Chinese studies (pre- 1949): Reference tools/works

This is an useful reference book for converting dates, months and years.

It is a recent reference tool for converting dates between the western and Chinese calendars.

It covers period from 841 BC to 220 AD.

This is the most authoritative and handy dictionary for classical Chinese.

This dictionary presents an alphabetical list in Wade-Giles of 8,000 official government posts from the Zhou to the late Qing Dynasties (ca. 1850). It translates and provides an explanation of the historical context and functions of each position.

[1] 先秦史 -- [2] 秦漢史 -- [3] 魏晋南北朝史 -- [4] 隋唐五代史 -- [5] 宋史 -- [6] 辽夏金元史 -- [7] 明史 -- [8] 清史 (2 v.) -- [9] 民族史 -- [10] 历史地理史 -- [11] 思想史 -- [12] 史学史 -- [13] 科技史.

This is a Chinese dictionary of place names. It is used for tracing the names of localities in China throughout history.

This dictionary contains 2,799 entries, covering a wide range of topics, such as archaeology, bronze and jade ware, coinage, architecture, calligraphy and painting.

This is the most up-to-date reference tool on Chinese antiquities, compiled by specialists from numerous disciplines in more than five years. It contains 16,400 entries, with 3,300 colorful illustrations.

This is by far the best Chinese language dictionary on Buddhism, and is divided into 13 topics on Buddhism, Buddhist teachings and beliefs. Entries can be searched by stroke, pinyin and four-corner indices.

Although it was published in 1970s, this work is still regarded as a useful dictionary on Daoism. It can be used with another dictionary: 中國正統道教大辭典 (臺北 : 逸群圖書有限 公司, 1985).

This is a dictionary of Chinese philosophy with English annotations.

This is a dictionary of Chinese arts.

This is the "Chinese University of Hong Kong Institute of Chinese Studies ICS Ancient Chinese Text Concordance Series".

This is the "ICS concordances to works of Wei-Jin and the Northern and Southern Dynasties" published by the Chinese University of Hong Kong.

This work is the combined indices of twenty historical bibliographies.

This is a combined indice of nearly 200 biographies of historical figures.

V.3 of the set is the index of collectanea.

This is an index of 22 Buddhist Tripitaka.

This is a collection of Song Dynasty biographical materials. It has an index volume.

This is a collection of Liao, Jin and Yuan biographical materials. There is one index volume.

This is a collection of Ming Dynasty biographical materials. It includes an index volume.

This is a collection of Qing Dynasty biographical materials. There are 3 index volumes.

This is multi-volume set. Call number varies.

This is a collection of 381 epitaphs of individuals from the late 4th through the 14th centuries, which were added to the collection of the Xi'an Beilin Museum between 1980 and 2006.

This is a supplementary compilation to 西安碑林博物館新藏墓志.

This is a compilation of epitaphs from the Three Kingdoms period through the Qing Dynasty, which were unearthed from the Qing to the Republican Period. It also includes 122 inscriptions on bricks discovered from Gaochang 高昌 by Hang Wenbi 黄文弼 in the 1930s. Each epitaph or inscription has its own entry, which contains an introduction, annotation and a rubbing of the object.