Skip to main content

GPP 115: Global Poverty - Challenges and Hopes in the New Millennium: Philanthrocapitalism

Databases

Alternative Press Index.  Progressive, radical, and left North American magazines, newsletters, and journals. Approximately 90% of publications included are not indexed elsewhere.

EconLit. The most comprehensive index to scholarly journal articles in economics. It also lists books and dissertations, and indexes articles within 'collective works' (books consisting of collections of essays or individual papers). 

Eldis Materials on development, policy, practice and research.  Thousands of full text documents free to download as well as resource guides and country profiles. See also their Custom Search Engine for development web sites. 

International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS). Indexes journals, books, chapters, and book reviews in the fields of economics, political science, sociology, and anthropology from more than 100 countries.

JSTOR. Includes over 1000 scholarly journals with access to more than 2 million articles. JSTOR is an archive which means that current issues (generally the most recent 3-5 years) of the journals are not yet available. 

ProQuest Social Sciences. Interdisciplinary metasearch of the Proquest social sciences indexes. Includes EconLit, International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS), PAIS, PsycInfo, Sociological Abstracts, Worldwide Political Science Abstracts and more.

Sociological Abstracts. Indexes journals, books, dissertations, and reviews in the social sciences on sociological topics as well as selected 

Urban Studies and Planning: A SAGE Full-Text Collection. Covers  Economic Development, Planning, Policy Analysis, Political Science, Public Administration, Regional Geography, Community Development, Urban Policy, and Welfare Economics.

Sample Organizations

Aspen Institute. Organization is dedicated to "fostering enlightened leadership, the appreciation of timeless ideas and values, and open-minded dialogue on contemporary issues". Promotes the pursuit of common ground and understanding in a nonpartisan and nonideological setting through  seminars, policy programs, conferences, and leadership development initiative.

Citizens for Global Solutions. Some information here on this topic - association with the World Federalist Movement.

Global Policy ForumIndependent policy watchdog that monitors the work of the United Nations and scrutinizes global policymaking to promote accountability and citizen participation in decisions on peace and security, social justice and international law.

Sample Books

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.