Skip to main content

Italian Studies: Research Tools

A library research guide

Research Tools for Italian Studies

Archival Collections and Primary Sources

Use these web sites, print reference sources, or library databases to find primary sources, such as manuscripts, diaries, letters, firsthand accounts, or historical documents on a subject, person, event or issue. See also the library guide Finding Primary Sources and List of Archival Collections on the Berkeley campus.

*Blue asterisk indicates that the resource was recently added to the guide.

Online

The complete list of databases is available through the Library's Electronic Resource Finder.

Article Indexes and Databases

Listed below is a broad selection of article indexes recommended for research in Italian Studies. For additional resources, please consult the Library's Electronic Resource Finder.

Print

*The Oxford Critical and Cultural History of Modernist Magazines / edited by Peter Brooker and Andrew ThackerOxford; New York : Oxford University Press, 2009-<2013>
Main Stacks PN5124.L62 O94 2009 v.1-3:2.

Online

Bibliographies and Subject Guides

Online

Selected lists of materials in any format organized around a common theme or topic.

Print

Book Reviews

Most library databases for this grouping index primarily US and UK publications. The print and online tools listed below are better for European reviews. MLA, Historical Abstracts, and Periodicals Index Online can be helpful in locating discipline-specific reviews in core Italian Studies journals like Archivio storico italiano, Critica letteraria, ItalicaLettere italiane, or Rivista di letteratura italiana.

Online

Print 

A paper source to peruse for recent reviews of Italian publications include:

Dissertations and Theses

Find dissertations by searching Proquest Dissertations and Theses (PQDT), which indexes graduate dissertations from over 1,000 North American, and selected European, graduate schools and universities from 1861 to the present. Dissertations published since 1980 include brief abstracts written by the authors and some feature 24-page excerpts. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and some full text coverage for older graduate works.

Also see Find Dissertations and Theses for other specialized sources. Dissertations completed at UC Berkeley can be found in OskiCat, using the feature allowing you to limit to dissertations/theses:

Dissertations/Theses in Oskicat

Older dissertations not available full text may be obtained through Interlibrary Loan or using the "Request" option in Melvyl.

For more extensive indexing of doctoral dissertations and theses from Western Europe, here are a few other resources to consult:

Italian Libraries and Catalogs

Catalogs and guides to books, periodicals, and other materials in not only Italian libraries and archives but also other important collections worldwide.

Online Resources

National Libraries (search all using OPAC SBN)

 

Other libraries

News Databases, Indexes and Web Sites

Listings (may include abstracts or full text) of articles in newspapers, newsmagazines, broadcast news transcripts or wire services. Also includes web sites of these media, or directories of such sites.

Online

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.