Chinese studies (pre- 1949): Databases

This collection of old journals contains journal titles and issues published in China from the late Qing Dynasty to 1949. Subject content covered includes, but is not limited to, philosophy, economics, politics, military, literature, history, industry, agriculture, geography and medicine. Well-known titles include The Young Companion, Huang Pu, and Wan Guo Gong Bao.

The library's subscription covers literature/ history/ philosophy; politics/ military affairs/ law; education & social sciences; and economics & management.

Includes five databases:

China Online Journals (COJ);

Dissertations of China (DOC);

Academic Conferences in China;

Chinese Companies and Products;

Policies and Laws of China (PLOC). (In Chinese.)

For more sophisticated search capabilities, go directly to JSTOR advanced search.

Articles from broad array of peer-reviewed journals, popular and trade magazines and news sources for nearly all areas of study; available in English, Spanish, German, French, Italian and Portuguese.

Topics include literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics and many others. Books are available in PDF format, searchable and retrievable to the chapter level, with no restrictions on downloading or printing.

Manuscripts, rare printed sources, visual images, objects and maps in this collection have been sourced from international libraries and archives and explore the cultural and trading relationships that emerged between America, China and the Pacific region between the 18th and early 20th centuries. The Documents section is rich in primary source material including ship logs, diaries, correspondence, account books, other shipping and commercial company records, catalogs of trade goods, and other records of prices.

Types of material include addresses and speeches, annual reports, catalogues, examinations, guides, lecture notes, letters, magazine articles, and minutes. Themes covered by the collection include the arts, the Chinese diaspora (including the Chinese in California), education, the foreign presence in China, foreign relations and diplomacy, governance, international conflict, language and literature, leisure, missionaries, opium, rebellion and revolution, science and medicine, trade, and travel and exploration.

The collection provides a wide variety of original source material detailing China's interaction with the West from Macartney's first Embassy to China in 1793, through to the Nixon/Heath visits to China in 1972-74. It is based on substantial collections of unique manuscript materials held at the library of the School of Oriental and African Studies (SOAS) and the British Library, with additional sources from other major universities.

Included are critical perspectives on the ending of more than 2,000 years of imperial rule in China, the Taiping Rebellion, the Opium Wars with Great Britain, the Boxer Rebellion and the events leading up to the 1911 Xinhai Revolution, and the subsequent founding of the Republic of China. In addition to the article content, the full-image newspapers offer searchable access to advertisements, editorials, cartoons, and classified ads that illuminate history.

These formerly restricted British government documents, consisting of diplomatic dispatches, letters, newspaper cuttings, maps, reports of court cases, biographies of leading personalities, summaries of events and diverse other materials, provide unprecedented levels of detail into one of the most turbulent centuries of Chinese history. Historical events covered include the Long March, civil war in China and the Manchurian Crisis, Japanese war, the seeds of communist victory, the Communist revolution, the Great Leap Forward, and the Cultural Revolution.

This resource provides detailed and valuable information on the political, military, social, economic, and external development of Hong Kong. It also sheds light on the British Empire in Asia, China’s transformation from empire to republic, mainland China-Hong Kong relations, and the international politics of East Asia. It is full-text searchable, and side-by-side OCR text readers for image based text was built in the database.

Files contained represent a large portion of the archives of the British-run municipal police force based in this area.

The database can be searched by region, dynasty, year of degree, last name, etc.

These judicial files are sorted into a number of categories, including debt, tenancy, theft, trade dispute, family disturbance, marriage, damage, robbery, homicide, injury, corruption, violation of tax laws, forgery, drug using, fraud, other criminal cases and other civil cases.

This statistical and narrative information provided the central Chinese government with an in-depth analysis on trade. The Gazette also provided insights into local and regional economic and social conditions, policing of customs and trade, and conditions at Treaty Ports.

Indexes graduate dissertations from over 1,000 North American, and selected European, graduate schools and universities. Dissertations published since 1980, and master's theses since 1988, include brief abstracts written by the authors. Offers full text of most of the dissertations added since 1997 . It is possible to search a subset of dissertations produced by UC students by going to Dissertations and Theses @ University of California (available in full text).

This newspaper provides informative reports on politics, economy, military, culture, foreign relations and the society. Its reports also captured the changes of society, tracked the interactions between China and foreign countries and the development leading up to World War II and the China Civil War. The print version of Central Daily News ceased in 2006; it is available only online since then. This online database covers page image access to this title from 1928 to 2006.

This newspaper was established by an American Thomas F.Millard, most editors and staff were American journalists. It covers political news (including the Revolution of 1911), world and local news, education and women issues, novels, entertainment news and advertisements.

The newspaper was established by Di Chuqing, and Huang Bohui took over in 1921. It hired famous newspapermen like Luo Xiaogao, Chen Jinghan, Bao Tianxiao as editors. It carried national and local news, commentaries, sport news, novels and entertainment news.

This archival collection was based on the holdings from the National Library of China, adding titles from other provincial and city libraries. In addition to major national newspapers such as Revolution Daily and New China Daily, the database also contains major local newspapers including North China Daily, Hankou People’s Daily, Western Capital Daily and Xinjiang Daily.