Skip to main content

Political Economy: News & Blogs

Political & Economic News

Access World News. Full-text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 700 international sources. Offers strong regional coverage for California newspapers.

Business Source Complete. Scholarly business journals, peer-reviewed business publications and other sources such as country reports from Global Insight, ICON Group and CountryWatch.

The Conference Board. Research reports on business and US and global economics. Includes studies of Fortune 500 companies. business trends, ethics and corporate governance, and forecasts of regional, national, and international economic conditions.

CQ Weekly. Provides nonpartisan information about US government and congressional affairs and subjects of concern. This online version also provides access to some articles prior to when they appear in the print version of CQ Weekly.

The Economist. General interest news source about current trends in business, politics and economics worldwide. Locations for the print version can be found via Oskicat.  For historical issues see the Economist Historical Archive with full text from 1843.

Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) Country Profiles and Reports.  In-depth reports on macroeconomic, financial, and political conditions in over 200 countries. 

Factiva. General and business news and information from sources in 22 languages, including local, national and international newspapers, business magazines, trade publications, and wires. Includes the exclusive combination of The Wall Street Journal, the Financial Times, and Dow Jones.

Financial Times.  Access to the Financial Times from January 1998 to present. For historical access see the Financial Times Historical Archive which has the complete run of the daily Financial Times from 1888 to recent years.

New York Times.  Full-text coverage of the New York Times. For Historical issues see Historical Newspapers (ProQuest).

Nexis Uni. Full-text source for business, current affairs, legal information, medical information and news appearing in newspapers, journals, newsletters, broadcast transcripts, reference works and other documents.

Nation Digital Archive. Full text access to The Nation, a weekly news magazine covering U.S. politics and society since 1865.

National Journal Group's Policy Central. Indexes National Journal, The Hotline which tracks American politics and campaigns with coverage of each day's events, Congress Daily, Technology Daily, Almanac of American Politics, Poll Track and others to provide a comprehensive resource on politics and policy.

Proquest International Newstream.  Articles from hundreds of newspapers worldwide, plus reports from media monitoring organizations which include broadcast and wire service content. Article content is full text, displayed in ASCII format, not page-images.

Proquest Newspapers.  Includes New York Times (full text, Historical, 1881-1985, with Index, 1851-1993 + 1980-current). Los Angeles Times (full text, Historical, 1881-1985 + 1985-current). Wall Street Journal (full text, Historical, 1889-1995 + 1984-current). Chicago Tribune (full text, Historical 1849-1995 + 1895- current). The Washington Post (full text, Historical, 1877-2002, 1987-current).

Wall Street Journal.  Via Proquest, also available via Factiva. For historical issues (from 1889) see Historical Newspapers (ProQuest).

Copyright © 2014-2019 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.