Full-text materials can be obtained through a online document delivery service.
Searches over three millions of academic books, journal articles, conference proceedings, newspapers and videos in Chinese. It provides bibliographic information for all materials contained and online document delivery service for full-text book chapters and journal articles. In Chinese.
The Chinese Christian Texts Database (CCT-Database) is a research database of primary and secondary sources concerning the cultural contacts between China and Europe in the seventeenth and eighteenth centuries (from 1582 to ca. 1840). The cultural contacts comprise documents in the various fields of cultural interaction: religion, philosophy, science, art, etc.
This is the most comprehensive guide for Chinese studies (pre-1949). It was compiled by Prof. Endymion Wilkinson. Compared with two earlier editions this new version of the work is much more comprehensive, with many updated resources in print and digital format.
This is an annotated bibliography of important early Chinese philosophical texts, edited by Prof. Michael Loewe. It is regarded as a very important scholarly handbook on classical philosophical literature, which introduces novice researchers to the nature and history of early Chinese texts and important secondary literature on them.
Although it was published in 1975, this work has become the standard bibliography for students of Chinese art and archaeology. It contains 15,000 items published between 1920 and 1965 in western languages.
The bibliography contains 10 surveys essays on different genres of Chinese literature and roughly 250 entries on authors, topics or works by some 170 contributors. It was regarded as a standard reference work.
This 6 volume work is regarded as an important bibliography on Chinese masters of thoughts from the Pre-Qin period to the Wei dynasty. It lists about 6,000 works on 62 masters published in 20 languages.