Skip to main content

Political Economy: Statistics & Data

Numeric Data in Political Economy

BMI Online. Industry analysis and forecasts on political, economic, and health risks in 55 countries. UCB does not subscribe to the BMO country analyses. 

Center for Systemic Peace (Polity IV). Sponsor of the Integrated Network for Societal Conflict Research (INSCR) which has data on armed conflict and interventions, political regime characteristics, armed conflict, state fragility,  and much more. 

CIRI Human Rights Data Project. Data measuring national government respect for internationally recognized human rights instruments from 1981-2011.

Comparative Constitutions Data. Investigates the sources and consequences of constitutional choices by collecting and analyzing data on the formal characteristics of constitutions for most independent states since 1789.

Correlates of War. Data on wars, non-state wars, and interstate disputes dating back to the 19th century. Associated or correlated measures include membership in international organizations, religion, alliances, colonial dependencies, diplomatic exchanges, and more

Cross National Time Series. A single longitudinal nation-level data series spanning 200 years and over 200 countries covering a variety of demographic, social, political, and economic topics. This is a licensed resource that may only be used at UC Berkeley   

CQ Moneyline. Tracking of the flow of money in politics at the federal level with some state information. Enables tracking of contributions from Political Action Committees (PACs), individual donors to politicians, elected officials, and party committees.

CQ Voting and Elections Collection. Documents and data, background information and definitions, and historical material on elections and the electoral process in America. A data set of voting/election statistics is available. 

Database of Political Institutions (DPI). Data on the political institutions and regime characteristics of countries from 1975.

Data Planet. Access to data points from local, state and international governments and organizations. Allows for customization of the data by selecting subjects, variable of interest, and the ability to view your data in side-by-side tables, charts and maps. 

Democracy Times Series Data.  Contains data on the social, economic and political characteristics of 191 nations with over 600 variables from 1971.

Global Terrorism Databases.  Open-source databases with information on terrorist events around the world from 1970. Includes data on domestic as well as international terrorist incidents with more than 140,000 cases.

International Military Intervention. Records events involving “the movement of regular troops or forces (airborne, seaborne, shelling, etc) of one country inside another, in the context of some political issue or dispute.”

International Studies Compendium Project.  Selection of data sets of interest to international political economy: interstate and intrastate conflict data, peace-building, civil war, political repression and more.

Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR). Consortium of institutions working to acquire and preserve social science data. Maintained at University of Michigan.  

The Macro Data Guide.  Comprehensive guide to macro data broken down by country and topic.  Includes the following subcategories.

OECD iLibrary.  Publications and statistical data from the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD), including country studies, reports, and datasets.

PolicyMap. US demographic and socioeconomic data indicators from the neighborhood census block to national levels: data on demographics, neighborhood conditions, real estate, income, jobs, education, crime, and health.

Political Terror Scale. Codes countries on human-rights and the rule of law, based on reports from Amnesty International and the U.S. State Department.

Proquest Statistical Insight. Provides access to indexing and statistical tables from three key sources with tables and links to many full text documents from 1994-present.

PRS Group Country Data. Political risk data for 140 countries from 1980, as well as macroeconomic data and Political Risk Services (PRS) forecasting on bureaucracy, corruption, civil disorders, ethnic tensions, poverty, inflation, terrorism, etc.

RAND State Statistics.  Statistics from all 50 states on business & economics; population and demographics; education; community; health & socioeconomic; government finance; census; politics & public opinion.

RAND Database of Worldwide Terrorism Incidents. Records terrorist incidents that occurred from 1968-2009.

SIPRI's (Stockholm International Peace Research Institute). Data on security, peace operations, military expenditures, arms transfers, arms embargoes, and arms exports.

Statistical Abstract of the United States.  Statistics on social and economic conditions in the United States as well as selected international data.  Earlier versions of the Statistical Abstract from 1878 to 2012 are available on the U.S Census Bureau's web site.

State Fragility Index and Matrix, 1995-2014. Provides annual state fragility, effectiveness, and legitimacy indices and the 8 component indicators for the world's 167 countries with populations greater than 500,000 in 2014.

VoteWorld. From the UC Berkeley Institute for Governmental Studies, London School of Economics, and the Université Libre de Bruxelles. Data from the European Parliament and US Congress.

Votes in the UN General Assembly. UN General Assembly votes from 1946, via Eric Voeten, George Washington University.

World Bank Open Data. Collection of free global data from the World Bank. See especially Worldwide Governance Data with indicators of  corruption, rule of law, government accountability and effectiveness, regulatory environment, political stability, etc. 

United Nations Peacekeeping Statistics. Troop and Police contributors by country, gender breakdowns, and fact sheets.

Public Opinion

Field Poll.  An independent, non-partisan, media-sponsored public opinion news service. Each year the poll covers a wide range of political and social topics examining California public opinion.

Global Barometers

International Social Surveys

Odum Archive Dataverse. A repository for all Louis Harris public opinion data and Roper Center nonproprietary poll data. A catalog of more than 2800 studies and series in its data holdings arranged by title, principal investigator, and subject.

Polling the Nations.  A compilation of public opinion polls and surveys from more than 6,500 national, state, local and special surveys in the U.S. and over 60 other countries. The surveys date from 1986 and contain information on over 3,000 social, political and economic issues

Roper Center for Public Opinion Research.  Domestic and international survey data. The Center's Public Opinion Location Library (iPOLL) gives online access to a database including poll questions asked in US from 1936 to present.

World Database of Happiness.  Research findings on subjective enjoyment of life that brings together findings scattered throughout many studies.

World Values Survey. National surveys conducted in almost 100 countries. Largest non-commercial, cross-national, time series investigation of human beliefs and values.

Data Visualization

DatamasherMashups of government data about states. Helps citizens see how states compare on important issues. Users can combine different data sets in interesting ways and create custom rankings by state.

Census CD neighborhood change database. (Geolytics). Contains nation-wide tract-level data from the 1970, 1980, 1990 and 2000 and 2010 decennial censuses. Combines U.S. Bureau of the Census data iwith variables and boundaries consistently defined across census years.

Gapminder. Non-profit venture promoting sustainable global development and achievement of the United Nations Millennium Development Goals. Access and cross-tabulate 200 statistical time series. 

Google Public Data Explorer.  Makes large datasets easy to explore, visualize and communicate. Includes visualizations for data from the World Bank, OECD, Eurostat, the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP) and more.

International Trade and Market Access Data Interactive Tool.  Merchandise and trade in services interactive mapping tool from the WTO.

Many Eyes. Enables users to upload data for visualization and employ tools to generate interactive displays. Includes thousands of user-generated and public domain data visualizations (not all of which are reliable). From IBM.

National Historical Geographic Information System, Contains aggregare U.S. census data and GIS boundary files for each census from 1790 to 2000.

PolicyMap. US demographic and socioeconomic data indicators from the neighborhood census block to national levels: data on demographics, neighborhood conditions, real estate, income, jobs, education, crime, and health.

SimplyMap. Requires user registration. Enables non-technical users to quickly create professional quality thematic maps and reports using extensive demographic, business and other data.

Social Explorer. Current and historical census data and other demographic information, such as religious organizations. Web interface lets users create maps and reports to illustrate, analyze and  demographic and social change

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.