Skip to main content

Political Economy: Books & E-books

Catalogs and Search Engines

Start Your Search.    Books, ebooks, journal articles, JSTOR, and other content rolled into one integrated library platform.  Does not include content from many business databases, numeric data, and content from Proquest.

Oskicat. UC Berkeley libraries catalog. Includes records for most UCB library materials, including books, e-books, journal and e-journal titles, films and videos, maps, archival materials, and much more. See also the Quick Guide to Oskicat and Oskicat Tutorial.

Google Scholar. Functions as both a key word database for articles and books. It automatically connects to select licensed content held by the UC libraries.

Google Books. Search the text of the books, view previews from books still in copyright, and read the full text of out-of-copyright books. To read the text of a copyrighted book, use find in a Library link to locate the book at UC Berkeley or search

Melvyl. Catalog for all UC Campus libraries, including selected libraries on campus not in Oskicat, e.g. the Boalt Law Library.

Background Reference Sources

Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) Country Reports and Profiles. Indexes studies that provide analysis and forecasts of the political, economic, and business environments in more than 180 countries. Annual profiles are updated by quarterly reports.

Europa World. Provides political and economic information on over 250 countries and territories, from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe. 

International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences. Online version of the 26 volume set published in 2001. It contains over 3800 articles spread over 99 subject areas.

Oxford Reference Online - Politics and Social Sciences. Access to nine reference sources published by Oxford University Press on the topic of World History, Geography, Politics and Sociology. Search all sources collectively or search within an individual title.

New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics. Comprehensive encyclopedia of economic thought, containing over 1000 articles by over 1,500 contributors, providing both a current overview of economics as well as classic essays. 

Routledge Politics and International Relations Online. Extensive collection of reference books and encyclopedias. Coverage includes globalization, international security, political thought, peace and conflict, political chronologies and more.

Google Books

Why use Google Books? Library catalogs (like OskiCat) don't search inside books; using a library catalog, you can search only information about the book (title, author, Library of Congress subject headings, etc.).  Google Books will let you search inside books, which can be very useful for hard-to-find information.  You can then use Google Books' Find in a Library link to locate the book in a UC Berkeley library, or search OskiCat to see if UC Berkeley owns the book.Try it now:

Ebooks in Politics & Economics

ebrary. Our largest e-book collection, with over 50,000 titles on a wide range of subjects. Find them in OskiCat (keyword: ebrary) or search the ebrary website directly. Some advanced ebrary features require downloading reader software.

Goldsmith's-Kress Library of Economic Literature. E-books from 1460-1850 focusing on economics, banking, finance, and manufacturing. 

National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER)  NBER is a private, nonprofit, nonpartisan research organization dedicated to understanding of how the economy works. Includes historical ebooks dating from the 1990s.

OECD iLibrary. Publications and data from the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD), including country studies, forecasting, reports, socioeconomic datasets, and health data. 

Oxford Scholarship Online. Cross-searchable library containing the full text of books in many subjects, including politcs, economics and finance from 2008 to present.

Palgrave Connect: Economics and Finance Collections.  Contains Palgrave ebooks in economics and finance as well as business and management from 2006 to present. Palgrave is one of the premier commercial book publishers in economics.

Project Muse.   Hundreds digitized scholarly journals and books in the humanities and social sciences. 

Springer Electronic Book Package. Thousands of e-books the commerical publisher Springer. in several of the social sciences, including Business and Economics.

UC Press E-books. Online titles from the University of California Press. About 30% of the UC Press books are represented in the collection.

World Bank e-Library. Full-text World Bank publications from mid 1990's to present. Topics covered include: economics and finance, public policy, education, international development, technology, poverty, gender, and more.

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.