Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

You can still access the UC Berkeley Library’s services and resources during the closure. Here’s how.

Global Poverty: Commodities and Trade

Commodities and Trade

The following are some suggested resources you can use to begin to investigate poverty as it relates to Commodities, Global Value Chains and FinTech. Most of the publications of the World Bank, IMF, OECD and other IGOs are loaded into our online catalog Oskicat. See also the library research guide on international economic organizations. 

Library Databases

Business Source Complete. Articles from peer-reviewed business publications and other business content.

EconLit. Most comprehensive index to scholarly journal articles in economics. It also lists books and dissertations, and articles in 'collective works' (collections of essays.)

Eldis.  Materials on development, policy, practice and research.  Thousands of full text documents free to download as well as resource guides and country profiles. 

IDEAS: Economics and Finance Research. Free bibliographic database on economics with citations to full-text working papers, books, book chapters, and journal articles.

JSTOR. Broad based digital library of academic journals and ebooks. JSTOR is an archive which means that current issues (generally the most recent 3-5 years) of the journals are not yet available.

PAIS International. Books, journals, government documents, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, and web sites related to public policy, politics, economics, and social issues worldwide.

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts.  Indexes books, journals, and dissertations within the field of political science and related to international relations, law and politics, political economy, public administration, and public policy.

Project MUSE. Scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences. Topics include literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics and many others.

ProQuest Social Sciences. Interdisciplinary metasearch of the Proquest social sciences databases.

International Economic & Financial Institutions

International Financial and Economic Organizations publish a lot on global value chains, financial inclusion.  Search these information portals for publications. See also the library research guide on international economic organizations. 

See also the special sections of these agency web sites, e.g.

Sample Books

Research & Advocacy Organizations

Action Africa. Oldest organization in the U.S. working on African affairs. Includes position papers on the World Bank & IMF.

Bank Information Center. Partners with civil society to influence the World Bank and other international financial institutions.

Bretton Woods Project. Works to scrutinize and influence the World Bank and IMF. Monitors on the projects, policy reforms and management of the Bretton Woods institutions.

Focus on the Global South. Combines policy research, advocacy, and grassroots capacity building to generate critical analysis and encourage debates on national and international policies.

Global Justice Now. UK based NGO focusing on world poverty and a wide range of development topics - climate change, debt relief, World Bank & IMF reform, etc. 

International Accountability Project. Public interest organization offering legal support to people seeking to hold international financial institutions (IFIs) accountable.

International Forum on Globalization. Alliance of activists, scholars, economists, researchers and writers formed to stimulate new thinking in response to globalization.

North American Congress on Latin America (NACLA).  Independent, nonprofit organization working towards a world in which the nations and peoples of Latin America and the Caribbean are free from oppression and injustice

Oakland Institute.  Works in the areas of land rights, climate change, sustainable food systems, international aid, foreign investment and more.

One Campaign. International non-profit organization which aims to increase effectiveness of international aid programs.

Third World Network. Non-profit international network of organizations involved in issues relating to development, the Third World and North-South issues.