Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

You can still access the UC Berkeley Library’s services and resources during the closure. Here’s how.

Chinese studies (pre- 1949): Citation of Chinese Resources

This is a general subject guide for graduate students or undergraduate students in upper division who are enrolled in the Chinese studies program, or for those who take classes and/or have research interest on pre- 1949 China (especially Sinology).

Chicago Manual Citation Examples

Book and Book Chapter in Bibligraphy:

Qian, Cunxun 钱存训. Shu yu zhu bo: Zhongguo gu dai de wen zi ji lu 书于竹帛:中国古代的文字记录 [Written on bamboo and silk]. Shanghai: Shanghai shu dian chu ban she, 2002.

Wang, Zhenghua 王正华. “Guoyan fanhua—wan Ming chengshi tu chengshi guan yu wenhua xiaofei de yanjiu过眼繁华—晚明城市图、城市观与文化消费的研究 [A glance of prosperity: Research on the images, spectaculars of cities and cultural consumption in late Ming]. In Zhongguo de chengshi shenghuo 中国的城市生活 [Chinese Urban Life], edited by Li Xiaoti 李孝悌, 1-15. Taibei: Lianjing chuban shiye gongsi, 2005.

 

Book and Book chapter in Footnote:

Cunxun Qian 钱存训. Shu yu zhu bo: Zhongguo gu dai de wen zi ji lu 书于竹帛:中国古代的文字记录 [Written on bamboo and silk] (Shanghai: Shanghai shu dian chu ban she, 2002), 118.

Wang Zhenghua 王正华,Guoyan fanhua—wan Ming chengshi tu chengshi guan yu wenhua xiaofei de yanjiu过眼繁华—晚明城市图、城市观与文化消费的研究 [A glance of prosperity: Research on the images, spectaculars of cities and cultural consumption in late Ming], In Rongshe Zhongguo de chengshi shenghuo 中国的城市生活 [Chinese Urban Life], ed. Li Xiaoti 李孝悌 (Taibei: Lianjing chuban shiye gongsi, 2005), 1-15.

Journal Article in Bibliography: 

Yu, Xinzhong 余新忠. “Qingdai jiangnan yibing jiuliao shiye tanxi” 清代江南疫病疗救事业探析—lun Qingdai guojia he shehui dui wenyi de fanying [An analysis of therapies of Jiangnan epidemic disease in the Qing Dynasty: on the response of the State and Society to the plague]. Lishi yanjiu 历史研究 6 (2001): 45–56.

Journal Article in Footnote: 

Yu Linzhong 余新忠, “Qingdai jiangnan yibing jiuliao shiye tanxi--lun Qingdai guojia he shehui dui wenyi de fanying” 清代江南疫病疗救事业探析论清代国家和社会对瘟疫的反应 [An analysis of therapies of Jiangnan epidemic disease in the Qing Dynasty: on the response of the State and Society to the plague], Lishi yanjiu 历史研究 6 (2001): 45–56.

Newspaper Article in Bibliography:

Dong, Xuezeng 董学增. “Jilin Sheng wenwu kaogu qishi wu nian de kexue zongjie” 吉林省文物考古七十五年的科学总结 [The scientific report of the cultural relics and archaeology of the Jilin Province in the last seventy-five years]. Zhongguo wenwu bao 中国文物报, November 28, 2017, 6.

Newspaper Article in Footnote: 

Dong Xuezeng 董学增,  “Jilin Sheng wenwu kaogu qishi wu nian de kexue zongjie” 吉林省文物考古七十五年的科学总结 [The scientific report of the cultural relics and archaeology of the Jilin Province in the last seventy-five years], Zhongguo wenwu bao 中国文物报, November 28, 2017, 6.

Website in Bibliography:

Xinhua net 新华网. “Liu Cixin San ti huo guoji yulun shengzan huojiang juefei ouran 刘慈欣《三体》获国际舆论盛赞 获奖绝非偶然” [Liu Cixin’s book of The Three-body Problem was highly praise by world opinion, it is no accident that it won prize]. Last modified August 27, 2015. http://www.xinhuanet.com/world/2015-08/27/c_128173404.htm. (accessed August 18, 2020)

Website in Footnote:

 “Liu Cixin San ti huo guoji yulun shengzan huojiang juefei ouran 刘慈欣《三体》获国际舆论盛赞 获奖绝非偶然” [Liu Cixin’s book of The Three-body Problem was highly praise by world opinion, it is no accident that it won prize], Last modified August 27, 2015, http://www.xinhuanet.com/world/2015-08/27/c_128173404.htm. (accessed August 18, 2020)

DVD/Film in Bibliography:

Zuo you左右 [In love we trust]. Directed by Wang Xiaoshuai 王小帅.  New York: Film Movement, 2009. DVD.

DVD/Film in Footnote:

Zuo you左右 [In love we trust], DVD, Directed by Wang Xiaoshuai 王小帅 (New York: Film Movement, 2009).

