It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Update: Moffitt Library is closed for seismic work, but most other libraries are open. Learn more.
Chinese studies (pre- 1949): Digital special collections
This is a general subject guide for graduate students or undergraduate students in upper division who are enrolled in the Chinese studies program, or for those who take classes and/or have research interest on pre- 1949 China (especially Sinology).
This database focuses on the bamboo slips found in the 郭店楚 tomb. It was a cooperative project by the Chinese University of Hong Kong and Prof. Zhang Yuguang. The website allows searching of the texts of the 郭店楚簡. There are also secondary sources.
The East Asian Library of UC Berkeley has more than 1,500 items in its rubbings collection, which contains many albums of model calligraphy (fa-tieh 法帖), bronze inscriptions, and stone rubbings. About half of the collection date before the year 1000.
Zhejiang University Library has developed a free access database of epitaphs. It contains 6,800 records. Majority collections are Tang epitaphs. Most of the images of the rubbings are scanned and can be browsed or saved.
This database is developed by the Institute of History and Philosophy, Academia Sinica. The rubbings are from the Fu Sinian Library collection. The rubbings date from 946 to 1382 AD and majority of the collection are Yuan Dynasty rubbings. The collection has about 1,910 pieces of rubbings.
This is a digital project made by the British Library. It provides access to the richness and diversity of the texts from the world’s great faiths. Dozen's texts on Buddhism have been digitized and accessible.
IDP is a ground-breaking international effort to make information and images of all manuscripts, paintings, textiles and artifacts from Dunhuang and archaeological sites of the Eastern Silk Road freely available on the Internet, and to encourage their use in educational and research programs.
The Fu Ssu-nien Library at the Academia Sinica contains forty-nine manuscripts that appear to be from the fifth to the thirteenth centuries. Thirty-six of these are in Chinese, nine in Tibetan, one in Tangut, another in Uighur and two are images of Buddhas. The metadata and images of the collection can be viewed online.
This is a collaborative project initiated by the National Institute of Informatics of Japan. It is the integration of information technology with the study of culture. The website has a digital collection of cultural artifacts, archives, and online exhibitions on the Silk Road.
The Yale Silk Road Database presents over 11,000 images of major sites in the Silk Road region taken during faculty site seminars led by Mimi Hall Yiengpruksawan (Professor, History of Art) under the auspices of the Council on East Asian Studies at Yale University in the summers of 2006-2010.The collection serves as a multi-disciplinary resource with relevance to students and faculty working in the fields of art and archaeology, religious studies, history, East Asian languages and literatures, Central Asian and Islamic studies.
This is part of Library of Congress's "World Digital Library" project. Religion, history, geography, government administration, literature, medicine, technology, and early translations of European books into Chinese are represented in the collection. These documents can also be viewed on an interactive map.
This database was created by the National Palace Museum (Taiwan), which indexes imperial edicts from famous Qing emperors. It contains 7,416 edicts from the emperor Kangxi, selected from 一史館藏康熙朝漢文硃 批奏摺彙編，and 45,005 documents from the Yongzheng emperor, selected from 一史館藏雍正朝漢文硃批奏摺彙編. Documents can be searched by official titles, dates or keywords.
An index of art and crafts that were created by the Imperial Household Department (內務府造辦處) during Qianlong emperor's reign, which are held in the National Archive in Beijing. This database allows 1,608 items to be searched, by year, reign title, unit, volume number or keywords.
Created through collaboration between historians at Cambridge University and the Second Historical Archives of China, this project was designed to further understanding on the modern Chinese state, British imperial history, and the history of modern globalization in China, by focusing on the role played by the Chinese Maritime Customs Service and its staff in these historical processes. From this website you can find and download catalogues of the Chinese Maritime Customs Service's archives, its publications and access digitized versions of materials produced by the organization and its staff.
The Online Archive of California (OAC) provides free public access to detailed descriptions of primary resource collections maintained by more than 200 contributing institutions, including libraries, special collections, archives, historical societies, and museums throughout California and collections maintained by the 10 University of California (UC) campuses. It has finding aids to thousands of archival collections relating to China in various institutions.
A searchable and browseable resource that brings together historical materials from a variety of California institutions, including museums, historical societies, and archives. Contains over 120,000 images; 50,000 pages of documents, letters, and oral histories; and 8,000 guides to collections. Images are organized into thematic and institutional collections, such as historical topics, nature, places, and technology.
The Ailing Zhang papers is a special collection hold at the USC library. It consist of six boxes of correspondence, manuscripts, newspaper clippings and journal articles, photographs, and essays, articles, and speeches (written by Zhang Ailing). 138 letters, 45 photos, 5 articles and 2 manuscripts are digitized and can be accessed online.
The Needham Research Institute (UK) has collected about 1,000 photos that were taken by Joseph Needham during this trip to China from 1942-1946, when he was preparing his project on the history of Chinese science and technology.
This database is a collection of early western postcards of China. It was created under patronage from the Institut d'Asie Orientale (IAO) in Lyon, France. About 500 postcards will be fully processed and additional research, such as articles, bibliography, etc. will be entered into the website.
Sidney D. Gamble (1890-1968), an avid amateur photographer and a sociologist, took more than 5,000 photos during his travels in China from 1908-1932. This digital collection is the first comprehensive public presentation of his work.