Library Guides: Global Poverty: Environment

Databases & Search Portals

Anthropology Plus. Citations to articles, reports, and books in anthropology and related interdisciplinary research.

CAB Abstracts. Indexes journals, monographs, conferences, books, annual reports, and other sources from the agricultural literature and from more than 100 countries.

ClimateWire. Daily coverage of the debate over climate policy and its effects on business, the environment and society. Key topics include agriculture, alternative energy, fossil fuels, species and ecosystem effects, and water resources.

Environment Complete. Subjects include agriculture, energy, environmental law, natural resources, pollution, public policy, renewable energy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.

GreenFILE. Scholarly, government, and general-interest titles about human impact on the environment. Topics include global climate change, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, and more.Humanities International Complete. Indexes scholarly publications in the humanities with interesting critiques of the dominant paradigms in development assistance.

Left Index. A complete guide to the alternative, radical, and leftist literature, with an emphasis on political, economic, social and culturally engaged scholarship inside and outside academia.

Project Muse. Digitized books and online journals in the humanities and social sciences. Books are searchable and retrievable to the chapter level, with no restrictions on downloading.

PAIS International. Books, journals, government documents, grey literature, research reports, and conference reports related to public policy, politics, economics, and social issues worldwide.

Sociological Abstracts. Indexes journals, books, dissertations, and reviews in the social sciences on sociological topics.

Urban Studies Abstracts. Essential index to the study of cities and regions including urban affairs, community development and urban history.

Women's Studies International. Indexes women's studies, women's issues, and gender-focused books, book chapters, journal articles, dissertations, and reports worldwide.

Selected Journals

Research and Advocacy Organizations

Sample Books

The Routledge Companion to Humanitarian Action
The Companion on Humanitarian Action addresses the political, ethical, legal and practical issues which influence reactions to humanitarian crisis. It does so by exploring the daily dilemmas faced by a range of actors, including policy makers, aid workers, the private sector and the beneficiaries of aid and by challenging common perceptions regarding humanitarian crisis and the policies put in place to address these.
Climate Change, Disasters and the Refugee Convention
Climate Change, Disasters and the Refugee Convention is concerned with refugee status determination in the context of disasters and climate change. Arguing that RSD cannot safely be performed without a clear understanding of the relationship between natural hazards and human agency, the book draws insights from disaster anthropology and political ecology that see discrimination as a contributory cause of people's differential exposure and vulnerability to disaster-related harm.
Rock/Water/Life: Ecology & Humanities for a Decolonial South Africa
Examines the interwoven realities of inequality, racism, colonialism, and environmental destruction in South Africa, calling for environmental research and governance to transition to an ecopolitical approach that could address South Africa's history of racial oppression and environmental exploitation.
Humanitarian Aftershocks in Haiti
The 2010 earthquake in Haiti was one of the deadliest disasters in modern history, sparking an international aid response--with pledges and donations of $16 billion--that was exceedingly generous. But years later, that generous aid has clearly failed. In Humanitarian Aftershocks in Haiti, anthropologist Mark Schuller captures the voices of those involved in the earthquake aid response, and they paint a sharp, unflattering view of the humanitarian enterprise.