Database:

Beijing Airusheng shuzihua jishu yanjiu zhongxin 北京爱如生数字化技术研究中心Zhongguo jiben guji ku 中国基本古籍库 [Database of Chinese Classic Ancient Books]. Beijing: Beijing Airusheng shuzihua jishu yanjiu zhongxin, 2011. 

Database:

Beijing Airusheng shuzihua jishu yanjiu zhongxin. (2011). Zhongguo jiben guji ku [Database of Chinese Classic Ancient Books]. Beijing: Beijing Airusheng shuzihua jishu yanjiu zhongxin. http://server.wenzibase.com.libproxy.berkeley.edu/jsp/front/prodlist.jsp

MLA Citation Example

Book and Book Chapter:

Qian, Cunxun 钱存训. Shu yu zhu bo: Zhongguo gu dai de wen zi ji lu 书于竹帛:中国古代的文字记录 [Written on bamboo and silk]. Shanghai: Shanghai shu dian chu ban she, 2002, Print.

Wang, Zhenghua 王正华. “Guoyan fanhua—wan Ming chengshi tu chengshi guan yu wenhua xiaofei de yanjiu过眼繁华—晚明城市图、城市观与文化消费的研究 [A glance of prosperity: Research on the images, spectaculars of cities and cultural consumption in late Ming]. In Zhongguo de chengshi shenghuo 中国的城市生活 [Chinese Urban Life]. Ed. Li Xiaoti 李孝悌. Taibei: Lianjing chuban shiye gongsi, 2005. 1-15. Print. 

Journal Article: 

Yu, Xinzhong 余新忠. “Qingdai jiangnan yibing jiuliao shiye tanxi--lun Qingdai guojia he shehui dui wenyi de fanying” 清代江南疫病疗救事业探析论清代国家和社会对瘟疫的反应 [An analysis of therapies of Jiangnan epidemic disease in the Qing Dynasty: on the response of the State and Society to the plague]. Lishi yanjiu 历史研究 6 (2001): 45–56. Print.

Newspaper Article:

Dong, Xuezeng 董学增. “Jilin Sheng wenwu kaogu qishi wu nian de kexue zongjie” 吉林省文物考古七十五年的科学总结 [The scientific report of the cultural relics and archaeology of the Jilin Province in the last seventy-five years]. Zhongguo wenwu bao 中国文物报, November 28, 2017: 6. Print.

Website:

 “Liu Cixin San ti huo guoji yulun shengzan huojiang juefei ouran 刘慈欣《三体》获国际舆论盛赞 获奖绝非偶然” [Liu Cixin’s book of The Three-body Problem was highly praise by world opinion, it is no accident that it won prize]. Xinhua net 新华网. Web. August 27, 2015.

DVD/Film:

Zuo you左右 [In love we trust]. Dir. Wang Xiaoshuai 王小帅.  Film Movement, 2009. DVD.

Database:

Beijing Airusheng shuzihua jishu yanjiu zhongxin 北京爱如生数字化技术研究中心Zhongguo jiben guji ku 中国基本古籍库 [Database of Chinese Classic Ancient Books]. Web.

APA Citation Examples

Book and Book Chapter:

Qian, C. (2002). Shu yu zhu bo: Zhongguo gu dai de wen zi ji lu [Written on bamboo and silk]. Shanghai: Shanghai shu dian chu ban she.

Wang, Z. (2005). Guoyan fanhua—wan Ming chengshi tu chengshi guan yu wenhua xiaofei de yanjiu [A glance of prosperity: Research on the images, spectaculars of cities and cultural consumption in late Ming]. In Li X. (Ed.), Zhongguo de chengshi shenghuo [Chinese Urban Life] (pp.1-15). Taibei: Lianjing chuban shiye gongsi.

 

Journal Article: 

Yu, X.Z. (2001). Qingdai jiangnan yibing jiuliao shiye tanxi--lun Qingdai guojia he shehui dui wenyi de fanying [An analysis of therapies of Jiangnan epidemic disease in the Qing Dynasty: on the response of the State and Society to the plague]. Lishi yanjiu 6, 45–56.

Newspaper Article:

Dong, X. (2017, November 28). Jilin Sheng wenwu kaogu qishi wu nian de kexue zongjie [The scientific report of the cultural relics and archaeology of the Jilin Province in the last seventy-five years]. Zhongguo wenwu bao, pp.6.

Website:

Xinhua net 新华网. (2015, August 27). Liu Cixin San ti huo guoji yulun shengzan huojiang juefei ouran [Liu Cixin’s book of The Three-body Problem was highly praise by world opinion, it is no accident that it won prize]. Retrieved from http://www.xinhuanet.com/world/2015-08/27/c_128173404.htm.

DVD/Film:

Huang, B. (Producer), & Wang, X. (Director). (2009). Zuo you [In love we trust]. United States : Film Movement, 2009.

Database:

Beijing Airusheng shuzihua jishu yanjiu zhongxin. (2011). Zhongguo jiben guji ku [Database of Chinese Classic Ancient Books]. Beijing: Beijing Airusheng shuzihua jishu yanjiu zhongxin. http://server.wenzibase.com.libproxy.berkeley.edu/jsp/front/prodlist.jsp